We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sweet Olive Guesthouse

9 Oldfield Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    16
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
26
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Weil am Rhein, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

First time in South Africa First nights in South Africa Warm welcome Lekker breakfast It felt like living in a small family Many greetings to Francois and Cecilia and Sandra and Britney and Timba. Thank you Special thanks to Timba for helping changing the wheel of our car.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Admin Clerk at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Christa W, We thank you for your review and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your 1st visit to Cape Town and we will definitely pass on your greetings to our staff, which is very motivating for them. Kind regards, Moreblessing More 

Elizabethtown, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

During our trip to South Africa this was our only disappointment. The Room and Building are nicely decorated. The room we had was a little cramped but certainly clean and had a nice bathroom. The pool is just as pretty as the pictures show but don't expect to do anything other than cool off. Because of it's size it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Night Porter at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Day Jcarm270, I (Moses) apologies sincerely for all the mistakes I have done during your check in as well as all the inconvenience I have caused with it. It is not like this was my first late check-in. I am terribly sorry and cannot explain, why I failed so badly that particular night. Yours sincerely, Moses Madziire from Sweetest... More 

Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Our stay at Sweet Olive Guesthouse was very good with amazing breakfast, a very modern, stylish and clean room as well as good service in a lovely neighborhood. The place was very relaxed and comfortable and staff were friendly, so I'd definitely recommend it. However, a few things might be disturbing depending on what you're looking for: - WiFi has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Admin Clerk at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Mattkobi, We thank you for your review and personal comments, every review is very valuable to us and we appreciate your effort to place yours here on Tripadvisor.com. We would like to take the opportunity to reply to your comments in order to bring some light to it for better understanding. Due to our competitive/low room rates we do... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This place was a real bait-and-switch we booked and paid for the Sweet Olive online before arriving in Cape Town. When we got there, it was as cute as pictured, but we were told that we would be staying somewhere else, because they were full. They put us in one of a chain of guest houses owned by the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Admin Clerk at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

We thank T H for the review and comments and would like to comments on his comments and view of “ridiculously” inflated prices, etc. Mr. T H booked via a Travel Agent in his home country and therefore booked under the terms & conditions of the Travel Agent, which does not mean that we get the money immediately from the... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

It was a wonderful stay at Sweet Olive Guesthouse respectively the little hide away up the hill. Very nice big room, a small private terrace, a huge bath room (as no doors, best for single traveller).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Day Bettina B, Your review and comments are appreciated and we thank you for your time to place this review for future travellers. Kind regards, Bridget for Sweetest Guesthouses More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

I loved the decor of this hotel, super stylish and quirky. It was quiet, relaxing and comfortable, and the staff were friendly. Nice location also, within walking distance to the ocean and main road in Sea Point. However there are a few things that could be improved, considering the high price of the room. The breakfast was slightly expensive, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear AndyMac57, Our staff would like to Thank you for your review as well as for your comments and remarks during your stay at Sweet Olive Guesthouse. We apologize for the inconvennience that the pool as not usuable during as we had a leakage and needed to discover were the leakage was located. Once we discovered the source we had... More 

Memmingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

A wonderful place affectionate furnished with a perfect breakfast and very friendly staff. I liked especially the big table, where all guests were having breakfast together, whicht is a good chance to get in contact with others. The only thing to I have admit is, that from my point of view it is not appropriate to charge an extra daily... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear 809annettes, Our team thanks you for reviewing our Sweet Olive Guesthouse here on Tripadvisor.com as well as adding comments about your stay. The entire team appreciates your review and we wish you a merry Christmas and all the best for the New Year. Kind regards, Maggie & Stefan and staff of Sweetest Guesthouses More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Quaint guesthouse in tge heart of Sea Point. Location is close to restaurants main road and bus route. The friendly helpful staff were helpful and gave great insight as to which restaurants to go to. A great experience highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Public Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Woodentigger, Thank you for taking some time to write this great review about your stay with us. Our Staff is always pleased to share some insider tips with you. We don’t want you to feel like a “normal” tourist, we want you to feel like at home. We are happy to hear that guests like the great surroundings of... More 

Galway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

This guest house is located close to prom and within easy walking distance of good restaurants and close to bus stops for Waterfront and city Centre. Service was friendly and efficient and breakfast was totesamazeballs!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Clybaun, We thank you for your valuable time to write this great review about your stay with us at Sweet Olive Guesthouse. We are glad to hear that you really loved our breakfast and enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in Cape Town. Sunny greeting to Galway, Ireland! Laura And the... More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

When in Cape Town, you would do well to book one of the fantastic rooms at Sweetest Guesthouses. Each one is different, with a real character of their own. One thing in common is the service and cleanliness.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear AdelaideS…, We are really pleased about your nice review and thank you for taking time to write it. It is great to hear that you liked our personally designed and individually furnished rooms. The compliment about our service and the cleanliness motivates our entire team in doing a good job. We hope to welcome you again soon and send... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sweet Orange Guest House
Sweet Orange Guest House
#83 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#16 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Break...
#77 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
#72 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay