We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

4.0 of 5 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    61
    33
    24
    18
See reviews for
12
84
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed the location of the hotel and the there was good value for the room which was in pretty good shape. The only problem is the night club across the street with a thumping base, although we found the ear plugs worked for us. The staff were nice and we appreciated the free parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The "twice" theme means that this hotel must be reviewed in terms of the accommodation it offers as well as in terms of its location. Regarding accommodation - in my opinion this hotel does not deserve four stars. On the positive side, the staff was generally friendly. Less positive, is the boring breakfast on offer in a characterless white room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room had floor - to - ceiling windows with a great view of the city. The room itself felt luxurious and modern with the open concept bathtub and chic furninishing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We read reviews complaining about noise and smell beforehand, so we had our expectations set. The noise was not a problem after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

comfortable hotel, albeit small it is adequate , the room is of a decent size and the bed is comfortable, the linen is of a good quality, the bathtub in suite is rather nice and the bath salts is a nice treat. the front desk staff are pleasant, polite and efficient. if only the breakfast staff could learn from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Fortunately I tayed only 1 night. The location is great but loud at night.My room was facing the long street and till the morning it was a big party on the street. The hotel is fine for party people who needs to sleep during the day and awake during night time. The breakfast was the worst. No buffet. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day We are situated in what is commonly known as the party street of Cape Town, Our reviews and our website clearly state this. Our website uses phrases like "never sleeps vibe", "melting pot that is Long street" and "surrounded by night clubs and bars" so we have not tried to hide this fact - in fact it is... More 

Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We arrived into South Africa for the first time and stayed here for the first three nights. Parking was safe and secure, the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. breakfast was very good with excellent choice - however the waitress forgot something every day! We didn't actually mind though and once you're prepared for that it's ok. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. The location is great but loud at night. But more annoying was the sound of the elevator. Our room was very small already so the strange arrangement of furniture didnt really help. The breakfast was the worst. No buffet. Just a choice of meat with meat or sweet stuff like french toast and pancakes. The coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day As per my e-mail to you earlier this week, I will most definitely be looking into why the breakfast service was so bad during your stay and I do apologise for that. I must point out though that we very rarely receive complaints about our breakfast options. When I asked you in the e-mail what you would suggest... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I was very disappointed with this hotel, staff and service that I could not finish my stay there and went to look for another. I came in a hired car and the only parking available is in the next building. There are a few bays allocated to urban chic so I landed up having to park on the 3rd floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UrbanChicBoutique, General Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good day In response to your review, I would like to state the following: 1. We offer free parking to our guests on a first come, first serve basis. 95% of hotels in the Cape Town CBD DO NOT offer free, secure, undercover parking. We have 10 parking bays allocated and clearly marked. Unfortunately you arrived very late and we... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Inexpensive option for an exy city to sleep in. Staff were very friendly and pleasant, I felt sorry for the front desk as they must receive complaints from guests about the noise from the bar across the street incessantly. They were nice enough to accomodate a room change request mid way though our stay but should have mentioned it woudn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The staff is great. Before my arrival, I contacted the hotel reception and asked questions about restaurants and attractions in the area -- they responded back graciously and promptly with useful information. The breakfast is excellent and plenty -- the value of this hotel is top notch. Great views, great breakfast, free secure parking, in the heart of Long St.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Urban Chic Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay