We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 St Georges Mall | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fountains Hotel to your Saves list
Fountains Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #123 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
MrsCee9 Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (282)
  • Photos (69)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (55)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    94
    78
    44
    26
See reviews for
30
108
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I would like to commend the Fountains Hotel, Cape Town for the friendly staff and their warm reception. From the reception, all the way through the passage and to my room was extremely neat and clean. The room was warm and cosy and inviting with its cleanliness. The hotel is located centrally and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had to have a home away from home for a few days and found the Fountains Hotel to be a great venue. Being very critical and fussy, I was very comfortable there. It was clean, staff were very hospitable and friendly and the location is very central for travelers, close to restaurants, trains, buses, tourist attractions. Thank you for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just want to commend the Fountains Hotel in Cape Town on there extremely friendly staff, this a very neat and tidy hotel situated in the heart of Cape Town, close to all amenities. Will recommend the hotel to all my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good clean hotel. Friendly staff, always willing to help and go the extra mile. Very nice bar. Hotel centrally located. Close to all amenities In the CBD. Will definitely return. If you having a drink at the bar ask for George, and if you need anything else ask for the manager Chris.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, thanks to a very friendly and warm family atmosphere. We were welcomed in the morning on our way to breakfast by a very nice mature lady (sorry forgot her name), reminded me so much of my mom and my two year old had the same impression as he kept taking her hand and wanted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caden G Thank you for the time you took to provide us with feedback of your recent stay at the Fountains Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us. We pride ourselves in guest satisfaction and making sure that you leave the Hotel with a memorable experience. Your kind words will definitely be... More

Langebaan, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Although the rooms are rather small, they are very clean with everything one needs. Good quality food and friendly service. Close to the Waterfront and CBD. Please note that the underground parking can be rather costly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimmeefiela I would like to thank you for taking time from your day to comment on your stay with us while visiting Cape Town. We always try to satisfy all our guest’s needs to the best of our abilities, and from your review it would seem that, although our rooms are ‘rather small’, we were still able to provide... More

Jhb
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We used the Fountains Hotel for a Board meeting and Conference for 150 delegates. The furniture in the hotel rooms need some TLC, the beds and bedding however was very clean with cozy pillows. Room service could be improved, by giving more attention to ensuring that the beverages and bathroom soaps are replaced daily. Hotel food needs to be improved,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Eleaze W Thank you for taking time to provide us with much appreciated feedback. As always, we strive to continuously improve on all aspects of our guest services and facilities, and without your input we wouldn't know where we might be lacking and can assure you that the shortcomings you experienced are being addressed as high priority. Once... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is at a good location however whats worrying is the cleanliness and the noise. It is terribly noisy and the hotel staff can do nothing about it. The pool is a joke - please do not believe the pictures, and the gym too, there are literally only 4 machines. The cleanliness is a huge problem, the hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jostina V Thank you for making the effort to bring these issues to our attention.We always appreciate feedback from our guests, good or bad, as without it we can’t improve or fix issues we may not have been aware of. Although without knowing what noise specifically you were referring to we can only assume from your comments that it... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Efficient booking, the helpful front desk staff assisted me with an early arrival. Onsite parking was a bonus. Price was very reasonable for a city centre. The foyer and lifts are newly renovated and give a modern feel. My room was comfortable, large enough as anticipated for a mid range hotel, I found it clean, neat, and lacked nothing. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert R Thank you so much for taking time from your busy day to tell everyone about your stay. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and greatly value their input, as without feedback from people such as yourself we wouldn’t know what we were doing was right or if there... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is one of these places which you want to avoid, if you would not be restricted by finances. Well positioned, central, but otherwise nothing special. Service friendly and professional and food nothing to brag about. Rooms need desperately attention and renovations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pzan I would like to thank you for taking the time from your day to bring your concerns to light. As you point out we offer a centrally located accommodation venue with friendly professional service, and while ‘nothing to brag about’ our restaurant does offer a fulsome buffet where we constantly changing the menu. However, as you also pointed... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Address: 1 St Georges Mall | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Number of rooms
156

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer