We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Town Hollow

Hotel website
88 Queen Victoria Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Book on
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Book on
or compare prices from over 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cape Town Hollow
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 22
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A very decent hotel in great location near CBD, park, museum, food & entertainment precincts. Impeccably clean. Excellent quality linens/towels. Lovely staff. All positive impressions were undermined by a security issue & by the noisy environment both outside & within the hotel, which we experienced. Before going to sleep 1st night we noticed that the door to our balcony was... More 

Thank Kate C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely time at this hotel. Having never been to Cape Town before, we were delighted to find that we could have an excellent view of the mountain and Company Gardens were directly across the road. Wonderful. We parked our car for a few pounds per day in a nearby car park. Breakfast was great, the hotel was... More 

Thank Clareno7
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I looked at many hotels, I booked this one last minute as the reviews were good, and I wasn't disappointed. The location is central to long street and many other attractions such as Table mountain, V&A waterfront which provides a free shuttle service. The service at this boutique hotel is excellent the staff are friendly, and can't do enough for... More 

Thank Angela A
Constantia, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in for tea before heading to the city hall for the philharmonic orchestra, I've always passed by, I'm delighted I've finally had the opportunity to actually take a peek inside. I never realised how brilliant it actually is. The first chance I get i would stay over - it's right in the heart of the heart of Cape Town,... More 

1 Thank Kara O
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I truly had a wonderful experience at Cape Town Hollow. I received excellent service and always with a genuine smile. The view from our room was simply magnificent, with a little balcony where you can enjoy the view and a pleasant breeze (unless it's a typical August CT day of course). Long street is literally around the corner where you... More 

Thank IC V
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Staff extremely friendly, room very clean, great pressure in shower, view from room of table mountain was spectacular also large park across the roads do also museum. I'd stay there again.. perfect location and beautiful people

Thank Jo M
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

The hotel was recently revamped, and extremely clean with breathtaking views of Table Mountain. Quality and variety of food was top class, with friendly staff willing to assist in whatever way possible. A must for tourists and or business travelers.

3 Thank dieBoer
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

The hotel is great! The staff is really helpful and welcoming, they serve a welcome tea at the reception and also have a system that helps you find places to go, attractions in the city, etc. The rooms are great too, I stayed one night at a triple room and had to sleep at the sofa bed (which is a... More 

2 Thank barbaranmartinez
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

The hotel is well located and clean with spacious rooms. Staff were very helpful too. It's a pleasant enough place to go, but not one I'm likely to return to. They don't seem to keep up with repairs on the rooms - the safety hasp on our door had been broken off and not replaced, and the bathroom door had... More 

2 Thank slj-gla
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

Great location in Cape Town, right opposite Company Gardens. This seems like a nice but average chain hotel and I'm as baffled by the boutique tag as I was by the manager's royal style tour as I tried to eat my breakfast in peace. Why she was interested in our itinerary on the day of our departure beats me. it... More 

1 Thank 66ric
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this review

Dear 66ric We sent you a message through the TripAdvisor platform but have not received a response. Thank you for your recent and detailed review of our property You have raised some concerns which we need to investigate and so I would like to ask you a few details: Please can you advise your full name, room number as well... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (34)
Room/suite (8)
Bathroom (2)
View from room (5)
Hotel & grounds (4)
Dining (1)
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (35)
Room/suite (8)
Hotel & grounds (10)
View from room (1)
Pool/beach area (1)
Dining (12)
Business center/function rooms (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#40 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#85 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#80 of 105 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Plac...
#46 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#30 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#55 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay