We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)
Hotel amenities
The Backpack
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Backpack to your Saves list
93%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ExphilipX London
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    95
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
58
133
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
London
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel has most of what you need for a budget stay. The bar has a nice atmosphere. Can be difficult to find ones way around this sizable place but that is just a minor challenge . I visited in August and the room was just too cold at night clocking 13-14 Celcius. There was a small radiator but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overal stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you found your room slightly cold. Besides giving out the extra blankets, we do also give guests a hot water bottle. Hopefully you will visit us next time when it is... More

Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful, neat atmosphere. Rooms are decorated on a beautiful way. A safe place with a nice vieuw on the table mountain. The only disadvantage is that there are now computers available to use the internet. you have to take your own smartphone or laptop with you. The staff is friendly and enthousiastic but could tell at check in a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overal stay with us at The Backpack. Thank you for your comment about the computers, we are currently looking at a purchasing a computer for guests to use while here. It is lovely to hear that you loved your room and... More

Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

The beds where comfy and the common areas where clean. Staff was incredibly helpful, Lisa thank you so much for everything! It really is a place for anyone and everyone. Only thing is, you'd probably want to bring an adaptor. Staff struggled getting us one but they always did their best! WiFi only at reception and bar!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and that Lisa went over and above to assist you. She is passionate about her work. Thank you for pointing out that the wifi is only available in the reception/cafe. We have ammended this, so that the... More

Bergen, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Stayed here in September 2014. Great hostel in Cape Town. Felt very safe, there were all sorts of people staying there. Parking just outside. Staff and security was immensely friendly. Close to table mountain, and a hop on hop off bus just outside. Walking distance to Kloof and Long Street. Pool for the warmer days. Nice facilities. Atm in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you loved your entire stay with us. It is awesome that you loved the location of the hostel as much as we do. It is close enough to all the great spots in Town, but far away enough to still have a peaceful nights... More

Crema
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I've been here alone for 5 days. One of the beautifullest and friendly b&b ever seen. Good staff.. amazing location.. good services.. You can find here people all around the world. Really a great experience! U GONA LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us. It is awesome that you were happy with our staff and we lived up to your expectations of our hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Eleni Good More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are more like a hotel room than a hostel. They are spotless and also have tea and coffee making facilities.We had a very spacious private bathroom. Again, it was spotless! This place is quite big and the layout is a bit confusing - like going through a maze to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities to be good as well. We are happy to hear that you loved your room as well, we strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible. We look forward... More

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Booked into the backpack for 5 nights and stayed in their studio apartment. It was beautiful and clean with a great view of table mountain. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as well as offering good advice on different trips to go on. They have a fantastic community project that you can get involved in. A special mention to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and that you found Lisa to be extra helpful during your stay with us. It is awesome to hear that you were able to look into some of our community projects that we have on the go... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Backpack was very clean and comfortable. Staff are sometimes very helpful and nice and sometimes rude and short with guests. The location is great because it is right off of Kloof Street and is walking distance from Long Street, the Company Gardens, and the city center. Free Wi-fi is only available in the common areas, so you have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overal stay with us. It is unfortante to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with all the staff members. We always strive to ensure our guests are always assisted with a smile on our faces. We are glad to hear that... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

While the staff and location do make the place, I will start off by saying one staff member there does not fit the place at all... I wont put her name on here, but we nick-named her Miss Kardashian, because she must have lost touch with where she was at - you work the desk of a hostel sweetheart, get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overal stay with us and that our staff members were helpful with booking tours and daytrips for you. We are currently updating our rooms, so hopefully next time you might stay in a room that is more favourable to your taste.... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great rooms - I spent a night in an 8 bed, 2 nights in a 4 bed and a night in a single room, all of which had very comfortable beds and locker space for all. The showers were always hot and bathrooms were clean. Food is a reasonable price, however beers can be a bit pricey. The bar area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and helpful! Since your stay with us, we have changed the wifi to be free throughout the entire hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Eleni... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay