We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Sea Point

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #74 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Amy_Dubai Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
48
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent location, loads of shops and places to eat within a walking distance, close to the public transportation and my citi pass. Good gym and nice swimming pool (the pool to relax not to swim, not big enough). Just ask for a room far away from the lift, as it can be noisy. Staff were very well trained and nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, clean and good standard, breakfast ok. Excellent fitness centre. Great location close to coast promenade and to Main street shops and MiCiti bus. Staff were great. I would stay here again when I visit next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chelmsford, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well situated being close to the sea front. The room was very clean but you need to be a slight contortionist to get to the toilet behind the bathroom door. Some of the staff were helpful and had a smile on their face but certainly not all did and there seemed to be a lack of general... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katherine_Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review

Dear Mark H, Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Sea Point. Your comment regarding the STAFF's general lack of knowledge has been well noted and training has been put in place. I can assure you that this is not the standard which Protea Hotel Sea Point prides itself in. We are also... More 

Polokwane, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would like to thank the hotel for the beautiful and clean room we stayed at. The hotel is clean and stunning. We also recommended the place for my family from Canada as we were all attending a wedding in CT. Thank you for the wonderful experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katherine_Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review

Dear Shernice1, GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is disappointing and demonstrates the hit and miss quality of Protea. On the upside: The hotel rooms have been renovated (they are a bit less IKEA) and are quite nice. The pool area and views of the sea (from rooms facing it) are lovely. There is a wonderful Tanzanian lady working at reception. But, that is where the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katherine_Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review

Dear EDS71 Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback regarding the... More 

England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I started this hotel as our first stop on our road trip towards the Garden Route ahead of our wedding. I initially chose it as it was close to the beach and reasonably priced. I was concerned that its location was a bit out of the way. I was wrong. This hotel was great! First of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katherine_Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review

Dear Ilovetosmile, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Sea Point. I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. I can assure you that the STAFF have been congratulated for doing such an outstanding job! GUEST feedback is imperative for... More 

Worcester, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

25 years ago owning suites in the President Hotel was all the rage, it was modern, situated along the Atlantic sea board on the Promenade in Sea Point. Today it’s a little tired and like all Sea Point Grande dames needs a facelift. Musty and dank was the first whiff I got as I entered the forecourt. The name’s changed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katherine_Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review

Dear Burntoutactress Thank you for taking the time to feedback regarding your recent stay with Protea Hotels. Whilst we appreciate all the feedback, we are a little concerned that this may not be related to the correct Protea Hotel for a number of reasons you made mention of in your response. Protea Hotel Sea Point is situated along the Sea... More 

Eaton, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Walk in and all looks good , I can tell you it is all down hill from there. On check in our guide had to get someone to look after our check in no one appeared to want to help.Our group was 8 505 of s the card for the rooms would not work 2 couples had to get cards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Katherine_Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review

Dear Des M, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback with regards to your stay at the Protea Hotel Sea Point, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the confusion with the groups rooms and key cards. We would like... More 

Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

My husband & I decided to stay at the Protea Sea Point from 19/2/15 to 23/2/15 and we were so happy that we made this choice. The hotel is spotless, the check-in staff were so welcoming, our room was comfortable and spotless, the restaurant staff were amazing, and being a smaller hotel, the staff remembered how we liked our coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Katherine_Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review

Dear Hilary G Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review following your recent stay at our Hotel. I am so pleased to read about your experience with us and would like to thank you again for including every detail of your stay with Protea Hotel Sea Point. You truly captured every feature of the Hotel,I... More 

Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Great hotel for our first time in South Africa. It's really close to the beach and there are plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance. The hotel is spotless, staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good every morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katherine_Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review

Dear Greenpinkorange Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your visit at the Protea Hotel Sea Point and that my TEAM were able to make your stay a memorable one. . We wish you safe travels and hope to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question