We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering

Certificate of Excellence
5 Camp Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    103
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
30
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for three nights at 5 Camp street Guesthouse, with our girl 6 year old and another family with a boy 6 years old. The house is very beautiful and in very good location, near the city center and under the table mountain. Recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfet location to explore the surroundings: short distance (10 mnts car) to Waterfront, Table Mountain cable car and Camps Bay! Accommodation in very spacious houses with veranda, fully equipped. Daily cleaning service included. Food and beverages from the nearby supermarket are provided before arrival, upon request. The staff is incredibly kind and their suggestions on where to go and how... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

Dear Jadran, It was lovely to have you here with us and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you all back again to beautiful Cape Town! Warmest wishes Emmy More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were extremely pleased with our accommodation at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse. The two bedrooms, both with ensuite, and the lounge, dining, and kitchen area were extremely spacious, plus we had a wonderful seating area on the verandah. It was furnished beautifully, and priced very reasonably. The location was very good with easy walking access to restaurants and supermarkets. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Smith, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again soon! More 

Biella, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Elegant,clean,comfortable,near shops,restaurants and The gardens.Every hose on the premises has its private entrance with a well equipped terrace where one can eat on sunny days and a deckchair.The house we we stayed was spacious with everything you need in a house.Internet was the only thing that really didn't work properly inside the house,at least not always but you were more... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

Dear Elisabetta, Thank you again so much for choosing 5 Camp Street as your home while visiting Cape Town. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you all back again ! More 

Sebastian, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in July. We were impressed with the very large 1 bdrm. Our first night we experienced load shedding and the owners mother quickly came to our unit with lanterns and candles. Very thoughtful. The kitchen was well equipped although we mostly dined at the many quaint restaurants in area. We had daily... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

Dear Rejan, It was lovely to have you here with us and very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to welcome you back to Cape Town in the future again! regards The 5 Camp street Team More 

Asgardstrand, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Warm welcome. Well done cleaning. Nice location close to several good reataurants. Some difficulties with contact by mail previous to our arrival. Good starting point for hikes to Table Mountain and nearby hillsides.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

Dear Elen, Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst visiting Cape Town, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found us central for all your daily activities. We hope to welcome you back again soon! More 

West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were delighted with our stay at 5 Camp Street. We stayed in room 5 which is a 2 bedroom. We felt like we were in a home. The staff always went above and beyond to help us with reservations, and to make our stay comfortable. Because of the location it was easy to get around if you don't rent... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

Dear Cindy, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to CPT. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Very helpful owners, daily serviced accommodation, huge tv screen with dstv, private braai facilities, lovely pool, relaxed atmosphere, littleshop on site with extras, excellent safety measures. Had an excellent stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

Dear Sanet, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found 5 Camp Street relaxing and enjoyable! We hope to welcome you back again soon! More 

UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

The apartment's location was FANTASTIC and safe. Close to everything. It was big, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and the cleaning staff did an AMAZING job. Nice self-serving cafe on site, nice private sitting area with braii. Also a pool. Also nice to have the basics such as salt, pepper, sugar, coffee... available in the kitchen. Reception staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

Thank you again for choosing 5 Camp Street whilst visiting Cape Town. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! Thank you for the recommendations - these will be looked into ASAP! More 

Sauerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

The house was large and beautifully furnished. It was spotlessly clean and very well mentained. It lies conveniently for Kloof Street and Long Street. The manager is very friendly and helpful. You even have a view of Table Mountain from the premises.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WillemG, Manager at 5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-catering, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our offering pleasing! We hope to welcome you back again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Welgelegen
#6 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Camps Bay Resort
#13 of 26 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay