We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel on St Georges

cnr Riebeek and St Georges Mall | PO Box 8412, Rogge Bay, Cape Town, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel on St Georges
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    121
    72
    18
    19
See reviews for
24
92
52
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (274)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We joined a tour to cover the Cape region and were booked into this hotel. It was a good overall experience and was better than expected. The staff were particularly friendly, efficient and professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bloemfontein
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Save money on electricity, with a card system , to switch off all electricity when you leave your room, great location, great breakfast, walk to many places, value for money, great for couples, business people, travellers, students, no need to look for any other hotel in cape town

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at hotel on st.georges in late July/August 2015 it's a handy location in the city of Cape Town good walking distance to the waterfront & train station.I felt quite safe staying there & the reception staff were very attentive to my needs also friendly too.Unfortunately you don't have an onsite restaurant but you get breakfast coupons for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Andrew W, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is comments such as yours that we strive for and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel should you ever return to Cape... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's very clear that this is an old hotel but it served it's purpose. Staff were excellent, so attentive and eager to make it a comfortable stay. We didn't spend much time in the hotel room as we were planning to be out all evening. Car was parked for us and ready after breakfast the next morning. Very comfortable bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear MsAimeeJ, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor as it is only through the valuable feedback from our guests that we can improve and measure the quality and standard of our service. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your comments with the rest of... More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wi-fi was not good during the day but early morning and at night it worked fine. Staff was very helpful. Location is perfect - downtown Cape Town. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I was at floor 8 - great view towards the mountain.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Hristina Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor as it is only through valuable feedback from our guests that we can assess our quality of service. During your stay with us, there was high WIFI usage during the day amongst our guests which does occur with high occupancies. The traffic did become... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed a few nights as a couple over new years, we loved the location as it is in the town so it was easy and convenient for travelling or walking around at night. Close to long street. The room was small but sufficient. Always clean the staff was friendly and very helpful with an excellent breakfast buffet. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear claudine32v Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in future. Warmest regards. Yolanda Prinsloo General Manager More 

Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Centrally located in Cape Town CBD, although somewhat obscurely-positioned amongst other unrelated commercial interests..easy to miss. The night of 25th July was my 2nd time of staying at the hotel, and this repeat visit was not made because of superb facilities, but out of the convenience of it being close to where i could get around CBD easily, and reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear ajibolaa2015, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is always great to receive positive feedback following a stay. We are a centrally located budget hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards. Yolanda Prinsloo General Manager More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed in the hotel in 2014 and this visit was far superior to the one I had this week. The hotel is in a good location however it’s the first and last impressions of the staff that make the difference. After checking into the hotel, the wifi was slow at best and the reception staff did come to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Nickc277 Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Though we never prefer our guests to have unpleasant experiences with us, it is always imperative for the management to follow hotel policies. We have had separate communications as mentioned in your review regarding your stay with us. Keeping the safety of guests as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Wifi slow at best and the hotel is so quiet as you walk along the floor the rooms are open, you could take your pick. The heating in the room never worked either. Complained to the reception and all was mentioned it was OK and did little work to rectify the problems. Breakfast in the next building which was small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear ChrisDudd Thank you for your comment on Trip advisor. Your review of our hotel is of great concern to me and I am really sorry that you left us with this impression of our service and facilities. Your experience is most certainly not the norm for us and I can assure you that the issues you mentioned will be... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We visited Cape Town in December for a week of meetings. This hotel had very reasonable rates compared with alternatives, and the location was excellent - we found we could walk to the majority of our meetings around town and found it no problem to walk down to the Waterfront in the early evenings. There were plenty of options for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Clare S, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central location met with all your expectations. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Three Cities Inn on the Square
Three Cities Inn on the Square
#77 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#73 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#92 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#93 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay