We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashanti Lodge Gardens

2.0 of 5 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    66
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
8
48
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at Ashanti for 5 days whilst in Capetown. Our stay there was pleasant. The staff were extremely helpful and lovely. The option of the buffet breakfast was convenient for us. Some of the night time bar staff were a bit rude. I like how Ashanti can help with organising tours etc. We stayed in the guest house across... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such an awesome stay! We stayed in Guest House 2 - the room was so comfortable and spacious! There was a nice braai for heritage day at the main house, which was a good vibe. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Katie B Thanks for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the braai (BBQ) we provided - we often have little gatherings for guests and staff to help create a nice atmosphere. See you soon! Regards Lisa More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for two days and very comfy mattress and clean hostel. I did vomit my breakfast up and still had to pay the $50-00 though!. It was close by to One in Cape Town where the tour finished. The price was very reasonable only $US 16-00

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Aaah Peter M from Melbourne - the same Peter that urinated on two different beds, was completely inebriated at 9am in the morning, was brought in by the police beaten up on on two different occasions and the same Peter that we asked to leave our establishment after 2 days??? I think you may have vomited up your breakfast for... More

Kinderdijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here twice within 8 days. It's a big place with lots of rooms and dorms. Strangly, some rules bout payment (e.g. for the sign where your bed is, just some paper) changed within these days without notice. Some personel are just travelers on the road making extra money: some can be rude as they are not trained for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hello NL-viajero Thank you for your review. It is a shame that you did not have a great experience with us. I am not sure what you mean about the rules changing - our policy is always payment in advance as often backpackers can walk out the door without paying! In terms of foreign staff, we have just had an... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This place was the first point of call once arriving in Cape Town. It was clean, tidy with all the facilitators you could need as a backpackers. Hot showers and great free wifi connection! All the staff were helpful in showing you around town and making you feel at home! The hostel is situated about 5-10mins walk from long street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Danhill111 Thanks for you review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of the free wi-fi! Regards Lisa More

Surat, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Had stayed 4 nights Last week just by reading reviews over here & booked Private double room. Room was very small or we can say just bed and door which was fine but u cannot ever make good sleep because whole night all the local people/staff ( not guest ) make party and create lots of noise which cannot able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Amarpatel Thank you for review. I am sorry that you found the room in the backpackers unsuitable but I am glad that our staff managed to find you another room one of our guest houses. Most of our guests in these houses find them perfectly acceptable and we don't have someone on site there permanently as there are only... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I stayed for one night, and the place was easy to reach, known to my cab driver from the airport. I booked online via the website, maybe two months in advance, and got a booking confirmation pretty soon. I arrived at around 730pm, and security is pretty tight - a guard will open the gate for you when you arrive.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

HI Pratik Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed the chicken wrap. Felicia in the kitchen will be well pleased. Regards Lisa More

Costa Mesa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I actually went in June & July 2005. It was one of the best experiences in a hostel I've ever had in my 10 years of hosteling. So much to say. The vibrant and social atmosphere. The deck with that beautiful view of table mountain. Comfortable beds. Located in a safe area. Friendly staff eager to help out (someone say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

WOW gorillasfan!! That was a long time ago that you stayed with us. You will find quite a few changes since then, but Bruno is still here working nights at reception :-) I don't think you will find it as noisy as before as we now close the bar earlier than we used to for that very reason. There is... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is an awesome hostel for the following reasons: - Close to long street, but not on long street - Cool bar, but closes by 12 so you can sleep (make sure you are drinking when the Irish guy is on the bar, will make a good night!) - Awesome buffet breakfast with a view and a half - and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hi Jonojo Thanks for your review. Nothing beats that mountain view with your breakfast does it ? Regards Lisa More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Ashanti & it was my first stop on a one month South Africa trip. The rooms were spotless, spacious & had lockers and digital safes. The bar was always inviting & good value. The staff are all great. The travel centre helped arrange my tours, even last minute bookings. I would have scored higher but some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review

Hello "Syl" Thanks so much for your review and your constructive criticism. We do have cleaners on duty from 7am until 9pm every day, but sometimes it is tricky staying on top of it when the lodge is really busy. The kitchen is being re-painted as we speak :-) Regards Lisa More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ashanti Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Address: 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Hotel Cape Town Central
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Cape Town, South Africa

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay