We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taj Cape Town

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Special Offer
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Taj Cape Town
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Taj, as part of our Blue train package and it was a beautiful way to start the experience. Our room was very luxurious, with a partial view of Table Top Mountain and the bed has to be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, in any hotel in the world. They even offer a... More 

Helpful?
Thank julesfinnis66
Bristol, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A luxury hotel with some of the friendliest staff you will ever meet. Great food, service and the rooms make you feel like you are in a classic movie. Staff are helpful and also enjoy a chat and a joke. The central location of the hotel makes it easy to get everywhere in Cape Town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently visited for four nights on business. Good points: The hotel is clean and the staff attentive. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast is included and was of high quality and had plenty of selections. Drawbacks: I was on the seventh floor facing Table Mountain but my view was obstructed by a facade. The hotel claims to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First I was afraid that there be too much indian influence in the hotel, there wasn't. Apart from an indian section in the buffet, nothing. Hotel room was fabulous. with a view of table mountain and of the city rooftops. Service was fantastic. Concierge was very helpful, breakfast staff was mostly ok, but most importantly was their freebies: You know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fadi68
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Service at the Taj was fantastic. My family and I were pampered and very well treated throughout the 3-day stay. Highly recommended hotel at the heart of Cape Town CBD. You can get to most attractions in 10-15mins drive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Khalid D
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Khalid Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is certainly gratifying to know that our team have met the expectations of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you Taj Cape Town in the near future. Kind regards Michael Pownall General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went here in last week for 8 night/9 day stay at Taj Cape Town hotel and what a amazing time we had! Every single member of staff was delightful; they were polite, courteous and bent over backwards to ensure we were happy. The hotel was very very clean, looks brand new; housekeepers were out cleaning the hotel daily. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tare U
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will most certainly share this with the team. You can be assured that Caroline and Xolani will be recognised for their good hospitality in our monthly STARS award programme. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future. Kind regards... More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this property on my honeymoon in December 2015. Firstly, the location was great and it was easy to get to most of the city attractions and restaurants. We stayed in this property because of the Taj brand name and having stayed at different Taj properties around India. Overall our experience was not up to the standards of... More 

Helpful?
Thank pranavh87
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are truly sorry that we were not able to meet our Taj Standards, on this rare occasion. We have also read with concern the issue around the charge of $200 and would urgently request you contact my office in order to investigate this issue. Whilst we... More 

Crewe
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For the price of the Taj (more than the 12 Apostles) I was disappointed. Rooms nicely appointed and clean - in central Cape Town but frankly could have been anywhere. Good for business travel but wouldn't recommend for holiday makers. Breakfast average / surroundings pretty disappointing and not what I expect from South African hospitality or hotels. In short nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank DiscerningLadyCrewe
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are truly sorry that we have failed to deliver on the Taj Standards. Whilst my apology may not restore you faith in our offering I would welcome the opportunity to invite you back. When planning your next trip to Cape Town, please contact my... More 

Zurich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived too early for check in (it was 10 am) but were definitely promised a room at noon. Noon came and went and at 2.30 pm that was it for me. I pointed out that two full bus loads of guests had arrived and were all checked in and what a good thing it was that there was Trip... More 

Helpful?
Thank valuvalu
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are truly sorry that you had a long wait before you were roomed. Regrettably during this peak period the turn around time on the rooms are dependent on guests departure times, and sometimes leave a very short turnaround and inspection time. We are pleased... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is gorgeous and staff were all extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel. Nothing bad to say. Staff all remembered our names and extremely friendly. Rooms were very clean and the hotel was beautiful. Great location with delicious food.

Helpful?
Thank Fatima E
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Fatima E Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. You can be sure that we will share it with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael Pownall General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

556 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (396)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#20 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#24 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#33 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 105 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#31 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay