We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Backpack

Certificate of Excellence
74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Backpack
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Backpack
The Backpack
The Backpack
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    113
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
68
158
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (413)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Backpack is an awesome hostel!! And their staff is so friendly, helpful, and welcoming they truly make you feel like you're at home. I planned on staying for two nights at the backpack and stayed for two and a half weeks!!! That's how great this place is. Great lounge areas for socializing with other travelers. Can't stress enough how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us just as much as we enjoyed having you around. The staff loved it when you popped in at the front desk to tell us your new and hilarious travel stories. As well as us being entertained by constantly... More 

Long Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I could go on and on about how great this hostel is. The staff were fabulous, the location was perfect, the spaces were clean and it was such an incredible perk having a bar inside the actual hostel which was pretty much open at all times. The cool thing about this hostel is that it can really be whatever you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks for the review! Wow, we are forever grateful for this awesome feedback! It is comments like this that keep us driven and aware that we are doing it right. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and made use of the communal areas, such as enjoying some drinks at the bar with us. We do... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've had a read through some of the latest reviews and honestly feel that they are doing this place a disservice. This is the 5th time I have stayed at the Backpack and it never fails to disappoint. The people are amazingly warm and friendly (maybe you get back what you give out?). Sadly no more Lisa and Paul but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review of our hostel. Yes, you have walked through our doors 5 times now and we can't wait for you to come back for a 6th time! We are glad that the new staff were just as friendly and helpful as the old. Thank you for appreciating the small touches we add to The... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Backpack for 3 nights last week and as a female traveller travelling alone I couldn't recommend it more. Was in a four girls shared dorm which was very clean, comfortable and well maintained throughout the stay. Great location, especially for table mountain and proximity to main city. Airport shuttle was organised for me seamlessly when requested... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for the review of our hostel! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and you felt that our service was up to standard. We love helping our guests to make the most of their stay in Cape Town and we are glad that you did just that! We hope... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked some clients into the backpack that wanted a reasonably priced spot while in Cape Town for a few nights of business while visiting us. The Backpack is well situated in the heart of Cape Town and within walking distance to long street and most of eateries in the area. The staff where great from taking my booking to looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review of The Backpack. It is great news that your clients had a grand time with us! We had a great time getting to know each one of them and helping to plan their trip. We hope that we can continue to impress you in the future! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, sociable, good tourist information but above all WONDERFUL, helpful, lovely staff who went above and beyond when asking them questions, suggestions and help with anything. Organised and really good location. Perfect for what we needed and would definately go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the review of The Backpack. We are always so grateful when we receive such positive feedback about our staff and our hostel. We are so pleased that your stay with us was a great one and we hope we can welcome you back through our doors in the near future! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer More 

Zambia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hostel was great stayed there from the 27th March to the 4th April, the rooms were nice and clean, the shared ablutions were good. The staff were awesome they were very friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect its not far from the pubs or restaurants, the staff can get you a taxi they are very reliable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the review of The Backpack! We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the staff treated you well and made sure you were safe on all of your adventures. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a wonderful stay at the Backpack in Cape Town. The hostel feels very homely and is very comfortable. The first night I climbed into bed I couldn't believe how soft the sheets were! More like a hotel then a hostel just with more people in your room. The location is perfect for doing all the top touristy things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us! Well, we are thrilled that you had a great stay with us. It is always so heart warming to know that we have left a lasting impression and that we know we will be seeing you again soon! Keep well until then! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer More 

Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this hostel had great reviews, so my expectations were quite high. the hostel's communal spaces were great - pool at the backgarden, bar/patio, chill-out room and kitchen. i stayed in two dorms one large one, which was ok, and another four person female dorm, which i found overpriced. staff was at times slightly confused about beds, keys and other stuff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Heya, thanks for the review. It is great to know that you had a good stay with us and made use of the communal areas, such as the pool, garden, bar and kitchen. We do apologise that staff may have seemed confused; we have recently changed our key tags as well as our system of labeling beds. We hope to... More 

Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Backpack is just an amazing hostel. It's nicer than most hotels I've stayed at, let alone other hostels. The location is perfect for exploring Cape Town, the staff is super helpful in setting up activities, and the other travelers are all super friendly. They have a great bar area as well. Our room was a 4 person suite with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to review The Backpack. We hope that you do come to stay with us again and we can keep on impressing you. It's great that you got out and about into the city and also went on day trips while you had the time! There is so much to do in Cape... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question