We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

22 On Rose

3.0 of 5 22 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
22 On Rose
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
22 On Rose
22 On Rose
22 On Rose
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had an ok stay here. I was really insistent on staying here due to the location despite my friend's reluctance. I will say that the location here is outstanding and is walkable from a lot of good points throughout Cape Town's City Center. PROS: -Great and convenient location. It was in Bo Kaap within walking distance of Cape Town's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our guesthouse. You have given us food for thought which is always helpful. Kind regards, Edward, Daniel & Bruce More 

Helena, Alabama, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here recently on vacation to South Africa. Upon arrival we were greeted with a clean, neat and well appointed efficiency accommodation. This location is in the Bo Kaap area and is convenient to downtown and the magnificent waterfront area. This location is very secure but take normal precautions for your personal safety and security while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review of our guesthouse. We are always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Kind regards, Bruce More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

First the "cons": the check-in process was painful. I stood outside of Rose Lodge for 10 minutes ringing the bell before knocking on the window. I asked the staff why they didn't answer the bell and they concluded that I didn't ring it. I think I know how to press a button. Aside from that, the wi-fi did not work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Firstly let me apologize if your check-in did not go as smoothly as it should have. This is certainly not a regular occurrence at our B&B and as it was not brought to my attention at the time I do not know exactly what happened. I'm sure you know how to ring a bell and my staff meant no offense... More 

Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very disappointing choice because of these reasons: a) the whole house feels claustrophobic and there is practically no natural light (I had booked a different room that I was given) b) self service breakfast is very poor, items are of discount store quality c) never met the famed owner Bruce whom I could contact via email I was told!!! d)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were not happy with your accommodation. I think you are expressing your own personal feelings as no one has ever found our guesthouse claustrophobic. Our breakfast buffet is certainly not of discount quality but it is self-serve which most guests don't mind. Bruce, the famed owner, is now semi-retired because of his age (64) and... More 

Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

22 on rose is part of the Rose Lodge, run by Bruce and his staff. Bruce was incredibly helpful when we couldn't find our driver upon arrival at the airport and staff-member Andrew did an incredible job making us feel welcome and providing all the needed info to make our stay successful. Rooms are ok-sized, beds comfortable and oh how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us :) Kind regards, Bruce More 

Pretoria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are looking for a good place to stay in the Bo-Kaap, 22 On Rose would be a good option; The room in which I stayed for the night had a large outside deck, on two different levels, complete with lounge chairs - A great way to watch the city come to life (or go to sleep!). You will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Regards, Bruce More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose 22 on Rose due to it's close proximity to the Waterfront (about 20 minute walk). However, be aware that Rose Street is in a less afluent area of Cape Town and therefore expect unemployed people loitering or just a little further on homeless people setting up camp. It's also in a muslim area so at 5.30am the local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a full week's holiday in Cape Town, and stayed at 22 on Rose. It's always an interesting experience when trying to choose from the places on offer - will it live up to expectations, will it be in a good location, will the other guests be interesting? In the end you just try to determine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The set-up of '22 On Rose' is a bit unusual (starting with the unusual name!). Its actually a row of adjacent houses/cottages, each cottage having 3-4 rooms, with a common dining, which has basic cooking/catering amenities, which include - microwave, fridge, egg-boiler, electric kettle, dishes and crockery, glasses (even wine glasses), etc. So basically when you check in, you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights. It is a very cosy room, clean and comfortable, 4 minutes walking distance from the city center. You have a small dining room in the same floor, shared with other 2 rooms. It is very convenient if you want to have dinner at the room, since you have basic kitchen facilities and plates, glasses, etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to 22 On Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 On Rose

Address: 22 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 22 On Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your 22 On Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
22 On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay