We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Winchester Mansions

Hotel website
221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Winchester Mansions
Add Photo Write a Review

652 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    401
    178
    46
    13
    14
See reviews for
116
311
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (652)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (190)
All months
Krems an der Donau, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed here with friends from overseas before and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms are standard and very pleasant. Just the minibar was empty and you have to fill in an order form. What was a big surprise was that people in the back part of the bar were smoking and the whole bar area was stinking of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here a few times and it strikes me that the standards are sadly going down. The rooms are very pleasant but given the price one pays for them I would expect to have a fully stocked mini bar. Instead you are asked to fill in what you would like them to stock it with, which is inconvenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a family weekend here. The Winchester is right on the sea front with a beautiful sea view and the sound of gulls and waves. The accommodation is elegant and luxurious. The breakfasts are excellent. One of our favorite Cape destinations

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claremont, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for a breakfast today and what a terrible experience. We are regulars there. First of all my tea arrived. My cup was not clean, The tea pot has a piece of Ham stuck on it. Did they get it out of a dirty dishwasher? Our water we ordered is warm tap water, the drops all over the glass.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a beautiful, historic hotel with THE BEST STAFF you will find ANYWHERE. If I am ever in South Africa again, I will stay here. The spa is outstanding and the restaurant is really good. The rooms are gorgeous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review! This makes us all very proud! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff treated you so well and we too believe that we have THE BEST STAFF. I do wish you return to sunny South Africa very soon. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Winchester mansions is located in a great spot. However the wi fi didn't work during our entire trip. Showers were not so great. I really enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the room service was excellent. The staff were lovely and gave good recommendations for restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that you had no WiFi access while here. We had issues with our WiFi provider during the course of your stay and I can assure you that this problem has been resolved should you return. I am very pleased you enjoyed our food. Thank you for mentioning our staff, and I am very glad you received... More 

Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for one night, to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary! We were treated to a beautifully renovated sea facing room, with complimentary sparkling wine and chocolates. We went for dinner at the V&A Waterfront and upon our return, our room was decorated red roses. The staff was very helpful and we felt welcome!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! This is what we love to hear. Congratulations on your anniversary and we are more than delighted that we made it extra special for you both. I am very happy that you received the service we strive for at the Winchester Mansions! We hope to welcome you back with your kids next... More 

emz110
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

From our arrival to exit, everyone at Winchester was so nice. Service was exquisite, and everyone went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. They offered a free upgrade to a seaside view because it was my girlfriend's birthday and even did breakfast in bed on her birthday morning. Coordinated spa treatments and various dinners around town. Bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to write such a wonderful review on our all around good service and facilities. We are happy that you and your girlfriend had an enjoyable time! More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Can't say enough about Winchester Mansions, the first -- and oh-so-welcoming -- stop on our recent visit to South Africa: beautiful setting, very friendly and always helpful staff, delicious breakfasts, fine dining, and the elegant building itself with its strikingly beautiful interior courtyard. Should we ever be so lucky as to return to Cape Town, we’ll be rushing “home” to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for your raving review. We pride ourselves in exceptional service and we are delighted you received only the best we have to offer. We are proud to say we were "Part of your Journey". You are welcome "home" anytime! More 

Noank, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Very comfortable hotel with marvelous parkland in front and then the ocean. Marvelous breakfast, Cape Town on/off bus right at the front door. Thalia at reception was most helpful. The jazz brunch on Sunday was a real treat

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray N, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very privileged to be situated on such a prime spot for locals and tourists. We will pass your comments about our recently upgraded breakfast buffet to our Chef who will be pleased with this positive feedback, it makes our hard work so much for worthwhile. Thank you for mentioning Thalia and her... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(7)
  • Great location(5)
  • Free shuttle(3)
  • Reception staff(3)
  • V waterfront(3)
  • Sea point(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Cascades on the Promenade
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay