We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 102 Cape Town Central hotels

De Waterkant Village

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added De Waterkant Village to your Saves list
De Waterkant Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
75%
Ranked #52 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Steve T Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (140)
  • Photos (74)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
43
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the find of the year. Brilliant location with good value accommodation in historic cottages. Even the lack of parking could not dampen this experience. It was a also very nice to be so conveniently placed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This place is way different than I expected. It isn't an apartment in a big building, rather, it's a management company who rent and maintain individual houses (and some rooms and apartments), owned by people in the community. And they do it very very well. We ended up with a gorgeous little house on Loader street and were able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Thank you for your review and wonderful compliments. Unfortunately there was an administrative error on the council’s side which we were able to clear up the next morning at 9am. Thank you for your understanding in this matter. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Kind regards Michelle Pretorius More

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great location in Cape Town with easy walking access to many sights. There were always taxi cabs in the area to get to other parts of Cape Town or Camps Bay. We stayed in an apartment with a kitchen and there is a nice grocery store just down the block where we found everything we needed for breakfast and snacks.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear KylerCA, Thank you for choosing to stay at Dewaterkant Village. I am happy to hear you got to try out some of the amazing restaurants and bars nearby. Because we are so centrally located there are many places to explore within walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back one day in the near future. Kind regards Michelle... More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Not impressed at all. Went to Cape Town for a long weekend and so disappointed. I realized there was a problem when I noticed that all the bedroom furniture was made out if chipboard with a bit of paint on it. We came back to our room to find it unserviced. When I asked why it had not been serviced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Housekeeping service is from Monday to Saturday, excluding Sunday’s and public holidays. Housekeeping can be arranged for Sunday’s and public holidays at an additional fee. Our services are displayed in the guest service file found in each apartment, the house rules... More

Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The apartments are centrally located and offer all the basic amenities. The nightly rate offers good value for money. Do not expect luxury or spectacular views though. A night guard is available for street parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lyon, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nice appartment but a bit dark with nice and modern decoration. Tricky to find a parking space. Full cooking equipement. At walking distance to bars and restaurant. No security issues as streets and location is regulary patrolled.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear B B Thank you for taking the time to review us. Due to our popular location, it is a little tricky to find parking at certain times we therefore provide off street parking at an additional fee. Guests are more than welcome to enquire at reception. We look forward to your next stay. Kind regards Michelle Pretorius More

Kathmandu
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location in an apartment in a converted townhouse. Bed comfortable, and kitchen was well equipped with a full cooker and fridge meaning you can do your own thing. Small things let it down though; we woke up on several occasions to cockroaches making themselves comfortable in the kitchen and bathroom. Cleaning was sub-optimal, the daily cleaner failed to spot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Asian-Noma, Thank you for your feedback. Due to our convenient location close to the CBD, we rarely have cockroaches fly into the apartments. The extreme heat we have been experiencing lately brings them out. We pride ourselves in providing the highest level of service to all guests. I am sorry to hear we did not meet expectations and I... More

Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spending time in the Waterkantarea was just great again; great location and wonderful and lively atmosphere. Our studio on Loader was spacious, had a nice terrace with harbourview! It's also nice there's enough (secured) carparking. Unfortunality there's no airco in the studio so it became very very hot at night! (In our opinion this is necessary improvement in case of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Eric Z, Thank you for your review, we glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although not all apartments have air-con, all bedrooms either have a ceiling fan, standing fan or mist fan to keep our guests cool on those hot summer nights. Free wifi and a guest computer is available at reception for our guests to make use... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A beautiful 3 storey house , stunning views from the roof terrace, kept clean and tidy , all facilities available , friendly staff , just wonderful...great sized rooms , hot water whenever needed , kitchen and all utilities were kept shining clean...MOST IMPORTANT that is .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just spent three nights in deWaterkant Village. Our agent booked us a room only deal and we were delighted on arrival to discover we had our own little one bed house, with very well equipped kitchen, bathroom with excellent shower and separate bath, a little secure patio and good sized lounge/diner. The bedroom had a 5ft bed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review

Dear Surreylady50 Thank you for taking the time to review Dewaterkant Village. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to your return. Kind regards Michelle Pretorius More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage De Waterkant Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cape Town Central with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760’s. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, gay clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired café’s. Famed for being a gay friendly hub, the village is within walking distance of bars and fashionable nightspots. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors.In keeping with the feel of an authentic traveller’s village, guests can enjoy services and facilities when staying in apartments or houses, such as a centralised reception, concierge and housekeeping. De Waterkant Village is truly the fun capital of Cape Town and a necessary experience on every visitor’s itinerary. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from De Waterkant Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer