We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 152 Cape Town Central B&Bs / inns

Sweet Orange Guest House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Bellevue Rd. No. 1 | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Sweet Orange Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sweet Orange Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #79 of 152 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mistertonmum Somerset
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
44
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Somerset
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We started a cycle tour of the Cape and ended it here. We were very lucky to have two different rooms, both being very nice. All amenities were catered for and the breakfasts were very good. However you have to pay for WiFi - ANNOYING!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear mistertonmum, Your review is appreciate and we thank you for your personal time you spend to place it. It is true, that we do charge for the WiFi usage, unfortunately Telecommunication is quite expensive in South Africa and to provide an undisturbed access we installed the best Technology available. We are sure user will understand that it is inevitable... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed here one night with a group of girlfriends after my hen party. I checked in late afternoon to find my friends relaxing with their feet in the pool and a bottle of champagne on ice. The enclosed garden is surrounded by tropical plants and has small pool with deck chairs for relaxing and soaking up the sun.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Emily w, We thank you for the time to rate our Sweet Orange Guesthouse on Tripadvisor.com as well as your comments about your stay at our establishment. Every review is very valuable for us and we appreciate that you spend your time to place it. We will pass on your comments to Bridget 1, Bridget 3 and Themba, it... More 

Gent
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Plus : Very friendly and helpfull staff - clean rooms Minus: Very noisy (and we had some young Germans in the house who seemed to have overtaken the house: very loud music, smoking and chatting very loudly on the coach just for our window. The breakfast - we have had better ones in places who were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Mamapek, thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving future guests a feedback about our guesthouses. Our entire team is always doing its best to make you feel at home while you are staying with us. With pleasure we will also pass on the compliment about the clean rooms to our housekeepers. With our full... More 

Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Sweet Orange was in a great location. Very attractive guesthouse with the best breakfast around. Staff were very helpful and left hot water bottles every night for the guests. Rooms and dining area were beautifully decorated and the fireplace in the kitchen gave it a very homely feel. Would definitely stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank you very much for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse on Trip Advisor. It is grat to hear that you very much liked our breakfast and we are more than happy that you enjoyed our hot water bottle-service. Thanks for your lovely feedback and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again.... More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the Sweet Orange Guesthouse for 2 nights and I felt like at home as soon as I walked in. All the staff members were very friendly and made my stay most enjoyable. The breakfast is awesome! They are offering a special every day, I could try the muesli and the fruit smoothie which both of them were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear a_friedli We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear, that you very much liked the breakfast. Besides a full continental and English breakfast combination, we serve as well a special which changes every day. It is good to hear that our guest enjoy... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Was definitely not a pleasant stay. "Room service" constantly knocked on the door and would just let themselves in from time to time with no explanation. No privacy at all. Also after the room was cleaned my door was left open with all my belongings inside... No explanation was provided. Disappointed a won't be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

We thank London_Leon50 for his review and we would like to take the opportunity to comment on his issues he had while staying at Sweet Orange Guesthouse. When reading your personal comment about the room services we were indeed quite surprised as it sound that our staff is constantly in the rooms. It is true that our housekeepers must first... More 

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Although we booked at the Sweetest Orange, we were allocated to the Sweet Olive, one of four properties run by the Sweetest Orange company, all in the Seapoint neighbourhood. Sweet Olive is a lovely friendly house with 5 bedrooms, and being small provides a homely atmosphere, it was just like staying at a friend's house. There are plenty of good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Carolhor, We appreciate your review and thank you for your time to add as well comments about your stay & experience at Sweet Olive Guesthouse. Your review is very valuable to us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will have the chance again to welcome you at Sweetest Guesthouses when you visit... More 

Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great place to stay and to discover whole of Cape Town and cape. Close to beaches, excellent restaurants. Coming back after town excursions felt like coming home. House and rooms are cosy and quiet relaxing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Anette F We would like to say thank you for this comment which is very valuable to us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to create in our Guesthouses an atmosphere that our clients experience a home away from home. To hear this will motivate our staff even more. We... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I felt the staff was not to friendly for people working in tourism or very helpful and the noise outside the rooms made it impossible to get proper sleep. The location where the guest house is convenient

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nolitha, when we saw your review we were quite surprised and therefore we took the liberty to contact you via telephone. We thank you that you had time during our telephone conversation and we are happy that we clarified this misunderstanding. Our Reservation Manager offered comprehensive informations, but as your sister is living in Cape Town you mentioned that’s... More 

Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A very nice place to enjoy holidays.A lot of nice restaurants are in walking distance.The staff is very friendly and the housekeeping women are very accommondating.The breakfast is varied .The surronding of the guesthouse is quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Alois B Thank you for your valuable time to place this review, which is very valuable to us. We appreciate your personnel comments about the Guesthouse and surroundings as well as the staff. We always strive to do our outmost best to provide a delicious breakfast which caters all our international guests. The entire team is looking forward welcoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sweet Orange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Orange Guest House

Address: Bellevue Rd. No. 1 | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Orange Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sweet Orange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Orange Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay