We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parker Cottage

Travelers' Choice award winner
3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
Add Photo Write a Review

769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    725
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
103
478
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (769)
  • Mar-May only
    (215)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (156)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (191)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (207)
All months
williston
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had the most wonderful time at Parker Cottage thanks to all of you! Your place was more than expected and those breakfasts were to die for! We love architecture and history and Parker Cottage had much warmth and charm. A porch is my favorite place and to eat breakfast out ther, after a very long and cold winter, was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were met with friendly service and great advice for places to visit and restaurants. We heard such great things about the breakfasts, but unfortunately were not able to take full advantage of that - we were saving space for the Test Kitchen, and the next day had a very early flight to catch.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review

Thanks so much Lindsay for such a wonderful review! It's twice as complimentary because you're a local and as we all know, locals have more choice over where they stay. We're sorry that you didn't get to enjoy our breakfasts as much as the Test Kitchen: next time! More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The managers and staff were very welcoming and surprisingly knew our name when we came in, a real treat! There was a nice get-together the first night where snacks and four wines were provided for everyone that was checked in. My boyfriend and I came for a romantic stay and it was just perfect. The one manager was willing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review

Thanks Midtownie for such an expansive review! We're delighted that you enjoyed the stay so much and thanks for going into such detail. Most kind of you indeed. We do actually have the option of televisions in all our rooms with either HDMI cables (to connect your computer to) or DVD players and also a satellite connection. However, we don't... More 

Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Clean, beautiful decorated, huge breakfast and all round friendliness. This was the second time that we chose to stay there. All the staff are very helpful and will accomodate all of your wishes! We stayed there whilst on a business trip, because it is so centrally located, it was easy for people to meet us at the B&B from all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We couldn't have asked for more from a B&B - an outstanding location, a very comfortable and cozy room, outstanding breakfast, charming historic building and the very best in service. The service was just first class and no request was too big or too small. Even before we arrived the managers at Parker helped us organize activities we wanted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely place. The accommodations were wonderful as was the breakfast and what a lovely touch with the cheese and wine. I would definitely recommend a stay here. We had two delicious dinners while staying at Parker Cottage, both within walking distance. Ricks Café was delicious and Tonis on Kloof Street were both very good. Not all of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, Julie! A long time ago we thought about offering in house dinners at Parker Cottage. Frankly, as you yourself discovered, the choice of restaurants and diners just outside our front door is so overwhelming (and so darn good) that we'd struggle to compete. We're so pleased you enjoyed. See you again soon! More 

Winterthur, Schweiz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed three nights at Parker Cottage. The staff was really nice and helpful, they even repaired driving mirror of our car. The five-course breakfast was superb (bacon, eggs and a lot of fruits). I recommend this guest house to everyone who stays in CPT.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review

We did have fun repairing the mirror on your rental, didn't we? I'm not a fan of the average car hire company, I must be honest. So pleased that we managed to get that sorted for you. Thanks for the lovely review! More 

England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were originally booked into a large well known hotel on the waterfront by our travel agent but we prefer smaller properties with a more personal feel and Parker cottage certainly gives you this! We arrived late one evening, unaware it was cheese & wine evening, and Phil was in the garden with some guests and we just left our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review

Thanks Steven and Shirley for such a warm review! Glad you found the chairs in the lounges and on the stoep comfy. Your timing was perfect when you arrived, I have to say. The wine evening was in full swing and you just made it even better with your presence. You'd have been more than welcome to have a tea... More 

Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sorry guys no offence it was an average experience for us. Now don't get me wrong the service and people running the place are lovely and yes the breakfast is nice, and yes the rooms are pretty. Parking was not an issue on the street and the wifi worked well. Location was ok too. However, big issues for us was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review, guys. Nice of you to take the time. Regarding the noise that other guests make, we can't really take responsibility for the actions of other guests, I'm sorry to say: people are on holiday and it's difficult for us to provide a homely atmosphere whilst telling people off for talking too loudly. We're a... More 

Lansing, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Their motto: Where old-world hospitality doesn't cost the earth. Yup. Wine-tasting, help with logistics, full English breakfast (make at least an hour for this if you can!), conversation-worthy decor, and a staff that loves what they do (Thank you, Penny.). WOW. I could come back and spend a week just in Cape Town, and I would definitely be back at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review

Oh we did enjoy 'conversation worthy decor'! That's a turn of phrase you should hashtag immediately Daniel. Thanks so much for the warm review: Penny in particular will be delighted. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

323 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (63)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (115)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
The Paterson Room (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay