We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Once in Cape Town

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
73 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Saasveld Lodge)
Once in Cape Town
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Nabillabong Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region, Morocco
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    51
    54
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
19
48
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Felt like I was staying in a hotel as everything is super tidy and the amenities are all there to make your stay super comfy. Extra friendly staff, lovely vibe at Yours Truly and met up with not only backpackers but also quite a few locals which is pretty nice when you need input on the city life and such.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First time visitor to Cape Town and found this place to be friendly and fun. Location was handy to Long St and nearby supermarkets (and a great Italian shoe shop). Some of the younger clientele were a bit noisy in the corridors but otherwise no complaints. Café next door has great food and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What an awesome spot. Location , location, location! Everything at your fingertips including one of the vibiest bars right on the premises. Includes a really nice breakfast and the rooms have everything you need. The staff are friendly and looked after me. I will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely professional place with great facities and security. The staff are very helpful and responsive. There is a lively bar and restaurant which can cause trouble sleeping if you are making it an early night, especially if you are given a room on that side of the building. This is the base to tour Cape Town for a week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

OICT prides itself of being in a great location, safe and great value. Well, one out of three is about as much as you get. It is in a great location for sure, but that's where the praise stops and I suggest you avoid at all costs. Seriously. Overall, it is massively overpriced for the lacklustre and downright fallen apart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this review

Good day Mr Gibaud I find it highly ironic how you choose to tell the false side of your story on social media after saying you were not that kind of person, yet when you could not receive a full refund for your entire stay including the 5 weeks you chose to stay with us after your accident you choose... More 

Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a very nice stay at Once In Cape Town. I was staying in a four bed dorm and the beds and in linen in there were very comfortable. Cleaning of the bath room was done every day. The whole hostel was very neat in general. The hostel has a very nice garden area in the back connected to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was okay and the bed was comfortable but there was no hot water or wifi and the staff at the front desk were not friendly, especially the rasta guy, very rude... Ahkmed was very nice though!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lubanzi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Staying at Once is a lovely experience! They have friendly staff who are helpful and make you feel at home. The rooms where small and hotel style but clean with good quality linen and opening windows that either face Table Mountain or the bustling life of Kloof Street. There is a restaurant and bar at the front of the backpackers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Great place, great location. Clean toilets, comfortable beds and a killer breakfast. A real cosmopolitan vibe. Friendly staff, especially this guy called Clark Lin. Great dude, he'll even drive you around Cape Town and give you a tour!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoersholm, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This backpacker place is really nice. They have a little garden out to the street with a restaurant were go get really good sandwiches and salats! The atmosphere is cool and people use this place to hang out and to sit with there computer. In the night they have live music on the roof for people who live there

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay