We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Once in Cape Town

Hotel website
73 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Saasveld Lodge)
Once in Cape Town
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Thabang23 Cape Town Central, South Africa
Review This Hotel

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
16
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Delicious food, good vibe with a great view of Table Mountain.very safe.comfartable beds ,smily faces all over the place.great service at the reception.clean rooms everyday showing some caring although we do not know each other.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Thabang So glad to see your posting and to see you had a fabulous stay with us, we hope you'll be back in the future. Regards Dougal & the A team at Once in Cape Town More 

Kriel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well this is actually not really a place to stay over for leisure. It more looked like a place where students go for jolling. The drinking area was over crowded. The beds were horrible to sleep on. The so called included breakfast was poor. Only one croissant with one small block of butte a bit of jam and coffee or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Tonie Sorry to see you did not have a great experience with your stay with us. We do cater for the young hip and happening crowd and understand this is not everyone's cup of tea. Thanks for your constructive comments with regards to breakfast, we will look into this, although we do just offer a breakfast on the go.... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a double room with own bathroom, quite affordable when compared with other hotels in the city centre/ walking distance to many bars and clubs (eg. long street) Cleaned and tidied every day, what sucked a bit was the low water pressure as we are 2 girls with long hair and it took a bit longer to wash them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Rebekka Thanks for all your comments positive and constructive & we glad to see you had a great stay with us. We hope to host you and maybe a couple of friends in the near future. Dougal & the A team at Once in Cape Town More 

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just got back from a week staying at Once and it was so fantastic. Friends and I rented a room to ourselves and we had a perfect view of table mountain. I've read a couple reviews about plugs not working and bad wifi, but we never had any problems. The beds were made and sheets changed every day. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Pensecola Thank you for your amazing posting. It is to satisfy people like you with our service, friendliness and facilities that makes our day and jobs so worthwhile. I'm glad to hear how impressed you were from start to finish and this really shows how we are doing what we would like to achieve properly and exceeding expectations. We... More 

Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was only staying for one night and sleeping in a 4 bed dorm. There was nobody else in the room so nice for sleeping, but didn't meet people there either. The bed was great, but besides that I was pretty dissatisfied. None of the plugs in the rooms worked. So I couldn't charge my phone/camera after a long day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi We sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. We did unfortunately experience a few issues with regards to the electricity and WIFI, which has since been rectified and have had the entire WIFI system upgraded to avoid this happening in the future. Should you be in Cape Town in the near future, please contact me... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything about "Once in Cape Town" exceeded my expectations. The location is perfect, the staff were extremely friendly and you'll never be bored with all the activities on offer. This place is the perfect base while in Cape Town and I would highly recommend it. Thanks for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Leigh We so pleased to see we were able to exceed your expectations, here at Once in Cape Town, nothing makes us more happy and satisfied to read a great review like yours to see what a great stay you had with us. We really hope to welcome you back in the near future. Dougal & the A team... More 

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you’re lucky and you stay at the right dorm, you’ll be waking up with a view on Table Mountain. But even if that’s not the case, the rooms all have an awesome style and the beds are really good. The fact that all the rooms have their own private bathroom and are really clean makes staying there even better.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Merel We so pleased to see you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed the vibe as well as the facilities, it really pleases us to make our guests happy and to facilitate a great experience, which you clearly seem to have had. We really hope to welcome you back in the near future. Dougal & the A... More 

Rauris, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You will never get bored when you stay at Once. I really loved the roof top terrace and the cafe. The room was clean (except under the bed) and the bathroom was okey (you can see inside the bathroom because there are big windows). The locations is one of the best in town (Kloof street is awesome, close to Long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Gundula Super to hear you had a good stay with us, your comments have been noted and will certainly be addressed to avoid this in the future, but also glad to hear you had a great coffee & breakfast with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Dougal & the A team at Once in... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location and room was perfect. HOWEVER, the breakfast was average, their response rate was horrible- their phones were forever busy and they took forever to respond to emails. I even attempted using Facebook to contact them and still no response. I had to physically visit the place to ensure my electronic payment was successful- this was extremely frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, Owner at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne - our sincere apologies with the lack of response from our side - it is certainly not our normal protocol and we are saddened that you were disappointed. We hope you had a great stay in Cape Town further, and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of us stayed here in October and loved it. The location is perfect for all kinds of activities. You can walk to the Green Market ( about 20 mins) you can walk to their version of the bar strip. There are restaurants nearby and The one attached to the hostel has good breakfast. Our room had outlets right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, Owner at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - we really value your enthusiastic comments - they are what keep us inspired to help you have the best time in Cape Town! We hope to see you back in the future, The Once in Cape Town team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question