We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   22 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added 22 On Rose to your Saves list
22 On Rose
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #118 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014
Riekeweel Kigali, Rwanda
  • Reviews (13)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very disappointing choice because of these reasons: a) the whole house feels claustrophobic and there is practically no natural light (I had booked a different room that I was given) b) self service breakfast is very poor, items are of discount store quality c) never met the famed owner Bruce whom I could contact via email I was told!!! d)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were not happy with your accommodation. I think you are expressing your own personal feelings as no one has ever found our guesthouse claustrophobic. Our breakfast buffet is certainly not of discount quality but it is self-serve which most guests don't mind. Bruce, the famed owner, is now semi-retired because of his age (64) and... More

Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

22 on rose is part of the Rose Lodge, run by Bruce and his staff. Bruce was incredibly helpful when we couldn't find our driver upon arrival at the airport and staff-member Andrew did an incredible job making us feel welcome and providing all the needed info to make our stay successful. Rooms are ok-sized, beds comfortable and oh how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us :) Kind regards, Bruce More

Pretoria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are looking for a good place to stay in the Bo-Kaap, 22 On Rose would be a good option; The room in which I stayed for the night had a large outside deck, on two different levels, complete with lounge chairs - A great way to watch the city come to life (or go to sleep!). You will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Regards, Bruce More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose 22 on Rose due to it's close proximity to the Waterfront (about 20 minute walk). However, be aware that Rose Street is in a less afluent area of Cape Town and therefore expect unemployed people loitering or just a little further on homeless people setting up camp. It's also in a muslim area so at 5.30am the local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a full week's holiday in Cape Town, and stayed at 22 on Rose. It's always an interesting experience when trying to choose from the places on offer - will it live up to expectations, will it be in a good location, will the other guests be interesting? In the end you just try to determine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The set-up of '22 On Rose' is a bit unusual (starting with the unusual name!). Its actually a row of adjacent houses/cottages, each cottage having 3-4 rooms, with a common dining, which has basic cooking/catering amenities, which include - microwave, fridge, egg-boiler, electric kettle, dishes and crockery, glasses (even wine glasses), etc. So basically when you check in, you get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights. It is a very cosy room, clean and comfortable, 4 minutes walking distance from the city center. You have a small dining room in the same floor, shared with other 2 rooms. It is very convenient if you want to have dinner at the room, since you have basic kitchen facilities and plates, glasses, etc.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amman, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Fantastic hospitality from Bruce! 22 on Rose was the perfect headquarters for my Cape Argus weekend and the self-serve breakfast provided the perfect fuel for the day. I love the Bo Kaap neighbourhood of colourful houses; although the call to prayers may affect light sleepers. Within easy walking distance to a number of restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Great value for money in Cape Town !! I will definitely go back there !! Fab location in one of the greatest neighbourhood in Cape Town, good rooms (try to get the one with the terrasse) and Bruce knows how to make you feel welcome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage 22 On Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to 22 On Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 On Rose

Address: 22 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 22 On Rose 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your 22 On Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
22 On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
22 on Rose is located in Rose Street, Bo-Kaap opposite Rouge on Rose in the colourful historic Malay Quarter of Cape Town in Bo-Kaap. It is only a five minute walk to the downtown area and the fashionable and trendy De Waterkant Village, and a short walking distance from the popular Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and CTICC. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
2

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer