We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge

21 Breda Street | Gardens/Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
5
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

My stay at the mountain manor was very entertaining never a dull moment:) I have to say this is a beautiful old house with a homely feeling and the staff really make you feel welcome and at home . The location of this lovely old Manor could not be more perfect, close to shopping mall and transportation and jet nestle... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely positive review. We're glad that we entertained you and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Michelle More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I would like to thank you for your hospitality. There was this guy called Isack he was very helpfull and kind. He knows how to treat clients. Your pleace its also clean, neat and quiet. There was always hot water. Keep it up Thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review - we are trying very hard to please everyone, which believe me is difficult. We brag about our mattresses and hot water and now we have a new kitchen as well - so we look forward to your return visit. Kind regards More 

tampa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

First off, I arrived at the GuestHouse where I thought I had a reservation. Apparently they have two properties - a guest house which is supposedly very nice and a Backpackers Lodge which isn't. My tour operator called a few days prior and asked them to email me a quote for a private room with an en suite. I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you feel the need to blame us for your agents mess-up. I corresponded only via email with your agent and the Back Packers is what they ordered for you. You were offered an upgrade to the Guest House with private en-suite rooms but you didn't want to pay the balance so I am saddened by your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We were on a tour in the Cape with 7 different destination to sleep. This was the poorest or l could say the only poor of all. The common areas such as the garden and the swimming pool, kitchen is very nice. The problem was with the room. The quality of the room is under standard. It was very old,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mam Thank you for your feedback, but I wish that you had given it to me at the time of your stay.. There is no excuse for dirt/dust of any kind nor ANY broken items in the house. I have a full time maintenance man to avoid this and fix up anything that gets broken immediately. I am sorry... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The sleeper couch was broken, had to use mattress on floor. Found gum stuck to bedside table. Had extension cables running across lounge floor to supply power to TV, which did not work. Second bedroom window opened out next to the staff toilet. Road outside reception stank of dead rat. However, unit fully kitted out and close to all tourist... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - We did experience a horrible time over this peak when the power burnt out and no-one electricians were available at such notice so we apologize for the leads - but this was the only way to get your TV up and working for you. I am sorry that you did not report all of... More 

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I was disappointed and I would not recommend it. It is expensive for what you get. I did not feel welcome. There was not much space. As soon as I checked in I wanted to check out and I felt lucky I spent only one night there and not more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

I am not sure what you expected for R 148-00 a night. If it is peak season then rooms do get full, but that is the nature of a Back Packers. Close sharing by all. We hope you have a better experience next time. warmest regards More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

If you want to get robbed at your own hostel during day time without getting neither help from the staff that doesnt know what they are doing anyways..nor from the arrogant owner michelle..you should go there..otherwise stay away by any means possible. The owner is the most arrogant woman ive met in my life...she couldn't care less about me being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mam There are notices up at reception - there are security baskets under your bed - NO-ONE leaves valuables lying around in a hostel environment - they should be locked away. We have security cameras all over the house and tight security at our front gate - I am not sure who you are accusing of stealing what -... More 

Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We (10 of us) walked the "Tour du Mont Table" around Table mountain, 4 days 88 km. We stayed over in 4 Backpackers along the way. Cape Town, Hout Bay, Muizenberg and Claremont. Mountain Manor Backpackers was a disappointment. The service when we checked in was terrible, and I paid in full via EFT days before and got the confirmation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your stay was frought by poor reception staff. We have really battled to find good, honest and friendly staff. If you know of anyone to recommend, we would greatly appreciate a recommendation. You guys did a fantastic journey and we congratulate you on this achievement. Warmest regards Michelle More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I would like to recommend when you next want to stay in Cape Town that you consider staying at Mountain Manor Backpackers or Manor in Gardens Cape Town. Nice friendly staff and a decent nights sleep to be had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review - we're especially proud of our very good mattresses so your good nights rest is worth it!! We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Michelle More 

Tampere, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First thing that comes to mind about our stay in the backpackers lodge is the great host we had. He helped us a lot by telling how to survive in the night of Cape Town. He took really good care of us and we feel grateful. The rooms were as you would expect with this price. I really liked the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review and we are glad that you had a good experience at Mountain Manor Back Packers Lodge and survived the Cape Town nightlife!! warm regards Michelle More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay