We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Once in Cape Town

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
73 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Saasveld Lodge)
Once in Cape Town
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
GurtF
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
16
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Once was a booking me and my friends made because of the price and the location. We did not expect much from the place, just somewhere to sleep after a long day. When we go there we were surprised with the excellent and friendly service from the staff you feel at home immediately. Then the interesting atmosphere hits you with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a group of 3 and stayed in a family room for 4 nights and a dorm room for 1. The hostel is easy to find and in a safe location within easy reach of the key sights in Cape Town. The hostel is attached to a really cool bar area which is really nice for food/drinks/socialising but because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent 5 days at Once in Cape Town. The stafff is amazing, friendly, rofesinal, caring especially one by the name of Carol who was very helpful, well mannered, always ready to help. The place has great food, variety of drinks, the rooms are really clean, spacious. Great crowd of people from all over the places. Once is definetely the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A big thank you to all staff and fellow travelers that made my experience at Once in Cape Town exceptional! Had an absolute blast at this establishment! The bar on the first floor is also a must for tired feet after a day of sight-seeing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Once in Cape Town for 4 nights and we're absolutely happy with the whole package! The hostel is in a fantastic location for discovering Downtown Cape Town, it has many rooms of different sizes and, as far as I know, they are all equipped with ensuite bathrooms, which is great and a bit of luxury for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Delicious food, good vibe with a great view of Table Mountain.very safe.comfartable beds ,smily faces all over the place.great service at the reception.clean rooms everyday showing some caring although we do not know each other.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Thabang So glad to see your posting and to see you had a fabulous stay with us, we hope you'll be back in the future. Regards Dougal & the A team at Once in Cape Town More 

Kriel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Well this is actually not really a place to stay over for leisure. It more looked like a place where students go for jolling. The drinking area was over crowded. The beds were horrible to sleep on. The so called included breakfast was poor. Only one croissant with one small block of butte a bit of jam and coffee or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Tonie Sorry to see you did not have a great experience with your stay with us. We do cater for the young hip and happening crowd and understand this is not everyone's cup of tea. Thanks for your constructive comments with regards to breakfast, we will look into this, although we do just offer a breakfast on the go.... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We had a double room with own bathroom, quite affordable when compared with other hotels in the city centre/ walking distance to many bars and clubs (eg. long street) Cleaned and tidied every day, what sucked a bit was the low water pressure as we are 2 girls with long hair and it took a bit longer to wash them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Rebekka Thanks for all your comments positive and constructive & we glad to see you had a great stay with us. We hope to host you and maybe a couple of friends in the near future. Dougal & the A team at Once in Cape Town More 

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I just got back from a week staying at Once and it was so fantastic. Friends and I rented a room to ourselves and we had a perfect view of table mountain. I've read a couple reviews about plugs not working and bad wifi, but we never had any problems. The beds were made and sheets changed every day. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi Pensecola Thank you for your amazing posting. It is to satisfy people like you with our service, friendliness and facilities that makes our day and jobs so worthwhile. I'm glad to hear how impressed you were from start to finish and this really shows how we are doing what we would like to achieve properly and exceeding expectations. We... More 

Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I was only staying for one night and sleeping in a 4 bed dorm. There was nobody else in the room so nice for sleeping, but didn't meet people there either. The bed was great, but besides that I was pretty dissatisfied. None of the plugs in the rooms worked. So I couldn't charge my phone/camera after a long day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Hi We sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. We did unfortunately experience a few issues with regards to the electricity and WIFI, which has since been rectified and have had the entire WIFI system upgraded to avoid this happening in the future. Should you be in Cape Town in the near future, please contact me... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question