We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun Cape Sun

4.0 of 5 Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel website
Special Offer
Spa Indulgence Package
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    130
    38
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
89
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (357)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was my 1st visit to South Africa , and stayed there for 4 nights , there was nothing called problem in this hotel , every thing was done at its best from rooms to food , every thing was best we were in a huge no. so choose this hotel,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Over New Years booked a two sleeper room for a 6 night stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel. Upon arrival I was informed by the hotel staff that the two sleeper room that I booked for myself and my partner, only included breakfast for one. When querying this with the staff, I was faced with rude, unprofessional, unfriendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear 177jabentel Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback From the onset please accept our most sincere apologies for the lack of service excellence. I am extremely disappointed that you had to experience this service from our hotel and that we were unable to meet your expectations. The Cape Sun takes every effort to ensure... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From my dealings with the concierge team before arrival with their help arranging transfers and tours, to the driver, front desk, porters, housekeeping and bar staff all was very professional and smooth and I couldn't fault the staff once. The room was spacious and clean, only problem was that a screw was missing in the window that caused a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear RyanSD Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of service excellence during your recent stay with us. I have noted your recommendations with... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place lovely hospitality excellent locality i stayed in 2212 room with good view of sea and my friend at 2209 with view of table mountain.good food in buffet breakfast.only negative pt is wifi.they say its complimentary but only 500 mb.if u use more than that u have to pay on line for top up.over all good exp.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear analdeb Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you and your family a prosperous 2015. Warm regards, Ryno D More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cape Sun is a home away from home. When you reach the front of the hotel, I was received warmly. I felt like I was home. I didn't reach the reception and Lisa welcomed me and walked with me to the reception desk. The service was excellent. Reception is the face of every company and the staff is doing a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear gapi34 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun. I was delighted to receive your comments regarding the excellent service you received at Southern Sun Cape Sun. I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the team as we always strive to provide our guests... More 

Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great time and enjoyed my stay. I will come again. Cape Sun gave me exactly the kind of comfort I needed when I am out of my home. I am certainly going to recommend it to all my family members and my friends. I am going to make it my permanent home away from home. Koli

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear Kolinotsh Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Southern Sun Cape Sun. I was delighted to receive your comments regarding the excellent stay you had with us. I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with theteam as we always strive to provide our guests with a distinctive service. Looking... More 

Kirkmichael, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not bad city hotel, great location and views of table mountain but also a bit boring, bar even on New Years eve depressingly empty.. Not a bad hotel just no life or soul, but only 10 mins from the waterfront and rooms clean and spacious, valet parking brilliant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear Brashy Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Cape Town and it is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery. Warm regards, Ryno D More 

Rio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there with smartours this Dec. Since we got there on Dec 25th and next day was a Sunday, everything around it was closed. There is a supermarket right in front of it, as well as a Woolworths in the corner, but they were closed. The hotel is beautiful, breakfast is good. We ate twice in the lounge and,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear SimRio Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us and we wish you and your family a prosperous 2015. Warm regards, Ryno D More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet had a great selection and the fresh fruit were delicious. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a great view of Table Mountain. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Southern Sun Cape Sun and would definately go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear ITzouves Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as we pride ourselves on providing our guests with a distinctive guest experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Wishing you and your family a prosperous... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the point of check in my needs were met by changing the room to our satisfaction and that too with a mini bar fridge.this was most heartening. The room was spacious with excellent housekeeping and room service. Being centrally located we we of walking distance to shops,restaurants, tourist attractions - awe that was too awesome.Overall theres little for me... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryno D, Head Concierge at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review

Dear joyshreel Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Southern Sun Cape Sun. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Wishing you and your family a prosperous 2015. Warm regards, Ryno D More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Address: Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town
Southern Sun Cape Sun Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay