We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

3.0 of 5
Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    130
    55
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
66
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's a cheapish hotel and it shows. Old Fashioned Furniture. My room had the soap and shampoo from the previous person and this was pretty disgusting. The bar staff were friendly and helpful. Checking in and out were easy The plus is that you don't have to pay for parking. Most of the other hotels in the city charge anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive review. We are glad to hear that you found our services efficient and staff friendly. We will, however, be looking into the other issues that you had mentioned and will be rectifying them asap! More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My hubby and I were back again for the Two Oceans Marathon and the City Lodge didn't disappoint, offering us the excellent service that we have become accustomed to. The friendly staff, delicious food and how great they look after us runners. Their pre-run morning treats contributed to my best first 56km race. I would like to thank them once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
City Lodge G, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you had a great 2 Oceans Marathon AND stay with us... We are so glad that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible and assist with that PB - congrats again and we cant wait until we can welcome you back next year! Happy training... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is nothing to complain about with regards to the staff - they are friendly and very professional. The room was clean and everything was ok except the shower that has very slow drainage. Apart from that the room met all expectations. The WiFi remains a HUGE problem. I had a similar bad experience at the City Lodge Grand West... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive review. While we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we also must stress that we are in the process of upgrading our WiFi facilities.. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

CapeTown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are very comfortable and practical. The view is amazing. Walking distance to the famous V&A Waterfront. Breakfast was great. Reception staff friendly. The wifi service however could be better for business and holiday travellers. Very slow connection and only one hour per day. This would be a reason for me not to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us... Please note that we are in the process of upgrading our WiFi facilities so it will be improving soon! We look forward to welcoming you back soon... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights. Service was bad. Checked in at 2pm but room was only ready at 6pm. Not polite at reception. Wifi free only 30 mins a day and very slow. Room keeping broke my bag but hotel did not offer to fix or pay cost of repair to my bag even though there was camera footage. Not recommended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. This is unacceptable and we will therefore be looking into the matter. Please also note that we are in the process of upgrading our Wifi facilities which currently offer one hour free per day at this hotel . More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we booked this we got the impression it was within or even ON the waterfront but it is a 10-minute walk away, far away enough that we apparently needed to take the shuttle to go for dinner at the waterfront for our own safety. The hotel carpark has a boom gate and 24-hour security guard which shows how much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive review. We will definitely look into all your above-mentioned points as we continuously strive to improve our customer satisfaction. Our wifi is in the process of being upgraded. We look forward to welcoming you back soon... More 

Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel 10 years ago and nothing has changed. The staff is friendly & helpful, the hotel is clean and an excellent value, the resturant is well run, and the location is central in that you can get to the waterfront or head downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Bruce, thanks for the wonderful review and for your continuous support. We are so glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the convenience of the hotel's location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Tete, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located at Cape Town city centre, close to the CTConvention Center and just 7 minutes walk to the V&A waterfront. The hotel is clean, fresh and the staff helpful. It is perfect for either business or family vacations. The breakfast table is very rich and varied, I enjoyed this. I'll definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review and for your continuous support! We are so glad that you find our facilities, staff, and breakfast selection to be of a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Benoni, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel again last week for 6 days. Despite being rated 3 star it is no different to any 4 star hotel I have stayed in. Great staff and a very relaxed and comfortable hotel. Possibly the best value for money in the area. I have already booked again for next year's Cape Town Cycle Tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for the great review and for your continuous support! We are so glad to hear that the hotel meets all your needs and expectations and we look forward to having you stay with us again next year! Happy training! More 

Roodepoort
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a very good location. It is about 15 minutes walk to the V&A Waterfront and not as pricey as the hotels in the Waterfront. The walk is however not very pleasant as there is a lot of construction and a busy road. It is safe for walking in day time but I would not walk alone at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Ivanda, Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be of high standard - which is something we strive for. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question