We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    65
    33
    25
    20
See reviews for
12
89
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (190)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi, I ran the two oceans over the Easter weekend and my boyfriend and planned our trip to Cape Town. Booking this hotel for our very rare and relaxing holiday, was the WORST mistake we have ever made. The night shift receptionist, checking us in was utterly useless. We were not told that there was an issue with parking (10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Please be advised that I have spoken to your partner about the above complaints and we sorted the issue out to his satisfaction and he seemed happy with the outcome. I have also taken disciplinary action against the staff member in question. Please note however, that our website is very clear on the parking conditions and on our... More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a very central location in Cape Town and free parking next door to the hotel, which is a real plus in the centre of Cape Town. The hotel is easily found in Long Street, having a prominent corner position close to one end of the street. We found the reception staff extremely friendly and very welcoming. Nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This hotel may be small but its more personable. Front desk staff especially day shift made me feel as though i was the only customer in the entire hotel, 24hrs/day. from housekeeping on down to the kitchen staff everyone thier gives first class service. Rooms are spotless and chic designed. Rooms are just like you see n the Gallery on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This is a great location but heed the warnings... there is a club across the street that jams until the wee hours. The earplugs they provide do the trick! Long street is super fun and active. This hotel is not for families but it is built for the young and young at heart. Beautiful views from the rooms of Table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Never having been to CapeTown before, I booked Urban Chic online for a last-minute weekend stay.. I was a bit taken aback at the noisy buzzing street when I got there late at night but the room was quiet, big, clean, comfortable, with a great bathroom and even better view - and had free wifi. Breakfast was big and healthy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My friend and I had 3 nights here. Dispite this place needing some pictures on the walls, sofas in the lounge area to fill up the empty open spaces, more plants around we had nothing to complain about. The reception staff were so friendly and very helpful. The room was clean, large and bright. I love the bath with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

It has a 1990 tv in the room, the tv cupboards door is falling off, the shower is full of hair, the night admin guy knows nothing of admin or being a professional receptionist, the bar fridge is empty. This is not worth the money at all it can be rated as a 2 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am very sorry to hear this. Firstly, let me state that we were just recently re-graded as a 4 star in October. I will get onto the things you mentioned about the shower & tv cabinet straight away. I will take this up with the housekeeping staff who cleaned your room. Had you mentioned it while you... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Great Hotel ** I have recently returned from a vacation in Cape town, and selected to stay at the Urban Chic Hotel- Long Street.. This is my 3rd stay at this hotel and look forward to returning at a later stage. great clean rooms, with a fantastic view of table mountain & overlooking long street, which is great for people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I have no idea how this hotel has been given a 4 star rating. No porter, no electricity so we had to carry our own bags up to 3rd floor can you imagine a 4 star that has no back up generator. The lady at the bar had no manners Refers to a person by "she" I hadn't even checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My husband and I decided on a night out on the town and booked at Urban Chic. Having stayed in the Long Street area before, we knew it would be a bit noisy - but that didn't detract from our stay at Urban Chic at all! Our room was lovely - clean, comfortable and witih an incredible view of Table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question