We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 104 Cape Town Central hotels

De Waterkant Village

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
De Waterkant Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added De Waterkant Village to your Saves list
75%
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
rahim1 Southern California
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
43
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The de water dekant village is a combination of people's homes that are managed by a company. These homes are very well taken care of. The attention to details and the location make these property very attractive as they are very well maintained and super clean. A great location close to everything, many restaurants, bars and supermarkets. Also only 10... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted to stay self catering as we were on a family hol with young kids and its so much easier, we stayed at an amazing house on Loader street Number 61. Its a keep fit house as on 4 stories, 1 bedroom downstairs, then 1st floor with kitchen, diner and another bedroom - the kids room with twin beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the find of the year. Brilliant location with good value accommodation in historic cottages. Even the lack of parking could not dampen this experience. It was a also very nice to be so conveniently placed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This place is way different than I expected. It isn't an apartment in a big building, rather, it's a management company who rent and maintain individual houses (and some rooms and apartments), owned by people in the community. And they do it very very well. We ended up with a gorgeous little house on Loader street and were able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Thank you for your review and wonderful compliments. Unfortunately there was an administrative error on the council’s side which we were able to clear up the next morning at 9am. Thank you for your understanding in this matter. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Kind regards Michelle Pretorius More

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great location in Cape Town with easy walking access to many sights. There were always taxi cabs in the area to get to other parts of Cape Town or Camps Bay. We stayed in an apartment with a kitchen and there is a nice grocery store just down the block where we found everything we needed for breakfast and snacks.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear KylerCA, Thank you for choosing to stay at Dewaterkant Village. I am happy to hear you got to try out some of the amazing restaurants and bars nearby. Because we are so centrally located there are many places to explore within walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back one day in the near future. Kind regards Michelle... More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Not impressed at all. Went to Cape Town for a long weekend and so disappointed. I realized there was a problem when I noticed that all the bedroom furniture was made out if chipboard with a bit of paint on it. We came back to our room to find it unserviced. When I asked why it had not been serviced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Housekeeping service is from Monday to Saturday, excluding Sunday’s and public holidays. Housekeeping can be arranged for Sunday’s and public holidays at an additional fee. Our services are displayed in the guest service file found in each apartment, the house rules... More

Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The apartments are centrally located and offer all the basic amenities. The nightly rate offers good value for money. Do not expect luxury or spectacular views though. A night guard is available for street parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lyon, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nice appartment but a bit dark with nice and modern decoration. Tricky to find a parking space. Full cooking equipement. At walking distance to bars and restaurant. No security issues as streets and location is regulary patrolled.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear B B Thank you for taking the time to review us. Due to our popular location, it is a little tricky to find parking at certain times we therefore provide off street parking at an additional fee. Guests are more than welcome to enquire at reception. We look forward to your next stay. Kind regards Michelle Pretorius More

Kathmandu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location in an apartment in a converted townhouse. Bed comfortable, and kitchen was well equipped with a full cooker and fridge meaning you can do your own thing. Small things let it down though; we woke up on several occasions to cockroaches making themselves comfortable in the kitchen and bathroom. Cleaning was sub-optimal, the daily cleaner failed to spot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Asian-Noma, Thank you for your feedback. Due to our convenient location close to the CBD, we rarely have cockroaches fly into the apartments. The extreme heat we have been experiencing lately brings them out. We pride ourselves in providing the highest level of service to all guests. I am sorry to hear we did not meet expectations and I... More

Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spending time in the Waterkantarea was just great again; great location and wonderful and lively atmosphere. Our studio on Loader was spacious, had a nice terrace with harbourview! It's also nice there's enough (secured) carparking. Unfortunality there's no airco in the studio so it became very very hot at night! (In our opinion this is necessary improvement in case of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Eric Z, Thank you for your review, we glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although not all apartments have air-con, all bedrooms either have a ceiling fan, standing fan or mist fan to keep our guests cool on those hot summer nights. Free wifi and a guest computer is available at reception for our guests to make use... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay