We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added La Splendida to your Saves list
La Splendida
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #80 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
swilson134 Amherst, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • More
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
24
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Ohio
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The customer service was highly personal and friendly. The attached restaurant had great food, and service. The location of the hotel was beautiful, overlooking the historic ocean and historic lighthouse.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Swilson134, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to thank my team for taking such good care of you and will pass your compliments on to the restaurant Managers. Thank you once again and hope... More

Lewistown, Montana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The food and service here was average to good and the room was OK, but nothing fantastic. We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony, which is always a plus. And we were within a short taxi/bus ride from the Cape Town Waterfront, a MUST for any traveler to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Neil Markovitz More

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

La Splendida is one of those places that is in my mind exactly what it sets out to be. I has a great location convenient to beach front and Cape Town city center. As another reviewer nails it, their attention to detail isn't great - example, we had a light that didn't work and despite a promise it wasn't fixed.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear RNC, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and will definitely address the concerns you have raised with the Hotel Manager. We are continuously striving to improve the offering at the hotel and hope to welcome you back again... More

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A neat, cozy, hip hotel in a good location. Good food, good service and a great value hotel. We had 4 rooms for our large family and everyone was pleased. The breakfasts and coffee was excellent. We also ate at the restaurant a couple of times and all the meals were good. Overall we had a grand time!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you and your entire party enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Neil Markovitz More

Franschhoek, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked the Superior room and arrived at the La Splendida hotel and the room that we booked was not available anymore! The room that was offered to us did not even have a lounge area, either sea facing and it was a terrible small room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Ellie, Thank you for take the time to post a review on your recent visit to the La Splendida Hotel. I am sorry that you found your stay to be a disappointment. I can assure you that your were allocated the room type that you had reserved. We have five Superior rooms on the property, all located on the... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a good 3* hotel. Their attention to detail is not great, we had to change rooms. We also had to request a hair dryer, there were issues with some plugs not working in the room and we did not have a 2 pin to charge our cell phones however the service was good and friendly. The rooms were... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. Thank you for all your constructive criticism and I can assure you we have taken note of all your concerns. All rooms are currently being fitted with international adapters, so the issue regarding the plug points will soon be a thing of... More

JHB - Gaug
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Everybody was very friendly. Place was modern and clean. Have very nice view of the sea or Table Mountain and Cape Town Stadium. Breakfast was very nice and there is good restaurant with bar downstairs that get quite busy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear BigZeca, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Neil Markovitz More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay of 3 nights at La Splendida in a seaview room. The location is wonderful - right opposite the promenade and lots to do in the area (sea, park, Waterfront, Greenpoint, Seapoint). The rooms are huge and have everything you need. Mine was a bit noisy being over the restaurant but I was there over a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. We will be sure to pass your compliments onto the Restaurant Owners. Thank you... More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely small hotel in art deco style. Centrally located to all major attractions. Rooms are exceptionally spacious given the price range. Great restaurant as part of the hotel. Room service is available. Sizable work station in the room when traveling for business. Lock up parking available behind the hotel but parking on the street outside the hotel is not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Bellex_13, Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at the La Splendida Hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your time with us and that our location and the set up of our rooms was convenient for you. I will definitely look into the situation regarding the 2point... More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stay at La Splendida whenever in CT for business. The rooms are spacious and furnished in a contemporary retro fashion. If positioned at the front of the hotel the views are fab. A hop and skip across the road and you are on the prom by the sea....perfect for an early morning run or walk. Also great for people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear MairiWat, Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at the La Splendida Hotel. We are very proud of the upgrades made at Sotano Restaurant and will be making a few adjustments to the rooms in the near future to add some extra comfort on your next stay with... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage La Splendida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to La Splendida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Splendida

Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;