We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 99 Cape Town Central accommodations

Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments

4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   28 Victoria Road, Bantry Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments to your Saves list
Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
50%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Nkosana M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (16)
  • Photos (22)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The great reception is always important as it gives an assurance that the stay will be enjoyable, indeed that is a recap of my stay at the self catering apartments. Was disappointed at first when I got to the room and it was still smelling with fresh paint. The scaffolding on the balcony of the apartment was a definite "NO".... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked the two bedroom apartment for a weekend away. We wanted to do tourist outings in our own city. Check in was efficient. Staff friendly and helpful. The apartment was exactly what we required. Lovely sea view. Comfortable beds. Breakfast included in the price is served at Koi, the restaurant at Ambassador Hotel across the road. Continental and hot breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed in apts which were terrible with workmen hanging outside your bedroom window. Entrance covered in dust sheets and smell of paint.Moved to hotel which is shabby and desperate need of makeover. Have left comments before but somehow removed

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was very nice. Clean and efficient. The breakfast was awesome. However as we were there to run theTwo Oceans we needed a in room breakfast on that morning. We tried arranging it with reception, who eventually called the manager. He agreed to provide the breakfast as a takeaway the night before which was ok by us. We wanted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments from the 9th - 18th of April. Upon check-in at the main hotel across the Road, I was so impressed with the Hotel it self, as well as the friendly and helpful staff, who made me feel very welcome! I was directed across the road to the Self-Catering Apartments, where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My adult family has recently spent 4 nights at the Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments and from the first contact with reservations to the last, the service was exceptional - we have stayed at top rated hotels in Europe this year and the friendly professionalism that we experienced at the Ambassador rated among the best. The deluxe 2 bedroom apartment was modern... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Ambassador Self Catering Apartments. We are so pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay and thank you for the positive comments on the service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! More

Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the ambassador 2 years ago and really enjoyed our time then ! We decided to stay there again but this time around the experience was totally different! the apartment was smelly , dirty chairs / carpet , the restaurant has new management and breakfast buffet is no longer the same ! Front desk manager was very rude.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are of course disappointed to note that your stay at the self catering apartments was not pleasant. I would like to reassure you that we have started with major renovations to both the exterior of the building as well as a major soft renovation that includes... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

These apartments are under extensive external renovation, a fact that not one staff member mentioned to us when booking and checking in. No wonder the staff members on duty at the apartments are so miserable. The apartments inside are SO shabby - we had supposedly booked a deluxe suite. The baths are patched in numerous places, the basin was cracked,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Ambassador Self Catering Apartments. We apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We put up a notice on our website as well as notices on both sides of the building advising guests and visitors of the maintenance taking place. However, you should have been informed by... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had the misfortune of staying here for 2 nights! The Ambassador is billed as 5* accommodation the first misrepresentation, it is also billed by them of course to be quality accommodation, second misrepresentation! To summerize the accommodation, dirty, smelly, dank, outdated I was disgusted! Do not eat at their onsite restaurant KOI either, it is run by idiots, rude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. At the same time, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in the apartments and for the poor service experienced at KOI restaurant. We have started with major building and interior upgrades last year November. We unfortunately had to halt the project... More

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

How this can be classed as a 4 Star establishment is completely beyond me! In my humble opinion this place is not worth a 2 Star rating. The building is rundown, in desperate need of painting and in fact a complete revamp would be needed to bring it up to a 4 Star rating. My daughter and I stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Major renovations to the exterior of the building started last year in November. Unfortunately we had to halt the project in December 2013 due to very high occupancies. The project resumes in May 2014 and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments

Address: 28 Victoria Road, Bantry Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cape Town Central with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For guests who prefer a little “home away from home” we offer 28 fully equipped and serviced apartments. Most rooms have magical views of the Atlantic Ocean, whilst other rooms have views of the unique Lion’s Head Mountain. The fully serviced apartments are ideal for families, long stays and self catering holidays.The apartments are located across from the Ambassador Hotel and guests have the full hotel service available to them including room service, pool access and complimentary wireless connection for the duration of your stay.The 1 and 2 bedroom self catering apartments are comfortably decorated and are equipped with air conditioners, king, queen or twin beds, fully fitted kitchens and are serviced daily. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
28

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer