We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 102 Cape Town Central hotels

Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Ryk Tulbagh Square, Hans Strijdom Avenue, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Tulbagh Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel to your Saves list
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
66%
Ranked #94 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Glendyrr Knysna, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (119)
  • Photos (40)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • More
true
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    53
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
10
33
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the pictures on the website are an eye wash. The standard rooms require lot to be desired. Lift doesn't open on all floors. Although the staff and service is good, while booking for holiday, please book in the New wing to avoid disappointment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest thanks so much for your feedback. We are pleased that you were happy with the staff and service. Re the standard rooms we would love to have your feedback regarding suggestions to make them better as we are constantly striving to improve the look and feel. Apologies for the lift problems which have been resolved. Thanks again... More

Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this very comfortable ,well situated hotel during a business trip . Centrally located and the staff were friendly and attentive to my needs . I feel I received very good value for my money,and will recommend this to other travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for the kind words and for recommending the hotel to others. We look forward to seeing you back soon! Warm regards Paul More

Kent, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week at the end of June. We were a bit concerned because of the poor reviews just before we went but it turned out we needn't have been. We arrived early for check in and had to wait a while in the lobby enjoying a complementary glass of wine. Our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thanks so much for your positive feedback and advise on how to improve replenishment at breakfast which we have taken and are closely focussing on. It was wonderful to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon! Kind regards Paul More

Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I went to Cape Town with 4 of my friends and stayed in the Hollow on the square. Being honest, I was checking some comments here in tripadvisor about the hotel, and was concern about some customers opinions, But We had a great time at the hotel, it has a convenient location in down town close to Cape town convention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We really appreciate your positive review of the Hotel. I have commended the staff that you mentioned. We really hope to see you back again soon!!! Thanks again Kind regards Paul More

Firenze
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent 3 days at Hollow on the square in Cape Town. From the very beginning we could appreciate the great hospitality of the staff, their support and friendliness. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre, near restaurants, although the area is the financial district, thus almost desert at night. We recommend the green annex accomodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank You so much for the positive feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it means a lot that you took the time out to provide feedback. Thanks and kind regards Paul Paul Bruce-Brand More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Everyone needs that delightful little escape from tight schedules and deadlines … into days of luxury, relaxation and some Capetonian fun. And yes, it is definitely possible at Hollow on the Square. Positioned in the most convenient of locations, the trendy Hollow on the Square faces the historical Tulbagh Square. It’s situated right within Cape Town’s City Bowl, which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for such an awesome review of the hotel. Cape Town really is, as you mentioned, a great city for artists. We are presently engaged with the World Design Capital Project Team to get some funky artwork along the walkway outside the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thanks Paul (Bruce-Brand) More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great hotel in city centre. Great as a base in the city but prefer other hotels in cape town. At the moment the restaurant is closed. There are a number of other option in close proximity such as the restaurant at the radisson.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client. Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to your return when our refurbished kitchen and great new menu will be awaiting you! Thanks again! Kind regards Paul More

Coolum Beach, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What can I say, our travel agent booked us into Cape Hollow as part of a two week trip to South Africa and we had requested to be at the waterfront. Reluctantly she moved us to Hollow on the Square and after a disastrous stay at another 'Hollow' hotel. Our complaints saw us "upgraded" to the Green Annexe so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. We were disappointed that you did not actually stay at our Hotel, received a full refund and still felt the need to write a negative review. If you had stayed I'm sure that you would have found that the location of the hotel is ideal. It is safe and convenient and close to the Waterfront and the... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is by far the worst hotel ive ever stayed at from arrival its hard to find the hotel its situated in awkward place...upon arrival there was no room available for us and the staff at reception had no cooking clue what was going on with allocating a room parking for the hotel is crap cause its shared with two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. I was surprised by your review, as when we had breakfast prior to your departure you and your fiance seemed to be in good spirits."Staff are unfriendly..management worse" also surprises me. Both you and your fiance seemed to get along extremely well with both myself, my F&B Manager and the staff, but I guess I totally misread... More

Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The service was not very good especially at breakfast, the dishes were dirty half the time, there was shortage of cutlery and the room was hardly ever thoroughly cleaned. I expected more given the amount of money I paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapeTownLovetotravel, General Manager at Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Value Guest thank you so much for your feedback. Your comments really enabled us to hone in on problem areas. Subssquent to your review we did a full investigation and have actually moved our scullery area. There is now more space and proper control of the cutlery and crockery. The staff have also been trained by the Butler Academy.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel

Address: 9 Ryk Tulbagh Square, Hans Strijdom Avenue, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Tulbagh Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel South Africa

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cape Town Central with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hollow on the Square is conveniently situated within walking distance of the famous V&A Waterfront, City Centre, Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC), and just minutes from other inner city shopping meccas such as Green Market Square, St Georges Mall and the beautiful Flower Market. This trendy modern city hotel offers 56 large semi-self catering en-suite bedrooms with all modern amenities. The eco-friendly addition to the hotel, The Green Annexe, an oasis of 'green'-inspired hospitality, boasts 30 stylishly calm rooms, which have all been created with energy-efficient and environmentally sound materials, without compromising on luxury. The trendy public areas portray a French-chic vibe and include a relaxed lounge and dining area with cocktail bar and patio. For keeping you connected 24-7 we have Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For the first-time travellers to Cape Town, or for guests who need assistance with anything to do with Cape Town, our friendly Concierge is available to help enrich your stay in the 'Mother City'. Not only do we offer advice, but also a shuttle service and tours within the city and surrounds (booking advisable), car hire and the ease of foreign currency exchange within the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
86

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer