We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

3.0 of 5 Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    127
    49
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
63
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located half way between V&A Waterfront (10 minutes to walk) and the city center. Parking is free. We always took a taxi to go back to the hotel at night. There is not much around it. Room was spacious, bathroom clean with shower and bathtub. The restaurant has a terrasse overlooking a little canal. The salads we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for the great review and support! We are glad that the food was to your liking and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Kind Regards More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is well situated being close to many amenities. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. It was just a short trip to all the attractions at the Waterfront, Greenpoint, and City Centre. I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location. It's also pleasing to find that you enjoyed great service from our staff and that they were friendly, and helpful - something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to having you stay... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location for this hotel is very good and the rooms are OK, but if you are here on business and looking for good internet connectivity forget it. I was in a ground floor room and the wifi did not even reach there. Several requests to management to address the issue produced no useful response at all. When I finally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our apologies for your wifi experience. We are in the process of sharply upgrading wifi connectivity and speed at all of our hotels. It is hoped that this greatly improved offering will soon be available to all of our guests through the adoption of state-of-the-art technology. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is at the Gateway to the waterfront and is ideal to explore old and new Cape Town. The canal boat to the waterfront and convention centre stops outside the hotel and your Red Bus ticket gives you a free ride. A short walk of about 10mins takes you into the heart of the Waterfront with loads of restaraunts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience of the hotel's location. It's also good that you experienced friendly and helpful service from our staff - something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. Good value for money. We requested an early check in but only got access to our rooms after a 2 hour wait in the hotel lobby. This was not a good start after a long international flight. Unfortunately I was left with a bitter taste in my mouth. As I reached CT airport I realised I had forgotten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your generous comments about the location and value for money. However, we are disappointed to hear about your items of clothing and the assistance you received in this regard – we will certainly look further into the matter as we always do with such issues. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is easily accessible, with good parking, and only a short 10 min walk from the Waterfront. The rooms are fairly basic and small, but clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is an extra charge, but it is worth it. I will happily stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location and it's close proximity to the Waterfront. It's also pleasing to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. We're also glad to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful - something that we... More 

Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We have just returned from a family trip to Cape Town. This was a last minute trip and we did struggle to get accommodation. The hotel is in a good location, its on the edge of the V&A waterfront, in my opinion I wouldn't want to stay any further away from the waterfront. We were able to walk in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the comprehensive review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of this hotel's location, and that you enjoyed the surrounding attractions. It's also great that you found the hotel comfortable and took advantage of the food offerings available. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Kloof, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

This City Lodge is a safe 10 minute walk from the V & A and is close to all major freeway routes. The parking is secure and breakfast is available as an extra. We have stayed here before and will do so again. If you are looking for a place to crash that is clean, quiet, has decent bathrooms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

We thank you for the fantastic review. It's great that you found the hotel's location convenient and secure. We're also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast on offer and found your stay to be quiet and comfortable. It's also good to hear you enjoyed friendly and helpful interactions with the staff - something that we pride ourselves on.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Our experience with City Lodge V&A Waterfront was positive from beginning to end. We were only here a night but on early arrival, were greated by the friendly staff and found a room in spite of being there 5 hours prior to the official check-in time. The hotel is conveniently located within easy walking distance to the V&A waterfront. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy to hear that you experienced friendly and helpful service from our staff and that you managed to check-in easily. It's also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location, and that you enjoyed the breakfast options available. Thank you for your recommendation and for finding us to be... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Great location close to central waterfront. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast is very good. I Was disappointed however with my room near gym and pool, very noisy and unable to change rooms. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We're glad you found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and helpful, and further that you enjoyed the breakfast options. We're sorry about the noise you experienced - and we will certainly look into this. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay