We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

4.0 of 5 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    58
    31
    21
    17
See reviews for
11
81
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (169)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
There are newer reviews for Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
cabarete
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

enjoyed the hotel and the area. very helpful for all the sites and activities we did. super nice rooms and a wonderful view of table mountain from our room. I was leary of the noise, but SLEPT LIKE A BABY BOTH NIGHTS. would not hesitate to return again. special thanks to the manager for helping out with a travel situation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siranne, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Topchico" Greetings from the Urban Chic Boutique Hotel! We are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we were only too happy to help you out with the travel problem that you encountered :-) . We do understand that these things happen and I am very glad that we were... More

UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I've been staying here while attending the E-Tourism Frontiers Africa conference and mostly very much enjoyed my stay. It's got a great location, on the corner of Long and Pepper streets, with excellent views, especially from the glass-cornered corner rooms (I'm in 302, and I'd guess the #2 on each floor of four rooms is the corner) giving you 270... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siranne, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Urban Chic Hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to address some of your points in the review. Firstly, please accept my sincerest apology on the hot water issue, I really... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night. We only moved out because it is in the party street of Cape Town. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast is delicious and the staff are really helpful. They actually helped us to find another hotel! Thank you, guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel management fraudulently debited our credit card for additional nights that we didn't stay there. We are visitors from Australia and a wonderful holiday in beautiful Cape Twon was spoilt by this horrible experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Siranne, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Page I am extremely disturbed by your account of the events as they unfolded as they are certainly not a true indication of what happened. You originally booked 2 rooms with us from the 05/01/2011 until 11/01/2011 and authorised us to charge a 50% deposit for the reservation to your credit card (which we did) but... More

Bristol
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The purpose of this hotel is to make money out of people who need to find alternative accommodation because it is impossible to sleep! Lastminute.com do not say anywhere that once at the hotel you are told about the noise from the street which kept us awake until 6am!!! The hotel kindly supply ear plugs... yes... EAR PLUGS! Even then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Siranne, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dr Mr. Learnihan Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you feel that we treated you unfairly and for the fact that you feel that we falsely advertise our establishment. The fact of the matter is that we have never hidden the fact from Lastminute.com or any other site for that matter that we are in the... More

Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is a lovely little hotel in the center of action Long street in Capetown. Because it is in this area the bars surrounding it are sometimes loud especially on Fri and Sat nights. It is quiet Sun-Tuesday. We stayed 7 days and loved the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful - you can choose between freshly prepared to your order... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband and I visited Urban Chic Hotel for our anniversary and were so impressed with the friendliness and amazing service by everyone from the front desk/concierge to the restaurant/bar to housekeeping. We were surprised with champagne and fruit as an anniversary gift and given the most beautiful room with a full view of Table Mountain. Reservations for our dinners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Espoo, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed at Urban Chic with my husband for 5 nights last January. The reason we picked it up on TripAdvisor was the location - we wanted to stay on Long Street to have an easy access to everything Long Street offers. We also wanted to have a view on table Mountain. And we got it! We were warmly welcomed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were recommended to stay at the Urban Chic Boutique Hotel by friends who had stayed there during the 2010 World Cup . As we arrived at the Hotel we were warmly welcomed and certainly not disapointed, the staff were great and gave us wonderful recommendationsss, the location was very practical which we loved. It was also so conveniet to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hanover, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My colleague book this hotel sight unseen on Expedia for 5 nights. Worst mistake of our lives. First of all, the hotel does not look like its pictures. It is located on what we discovered to be - Long Street, an overactive nightlife section in city center in Cape Town. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Urban Chic Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay