We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Train Lodge

Monument Station, Old Marine Dr, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
African Train Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014
elizej2014 Amamzimtoti kzn
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

These accommodations were okay - bed was livable and a lock on the door. Room was EXTREMELY hot in the room during midday, but the worst part was there was no doorbell - a number of guests including us got locked out after 11pm and had to bang on the door for 5 minutes to be let in by the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amamzimtoti kzn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Thanks to all staff of the Lodge service excellent friendly and alway heplfull. The most kind and warmest welcome we had. It felt like home.the food was excellent thanks you all. Will see you next year again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

i had a great stay,friendly helpful and caring service and most important I felt safe,all staff members from front office to housekeeping very good,the best burgers and chips and salad in town,there is a bit of a dust problem in rooms and passage and bathroom and toilet facilities needs regular service and maintence.eugene

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Eugene Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review! We are very happy that your review is so positive. Thank you also for pointing out that we should pay more attention to maintaining our lodge in a pristine condition, we have passed your feedback through to our team, and we will ensure we use this... More 

Oshakati, Namibia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

In July 2014 two members of our family stayed for a night at the Train Lodge. This was the 3rd time we could make use of their very friendly and efficient service and the great location. No luxury hotel, but best value for money! Great staff! Will recommend it anytime!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mark Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are a repeat visitor. Thank you also for your great feedback on our staff, they are a great team!! We look forward to seeing you again More 

bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I'll start this by saying I've stayed at some horrific places before, including a room in India where the "mattress" was a large bag filled with sawdust & 2x4 pieces. So I do not say this lightly, train lodge is hands down the worst place I've ever stayed. The logo for train lodge says established 1999. And while I do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you very much for taking the post to post a review. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for the negative experience you had while staying with us. Although some time has passed since you posted this review, I still wanted to respond to assure you that in the time since you have stayed... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Private twin room looked & felt like a prison cell. Lots of undesirable people staying / lurking around!! Check out the photo's.. Are you really prepared to sleep on a pillow like that?! Window to the room didn't fully close which resulted in 31 mosquito bites for me alone!!! Wouldn't recommend for anyone but def not a female. Member of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you very much for posting a revue, and I apologise that it has taken a while to respond. We are very grateful for your feedback, and I can assure we have used this information to improve both our quality of product and as well as our service standards. Thanks again for taking the time post a revue. More 

Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Perhaps the cheapest single in Cape Town. That is what you will get there. Rooms are clean though small as they are the compartments of the old train cars. On the other hand the common bathrooms were rather dirty. Conveniently located for walking around the town but I was told it was not safe around the hotel at night. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation in the carriages. We have used this feedback to ensure that we have good maintenance and cleaning programmes in place and our bathrooms are now much improved. With regards to safety, we have very good security at the Lodge, and in addition in... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Good value and nicely unusual. Only downside was the very small rooms

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a revue. We are very pleased to hear that you found the lodge good value. More 

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Me & my partner decided to stay in African Train Lodge due to its proximity from the Civic Centre (where you can get a shuttle bus to the airport for 53 Rand, one way) and its cheap rates. The lodge is just a 6-minute walk from Civic Centre, and is located by the rail lines from Cape Town's main train... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you very much for posting a your revue we are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable More 

South Coast, Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

African Train Lodge does what it says on the tin! If you are looking for accommodation at the backpacker end of the price range this is for you. Reclaimed Rhodesian Railways carriages are parked up at the old Monument Station (which is adjacent to the main Cape Town station) and have been converted into dorms and single/double rooms. No en-suites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your revue, hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question