We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

22 On Rose

22 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
22 On Rose
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
22 On Rose
22 On Rose
22 On Rose
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I had an ok stay here. I was really insistent on staying here due to the location despite my friend's reluctance. I will say that the location here is outstanding and is walkable from a lot of good points throughout Cape Town's City Center. PROS: -Great and convenient location. It was in Bo Kaap within walking distance of Cape Town's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our guesthouse. You have given us food for thought which is always helpful. Kind regards, Edward, Daniel & Bruce More 

Helena, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently on vacation to South Africa. Upon arrival we were greeted with a clean, neat and well appointed efficiency accommodation. This location is in the Bo Kaap area and is convenient to downtown and the magnificent waterfront area. This location is very secure but take normal precautions for your personal safety and security while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review of our guesthouse. We are always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

First the "cons": the check-in process was painful. I stood outside of Rose Lodge for 10 minutes ringing the bell before knocking on the window. I asked the staff why they didn't answer the bell and they concluded that I didn't ring it. I think I know how to press a button. Aside from that, the wi-fi did not work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Firstly let me apologize if your check-in did not go as smoothly as it should have. This is certainly not a regular occurrence at our B&B and as it was not brought to my attention at the time I do not know exactly what happened. I'm sure you know how to ring a bell and my staff meant no offense... More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very disappointing choice because of these reasons: a) the whole house feels claustrophobic and there is practically no natural light (I had booked a different room that I was given) b) self service breakfast is very poor, items are of discount store quality c) never met the famed owner Bruce whom I could contact via email I was told!!! d)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were not happy with your accommodation. I think you are expressing your own personal feelings as no one has ever found our guesthouse claustrophobic. Our breakfast buffet is certainly not of discount quality but it is self-serve which most guests don't mind. Bruce, the famed owner, is now semi-retired because of his age (64) and... More 

Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

22 on rose is part of the Rose Lodge, run by Bruce and his staff. Bruce was incredibly helpful when we couldn't find our driver upon arrival at the airport and staff-member Andrew did an incredible job making us feel welcome and providing all the needed info to make our stay successful. Rooms are ok-sized, beds comfortable and oh how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us :) Kind regards, Bruce More 

Pretoria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are looking for a good place to stay in the Bo-Kaap, 22 On Rose would be a good option; The room in which I stayed for the night had a large outside deck, on two different levels, complete with lounge chairs - A great way to watch the city come to life (or go to sleep!). You will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Regards, Bruce More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose 22 on Rose due to it's close proximity to the Waterfront (about 20 minute walk). However, be aware that Rose Street is in a less afluent area of Cape Town and therefore expect unemployed people loitering or just a little further on homeless people setting up camp. It's also in a muslim area so at 5.30am the local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a full week's holiday in Cape Town, and stayed at 22 on Rose. It's always an interesting experience when trying to choose from the places on offer - will it live up to expectations, will it be in a good location, will the other guests be interesting? In the end you just try to determine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The set-up of '22 On Rose' is a bit unusual (starting with the unusual name!). Its actually a row of adjacent houses/cottages, each cottage having 3-4 rooms, with a common dining, which has basic cooking/catering amenities, which include - microwave, fridge, egg-boiler, electric kettle, dishes and crockery, glasses (even wine glasses), etc. So basically when you check in, you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights. It is a very cosy room, clean and comfortable, 4 minutes walking distance from the city center. You have a small dining room in the same floor, shared with other 2 rooms. It is very convenient if you want to have dinner at the room, since you have basic kitchen facilities and plates, glasses, etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Upperbloem
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#80 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#74 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#62 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#16 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay