We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 148 Cape Town Central B&Bs / inns

40 Winks Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Ravenscraig Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Woodstock)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added 40 Winks Guest House to your Saves list
40 Winks Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    7
    5
    11
See reviews for
8
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked an apartment in this hotel for 5 nights. Pictures on the website were good. They said "5 minutes from the center and 10 minutes from the ocean". In fact the appartment was on the Main Road (4 lines) very noisy. Just not possible to open a window! The appart himself was "technically" okay but really not nice, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Namur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The description and pictures of the apartment has nothing to do with what you actually get. We ended up in an apartment next to a high trafic road, far from the guesthouse, noisy and dusty. We decide to leave and had to find another place to stay. Worst thing is that despite very nice attempts to get a partial refund,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights. The service was good and staff were pleasant. The room was pretty basic and the décor has a lot to be desired. It was like sleeping in your grandmas living room. There were nick nacks everywhere. The internet service was poor as the only place I could access was sitting outside the room. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

It is a 4 star guest house not hotel which I think is different, as far as ratings go. Really convenient location for the city, V & A Waterfront and surrounds. My room was very comfortable, clean and attractive and there was soap, shower gel, coffee, tea etc. TV (only M-net - no DSTV which was a surprise) but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Shoddy service, terrible breakfast, all staff finish at 4pm and only start again at 7am!! Owner never there. Towels frayed and quite frankly wouldn't let my dog sleep on them. Room was basically in the parking lot with cars shining their lights directly into your bed at night. Dreadful experience and more like a one star!! Baffled how they can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked a room here the night before. The bedroom is fine. the only amneties in the bathroom was your towel. i am used to better in 4 star hotels. service is awful. oh the people are nice, just not there. i wanted to make phone calls, and was looking for someone to explain how their phone system worked. no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The aircon was not working so was moved to another room. Was given a talking to in the morning on why did I move rooms? not to sure as it was the night managers decision. The breakfast was uninspiring and can not see where the 4 stars come from. Will not visit again One towel for two guests and office... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I was not impressed that I had to pay an additional R70 fee for parking. Breakfast was okay, but had to share a table. O, they were out of sausages the first day. Also serve breakfast only from 7:30. By that time Im usually on my way to the site already. My room looked nothing like the pictures on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We booked to stay at 40 WINKS after checking online on what Cape Town had to offer in terms of an economical stay in a Guest House with a family room since i was sharing with my 2 adult children.I only saw the ratings after i had booked so was quite worried at what i would find on the ground.We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My boyfriend took me to Cape Town for my birthday weekend. When we got to 40 Winks we were given Room 12. The room is right next to the reception hall. So, you hear everything (the ringing phone, the gate buzzer, the early morning breakfast preparations). This place was awful. There is no bathroom door, no windows in the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
winkwink, Manager at 40 Winks Guest House, responded to this review

In reply to your post on TripAdvisor, I am the manager that you spoke to about your "problem check list". You say that I speak a lot, and that, is indeed the truth. However the reason for your unsuccessful verbal engagement with me, is that you felt that the use of abusive foul language would, somehow, miraculously illicit the refund... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage 40 Winks Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to 40 Winks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Winks Guest House

Address: 2 Ravenscraig Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 40 Winks Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your 40 Winks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Winks Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cape Town Central with
any amenities