We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Backpack

74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Backpack
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Backpack
The Backpack
The Backpack
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    100
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
63
139
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (367)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (93)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Third time I have stayed at The Backpack now and I'm already making a plan for the return. This place is not perfect for everyone but for me, it makes my time in Cape Town. The location is perfect - you can walk to Long Street, down to the Waterfront and be at the foot of the Lion's Head climb... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the place after a recommandation of a friend, but it was one of the worst places we stayed at, during our whole 4 week vacation in SA. Although it was one of the most expensive!! We had a double room ensuite, which was located under the roof, so that there was no space left in the room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor. We are terribly sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay with us at The Backpack. We always strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible while with us in Cape Town. We do apologise that you were not happy with the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Backpack. It was clean, inviting, friendly and we had a nice room with en-suite bathroom. It is more costly than other backpackers. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was pretty good too. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your time at the Backpack. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Eleni Good More 

Swellendam, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Backpack for one night, and really wished that we could stay longer,the staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurants is walking distance from The Backpack which was perfect for us to experience the city at night. The atmosphere is relaxing, even though it was only one night I felt like I was on holiday. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Front Desk Agent at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us a review. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the entertainment Cape Town offers in close proximity to our hostel. We do apologize for the lack of a mirror in your room; we will follow up on that. We look forward to seeing you again... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such a pity that I was only able to book one night here. The staff were excellent and greeted us with a tour around the clean and well specd facilities. There well code lockable safes and some off street parking. Location is excellent. Walking distance from long street but away from the noise. Made some good friends and even came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Front Desk Agent at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff and facilities were up to standard. We are happy to hear that you appreciate our added extras; such as our free lockers and free parking bays, and were able to make... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, atmosphere and decor and brilliant staff : ) I stayed for 8 nights, using it as a base to explore Cape Town and the surrounding regions and had a fantastic stay. The staff were efficient and charming and the car park is very handy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor. We are beyond thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay with us at The Backpack. We are glad that you were able to make use of the car park that we have located... More 

Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayedat the backpack for a week in a dorm. It was exceptionally clean, beds were great and the oversll atmosphere was nice. the staff is extremely helpful in organising trips. Especially melanie, who has a lot of experienve in the tourism industry is very helpful and takes a lot of time to help you plan your onward journey. very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us while you were in Cape Town. It is awesome to hear that Melanie was able to assist you with booking tours, etc. We are glad that you found your bed to be comfortable, as it is one... More 

Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 night and those two night were amazing. stuff is friendly and so welcoming you just feel at home the sec you arrive, rooms are clean the cleaning ladies are on their A's, pool is right there even though cape town weather got it moments.... if you want a drink they got the bar area with pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and found the hostel to be amazing and the Housekeeping Staff to be on the A game! They work extremely hard to ensure the place is kept to a high standard. We are glad to... More 

Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed at The Backpack for 5 nights. The staff are very helpful and had great travel information. The location was excellent, minutes away from restaurants, grocery store, laundry. My only hesitation with staying here again is that the walls are very thin and we were woken up during the night by people coming back from the bars at 3am.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It is however unfortunate to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your room, and had we been able to we would of gladly moved you to another room in the hostel. We hope... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

In the last month I stayed on 4 different accassions in the backpack and really enjoyed it. Most people of 25 years and older and friendly staff. The hostel is located right in the center so good for going out and doing trips around the city. Would stay here again. cheers, Coen

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you were able to stay with us for more than one opportunity. We are really glad to hear that you were happy with the services provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Eleni Good More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay