We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Backpack

74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Backpack
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Backpack
The Backpack
The Backpack
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    105
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
64
144
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (382)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I absolutely loved my 4-day stay at the Backpack. I had a lovely private room and shared bathroom. I really appreciated that they provided shampoo and towels; to pay hostel prices and have a swimming pool in a lovely little garden overlooked by Table Mountain was amazing; all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful; the restaurant has great coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

So the positives, good travel centre. Nice communal areas. Good bar and breakfasts. The negatives. Some staff a bit grumpy. Bathrooms a bit scruffy. But worst was the temperature of the dorm rooms. It was 30 degrees at night and no air con or fans in the room meant everyone had a hideous nights sleep. Not good. Fans needed at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for four nights with my husband and loved it. The hostel felt very safe and secure and it was within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants (we're in our early 30s and much preferred Kloof St - it's a bit more mature than Long St!) We stayed in the Dr Sooliman room which felt really secluded and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place made my entire trip to Cape Town a hundred times better. The staff are lovely and very helpful, very pretty too! The showers are hot, powerful and nice & clean. There is a nice kitchen and the pool is relaxing for chilling out to & sunbathing at the end of a long site seeing day. If you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Wow, what a great review! Thanks! We are so pleased we made your stay in Cape Town amazing. We are so proud to share our beautiful hostel and all its perks with you; glad to hear you made use of our pool area, enjoying the spectacular view of Table Mountain and that you enjoyed what our kitchen staff can cook... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, clean rooms, friendly staff and more. They can arrange all kinds of trips for you as well. I really dig this place. I have stayed here a few times over the past few years. The restaurant and bar is great as well. Close to Park Street (chow) and Long Street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey! Thanks for the awesome review of our hostel. We are more than happy to assist with organising your travel plans and making sure you have the most enjoyable stay with us. We are glad to hear that you keep returning and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer More 

Los Angeles
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a single room for one night. This is the third time I have stayed at this place. It is clean, in a good location, good staff, and an overall very cool atmosphere. Highly recommended for a comfortable good value place to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hello there, thanks for your lovely review! We are glad you returned to stay with us for the third time and we hope that each stay is just as good as the previous one, if not better! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The backpack gives the traveler a nice experience of Cape Town and has everything you can expect from a hostel. We got upgraded to the top floor which was nice. The pool area is a bit small, but they offer free sunscreens. Although - we did the township tour in Langa they are recommending and this was a huge disappointment.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us out this review, we are very grateful for this! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hostel. Our pool area may be a bit small, but down the steps into the garden are some gorgeous loungers, chairs and tables to enjoy. We are terribly sorry to hear that... More 

Playa Del Rey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is literally everything you'd expect from a backpackers. The location is amazing: close to Long St if you're a rager but also close to Kloof St, De Waterkant, Table Mtn and Watefront. The staff is reliable, prompt and knowledgeable (ask them for a taxi and it will be there in like, 1 minute!) The facilities are extremely clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Front Desk Agent at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; making use of our central location and exploring our city fully. We hope that we can greet you again in the future! Kind Regards Jade Calmeyer More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our arrival we were disappointed to discover that we did not have the room we booked over 9 months in advance. Melanie and Lisa were very apologetic and made a few appreciated compensations to lessen our disappointment and faith in The Backpack. These 2 girls along with the barman are worthy of praise. They are certainly the face and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Triapdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with your reservation once arriving at The Backpack, but we are glad to hear that you were happy with the services Melanie and Lisa provided to rectify the problems. It is lovely to hear that you were happy with... More 

Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Backpack on New Church street is situated very close to busy Kloof street with it's many bars and great restaurants. As a family we spent 5 nights in the President's room which is a loft of a old mansion. As a consequence the nights can be hot because we slept right under the roof, even though we had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Triapdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at The Backpack while in Cape Town. We are sorry to hear that you felt your room was slightly warm at night. We will be sure to double check the settings on the air-conditioning machine.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay