We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added La Splendida to your Saves list
La Splendida
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #97 of 120 hotels in Cape Town Central
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014
lulu008 Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
18
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Its close proximity to the Moulle Point promenade is what initially drew me to this small hotel. Our very spacious back facing room was clean with good quality bedding. The bathroom was a bit on the small size. My problem was the building operations next door which resulted in a huge truck with scaffolding being off loaded outside our window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Lulu Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review in respect of your stay at La Splendida Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and the facilities of a good quality. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town! Kind regards Neil... More

Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

For some reason I initially was disappointed with the hotel when I arrived, could be because I was tired from the trip, angry with the car rental company, or the small size of the hotel next to a large construction site (New building) My room was on the third floor and felt like it was added on later as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day Thank you very much for the constructive feedback received. I'm very glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and I'll certainly also pass the compliments on to Anthony. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town. Kind regards Neil Markovitz More

Pforzheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

our room was quite spacious, clean and we had a beautiful view of the ocean !! it´s about 15-20 minutes walk to the V&A Waterfront, but you could also take the bus which stopped opposite of the hotel. The ladies from the reception were very friendly and extremely helpful. I will definately choose this Hotel again when we´re planning our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Kathy Your complementary remarks regarding our staff, service and location are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review - we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town! Kind regards Neil Markovitz More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

La Splendida is very well situated, the sea-facing rooms have a great great view and the hotek is a 1 minute walk from the Mouille Point promenade. There is a very nice vibe in the (great) restaurant downstairs during lunch and dinner, and from 5 pm there is a cool crowd. The sea-facing rooms are spacious, very simple and lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Gerhard Thank you very much for the lovely review on La Splendida. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town. Kind regards Neil Markovitz More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Unusually for us this was booked for us as the trip was a surprise for me and Andrew didn't want me to find out. Our usual B&B for the Argus, Point B, was unsurprisingly full. Friends from Jo'burg were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary and had decided to do so in the Cape as so many family and friends were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Mickie Thanks for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay at La Splendida. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again when you're coming to do the Argus. Kind regards Neil Markovitz More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This was about the 3rd time I have stayed at the hotel and I have really enjoyed it in the past, this time however was terrible there the an apartment block being built next door that actually shared a wall with the room I was in. Construction starts at 8am and ends at 6pm and it is loud, drilling banging,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Nicola Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review. It is our policy to advise guests of the construction next door to the hotel at the time of booking, so my sincerest apologies that you were not notified. I will investigate and rectify this. Kind regards Neil Markovitz More

Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Hotel La Splendida is situated in front of the sea. The view from the room and the restaurant is great. The food at the restaurant was good. Unfortunately there is no beach for swimming. The room was very big and nicely furnished in white with red, yellow and blue accents. The bathroom offered a shower and a bath tub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day Thanks for the lovely review on La Splendida Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to SA. Kind regards Neil Markovitz Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

After all the negative reviews that I have read before my visit to La Splendida hotel, I was really pleasantly surprised with the overall experience. On my arrival I received a very warm welcome from the staff on duty at reception. The room was spacious, very comfortable, clean and had a awesome view of the ocean. The wifi in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day Thanks for the stunning review on your stay at La Splendida. I'm very glad to hear that you found the room to be spacious and comfortable and the Wi-Fi to be adequate. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards Neil Markovitz Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges More

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We didn't have a very good experience with this hotel. Attached to the existing building they are building a new appartment complex. Because of this we woke up at 7 to the lovely sound of drills and hammers. Also when we checked in our room smelled really weird and then we discovered some mould on the ceiling, the personel gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Saskia Thanks for having taken the time to write a review as this allows me the opportunity to monitor our service levels to guests. I will certainly investigate as to what happened here and implement the necessary corrective measures. Kind regards Neil Markovitz Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews about La Splendida, it was interesting that there was no noise, albeit a Friday and Saturday evening. Very friendly staff, quick check in. The room I had on the 2nd floor was great. Great size, clean, loved the wet room shower. My hair dryer was not working and was replaced as soon as I reported it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil M, Managing Director at La Splendida, responded to this review

Dear Julie Thank you very much for the lovely review on La Splendida. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for the constructive feedback as this allows us to monitor our service levels to guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards Neil Markovitz Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves... More

Been to La Splendida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Splendida

Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Hotel
La Splendida Cape Town
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa
Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 120 hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Splendida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.