We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel on St Georges

cnr Riebeek and St Georges Mall | PO Box 5616, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Hotel on St Georges
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #81 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed today
ajibolaa2015 Benoni, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    117
    71
    18
    19
See reviews for
24
89
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Centrally located in Cape Town CBD, although somewhat obscurely-positioned amongst other unrelated commercial interests..easy to miss. The night of 25th July was my 2nd time of staying at the hotel, and this repeat visit was not made because of superb facilities, but out of the convenience of it being close to where i could get around CBD easily, and reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in the hotel in 2014 and this visit was far superior to the one I had this week. The hotel is in a good location however it’s the first and last impressions of the staff that make the difference. After checking into the hotel, the wifi was slow at best and the reception staff did come to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wifi slow at best and the hotel is so quiet as you walk along the floor the rooms are open, you could take your pick. The heating in the room never worked either. Complained to the reception and all was mentioned it was OK and did little work to rectify the problems. Breakfast in the next building which was small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear ChrisDudd Thank you for your comment on Trip advisor. Your review of our hotel is of great concern to me and I am really sorry that you left us with this impression of our service and facilities. Your experience is most certainly not the norm for us and I can assure you that the issues you mentioned will be... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Cape Town in December for a week of meetings. This hotel had very reasonable rates compared with alternatives, and the location was excellent - we found we could walk to the majority of our meetings around town and found it no problem to walk down to the Waterfront in the early evenings. There were plenty of options for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Clare S, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central location met with all your expectations. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Finding the hotel was so difficult that we had to phone the hotel to get directions, but when we got there, the service we received was superb, the staff on all levels helped out the best they could, and that's all you can ever ask for. The room was nice and cozy, you do pay a lot less than normal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear WChen001, Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review of our hotel following your stay with us. It is comments such as yours which we strive for. We have an older hotel, however, we strive to deliver very high standards of service to our guests at all times and I am therefore delighted that this is exactly what you... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it was somewhat difficult to locate because the entrance is on the city square and not the road. Hotel staff will park your car, so if there's no parking directly in front of the entrance you can "safely" park on the no parking zone on the square. Staff are friendly and helpful. Air-conditioning in the room was not particularly effective.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear LourieH, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor as it is only through valuable feedback from our guests that we assess our service delivery at all times. Hotel on St Georges is located inside St Georges Mall which is a pedestrianized walk-way. We offer a valet parking service to all our guests... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is fairly quiet, comfortable and the service isn't bad at all. The valet parking is a bit of a plus and the breakfast isn't bad either. Very central and easy to find in the city. I booked at the very last minuet was accommodated efficiently and easily, even though they were very busy. Great for a quick business... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Lizzie_k18 Thank you very much for your detailed TripAdvisor Review. It is comments such as yours that we strive for and I have shared it with the rest of our team. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel... More 

Slovakia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of the hotel is great, just in the city centre, next to the mycity Adderley bus stop. It is easy to locate and there is a lot of things to do and see in the vicinity of the hotel. the room was so so, basic standard, but clean. But what really caught my concern was the lock on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear Mishii_Mis Thank you very much for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor as it is only through feedback from our guests that we can maintain and improve our standard and quality of service. I was saddened to read about your concerns in terms of our room security and I only wish that you had brought this to our... More 

Witbank, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Centrally located with safe walkway all the way to entertainment on the squares and flee markets close by. Well kept and clean, spacious rooms and if you are lucky you will be upgraded free of charge. Friendly staff that did not mind parking our car at three in the morning. Lovely breakfasts at restaurant adjacent to hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOSG, General Manager at Hotel on St Georges, responded to this review

Dear PhillipSA101, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel. I have shared your comments with the rest of our Team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel and service met your expectations. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Three Cities Inn on the Square
#79 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Cape Town Lodge
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Diamond Hotel
#92 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Cape Town Ritz Hotel
#95 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
City Bowl
Fritz Hotel
Fritz Hotel
#62 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay