We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 149 Cape Town Central B&Bs / inns

Sweet Olive Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 Oldfield Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sweet Olive Guesthouse to your Saves list
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #70 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Alexander S Nitra, Slovakia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (36)
  • Photos (19)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nitra, Slovakia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel style, position close to ocean, good restaurants, shops and not far from the main places of interests, extremally nice and friendly staff, good breakfast are the advantages of this hotel, which I am happy to recomment to other travellers. The thin wolls, absence of heating in the Winter, payed WiFi and the absence of permanent reception can not... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We absolutely loved this place! The breakfast is awesome and the staff more than friendly! On top of that the rooms are so sweet and individual. You get the best value for money on whole Cape Town (we went to a backpackers after 4 nights, which was definitely a mistake to leave super-sweet olive!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear TeenageIcon Thank you very much for your lovely Feedback on TripAdvisor. It is great that you really enjoyed your time in Sweet Olive Guesthouse. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back at Sweetest Guesthouses. Kind regards Yvonne and the Sweetest Guesthouse Team More

Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Centrally located in Sea Point close to several good restaurants including La Boheme and Mykonos, with quite outstanding breakfasts provided. But the owner was a bit grumpy and he has has four "sweetest" restaurants to look after within a 1 mile radius. They are unmanned for most of the day so you have to have your key with you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear bryan t, We appreciate you valuable time to review Sweet Olive Guesthouse. Your comment that our guesthouses are unmanned surprises us. At all our guesthouses we have at least 1 staff member present, our night shift starts at 17h00 and from than onwards 2 staff members are in charge for 4 properties. 1 senior person is in charge of... More

Oak Brook, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I've been staying at Sweet Olive Guest house for many years now before they took over it in fact. Since taking over the guest house they have made many improvements to the property. The rooms are quiet and very comfortable and the location is great to walk to the many places to eat and shop in Sea Point. I've never... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Phillip B, Here as well we would like to express thankfulness to Phillip B, that he spent his valuable time to review 2 of our places. We thank you as well for your honesty of not placing reviews for Sweet Olive Guesthouse, as you always staying with us during our peak season since years. It is true, that it... More

Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at the Sweet Olive for 3 nights in Dec 2013. It was our first visit to Cape Town and we didn't know all the areas, but were pleased with our choice of Seapoint and this hotel. There are plenty of decent places to eat within short walking distance (we ate at La Boheme and the Duchess of Wisbech, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Headington_Boy Thank you very much for your time to write this review which is very valuable to us. We are very glad to hear that you are happy about your choice to stay at Sweet Olive Guesthouse. Our rooms as well as our entire Guesthouse are individually decorated with a touch of Africa, it is always nice to hear... More

Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Lovely guest house conveniently located in a beachside suburb of Cape Town. The rooms are spacious and modern, with a beautiful breakfast area outside in the sun. Friendly communal dining area. Staff are very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sheikhariss We thank you very much for spending your time to write this valuable report. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Sweet Olive Guesthouse and that you liked the room as well as our breakfast. We are also glad to hear that you appreciated our friendliness. It would be a pleasure to... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I've been staying one of Sweetest Guesthouses regularly for the past 6 years. I keep coming back because staying here is like staying at home - if not better! Thank you to the caring guesthouse managers!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

We Thank ‘Chiara F’ for the effort to place the review, and we are happy to hear that you always have a good time staying with us at Sweet Olive Guesthouse. Your review is really valuable for us and we are looking forward welcoming you at the Sweetest Guesthouses soon again. Kind Regards Olivia and the entire team of Sweetest... More

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great atmosfere, quite place. Really nice furniture and facility. Excellent services provided by hotel´s employees. Hotel staff is able to do great recommendation in terms of restaurants, places to see etc. Good access to all Cape Town important places. Only one area for improvement: Stability and performance of WiFi in all hotel´s places.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Student at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Karel B. Our employees are pleased about your personal comment regarding their service performance. At our guesthouses we provide the biggest Bandwidth RSA provides, which in comparison to Europe is unfortunately not as strong. Especially at times, when multiple user are accessing the Internet. We are aware of this issue and do have plans in the loop for the... More

Roermond , Nederland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We find this a happy place to be. Nice african colours and a welcome atmosphere. The owner was friendly.The location was in a quiet area of Cape Town. Our room was wonderfull. The room was made with natural materials. We liked that!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SweetestGuesthouses, Student at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Connie, All our houses are individually decorated with a touch of Africa, its always nice to hear that people notice it and like it. We try to create a home away from home with a nice and easy going atmosphere. All our guesthouses are located in the centre of Sea Point, a lot of good restaurants are located in... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised. Everything was very modern art styled. Breakfast simple but everything in short very good. We had a very nice time and would like to come. GREETINGS at Therry und the rest

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaggieF8005, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Olive Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Dockultur, We thank you for your valuable time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Cape Town with us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Sweetest Guesthouses. Thank you again for your comment they are very valuable to us. Kind Regards Alexandra and the Team of Sweetest... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sweet Olive Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sweet Olive Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Olive Guesthouse

Address: 9 Oldfield Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Olive Guesthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sweet Olive Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Olive Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

See which rooms travelers prefer