We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 149 Cape Town Central B&Bs / inns

Sweet Orange Guest House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Bellevue Rd. No. 1 | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (City Bowl)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sweet Orange Guest House to your Saves list
Sweet Orange Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
Ranked #83 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014
a_friedli Lucerne, Switzerland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (87)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
39
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the Sweet Orange Guesthouse for 2 nights and I felt like at home as soon as I walked in. All the staff members were very friendly and made my stay most enjoyable. The breakfast is awesome! They are offering a special every day, I could try the muesli and the fruit smoothie which both of them were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear a_friedli We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear, that you very much liked the breakfast. Besides a full continental and English breakfast combination, we serve as well a special which changes every day. It is good to hear that our guest enjoy... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Was definitely not a pleasant stay. "Room service" constantly knocked on the door and would just let themselves in from time to time with no explanation. No privacy at all. Also after the room was cleaned my door was left open with all my belongings inside... No explanation was provided. Disappointed a won't be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

We thank London_Leon50 for his review and we would like to take the opportunity to comment on his issues he had while staying at Sweet Orange Guesthouse. When reading your personal comment about the room services we were indeed quite surprised as it sound that our staff is constantly in the rooms. It is true that our housekeepers must first... More

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Although we booked at the Sweetest Orange, we were allocated to the Sweet Olive, one of four properties run by the Sweetest Orange company, all in the Seapoint neighbourhood. Sweet Olive is a lovely friendly house with 5 bedrooms, and being small provides a homely atmosphere, it was just like staying at a friend's house. There are plenty of good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Carolhor, We appreciate your review and thank you for your time to add as well comments about your stay & experience at Sweet Olive Guesthouse. Your review is very valuable to us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will have the chance again to welcome you at Sweetest Guesthouses when you visit... More

Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great place to stay and to discover whole of Cape Town and cape. Close to beaches, excellent restaurants. Coming back after town excursions felt like coming home. House and rooms are cosy and quiet relaxing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Anette F We would like to say thank you for this comment which is very valuable to us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to create in our Guesthouses an atmosphere that our clients experience a home away from home. To hear this will motivate our staff even more. We... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I felt the staff was not to friendly for people working in tourism or very helpful and the noise outside the rooms made it impossible to get proper sleep. The location where the guest house is convenient

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nolitha, when we saw your review we were quite surprised and therefore we took the liberty to contact you via telephone. We thank you that you had time during our telephone conversation and we are happy that we clarified this misunderstanding. Our Reservation Manager offered comprehensive informations, but as your sister is living in Cape Town you mentioned that’s... More

Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A very nice place to enjoy holidays.A lot of nice restaurants are in walking distance.The staff is very friendly and the housekeeping women are very accommondating.The breakfast is varied .The surronding of the guesthouse is quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Alois B Thank you for your valuable time to place this review, which is very valuable to us. We appreciate your personnel comments about the Guesthouse and surroundings as well as the staff. We always strive to do our outmost best to provide a delicious breakfast which caters all our international guests. The entire team is looking forward welcoming... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It was more than I ever experienced: more value for money, more kindness, more hospitality, perfect stylish rooms, great surroundings and all this 10 Min away from the middle of Cape Town. See you soon

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Student at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ulla S. We would like to thank you for this review, as it is very valuable for us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sweet Orange Guesthouse and that you appreciated the kindness of our staff and our stylish rooms. Thank you again for the comments and we are looking forwards to welcoming you... More

Zug, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

nice guesthouse and very friendly staff. the guesthouse is in a very central location with restaurants around and not far from the main attractions. take the option with breakfast... ist cool to sit in the morning with all guests and chat about the experiences in ZA.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank 'Antonio M.' for his nice review, as well as his personal comments about the Sweet Orange Guesthouse and our staff - it is really valuable for us. We are always happy to hear that our guest enjoy their time with us and our goal is to offer a good service and give useful tips about... More

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I loved staying at sweet orange. I'm coming back in 3 weeks! I'm really looking forward to it. I enjoyed the rooms. It's beautiful. And also the breakfast is amazing. I didn't see a lot of the area. But I'm definitely going to see that in some weeks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Student at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Fleur, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Sweet Orange Guesthouse and we are looking forward seeing you back in a few weeks! It’s our goal to satisfy everybody’s needs, we are more than happy to hear that we succeeded in that goal. If you didn’t had much time to explore the city last... More

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Sweet Orange G.H. came to us as a very nice surprise, looking for shelter in C.T. surroundings! Friendly staff, colourful nice room, good breakfast with opportunity to meet friendly guests...highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaggieF8005, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear annika_nordin, We thank you for your valuable time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, were you have the opportunity to meet other international guest at the communal table and that we could sweeten up your stay in Cape Town. We appreciate your recommendation. Thank you again for your comments they are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sweet Orange Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sweet Orange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Orange Guest House

Address: Bellevue Rd. No. 1 | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Orange Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sweet Orange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Orange Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sweet Orange is a beautiful classic Victorian home that was built in the early 1900’s. The wooden floors, ceilings, windows and doors have all been lovingly restored, emanating style and elegance at its best. Each of the six large rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, have been individually designed and furnished with flat screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials for a relaxing stay. Our tranquil garden complete with a small pool is the perfect place for a further relaxing African sun-soaked experience.Let us treat you to a superior service in this elegant environment. We guarantee you a friendly, warm, relaxing atmosphere for an absolutely comfortable stay in our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer