We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Train Lodge

Monument Station, Old Marine Dr, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
African Train Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015
cathypriceza Western Cape, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The photos are not a true picture of the place. The material on all the chairs are broken. The windows don't close so its freezing cold at night. No mirrors in the rooms, no towels or soap. The ablutions are outside. No locks on the lady's toilets, so not safe for a woman on her own. There are feral cats... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Pictures on website do not reflect the actual place, they must have been taken on the day the lodge opened. Communal bathrooms, rooms with holes in the walls, so small , checked in at front desk and once we were taken to look around and at the room, we decided not to stay and left,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi THere Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am really sorry sorry that you didn't feel that Train Lodge was worth staying. I o understand your comments regarding the rooms being small, as the accommodation is in train carriages, where space is limited to the design of the coach. As to the maintenance... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Very helpful staff who make you feel at home. If you are wanting something different to the normal holiday accommodation, reasonably priced and not too fussy about sharing a bathroom, then you must try it out. When on holiday and you can save on accommodation and use the money for tours etc. a thought to be kept when next holidaying... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

These accommodations were okay - bed was livable and a lock on the door. Room was EXTREMELY hot in the room during midday, but the worst part was there was no doorbell - a number of guests including us got locked out after 11pm and had to bang on the door for 5 minutes to be let in by the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amamzimtoti kzn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Thanks to all staff of the Lodge service excellent friendly and alway heplfull. The most kind and warmest welcome we had. It felt like home.the food was excellent thanks you all. Will see you next year again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

i had a great stay,friendly helpful and caring service and most important I felt safe,all staff members from front office to housekeeping very good,the best burgers and chips and salad in town,there is a bit of a dust problem in rooms and passage and bathroom and toilet facilities needs regular service and maintence.eugene

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Eugene Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review! We are very happy that your review is so positive. Thank you also for pointing out that we should pay more attention to maintaining our lodge in a pristine condition, we have passed your feedback through to our team, and we will ensure we use this... More 

Oshakati, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

In July 2014 two members of our family stayed for a night at the Train Lodge. This was the 3rd time we could make use of their very friendly and efficient service and the great location. No luxury hotel, but best value for money! Great staff! Will recommend it anytime!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mark Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are a repeat visitor. Thank you also for your great feedback on our staff, they are a great team!! We look forward to seeing you again More 

bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I'll start this by saying I've stayed at some horrific places before, including a room in India where the "mattress" was a large bag filled with sawdust & 2x4 pieces. So I do not say this lightly, train lodge is hands down the worst place I've ever stayed. The logo for train lodge says established 1999. And while I do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you very much for taking the post to post a review. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for the negative experience you had while staying with us. Although some time has passed since you posted this review, I still wanted to respond to assure you that in the time since you have stayed... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Private twin room looked & felt like a prison cell. Lots of undesirable people staying / lurking around!! Check out the photo's.. Are you really prepared to sleep on a pillow like that?! Window to the room didn't fully close which resulted in 31 mosquito bites for me alone!!! Wouldn't recommend for anyone but def not a female. Member of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you very much for posting a revue, and I apologise that it has taken a while to respond. We are very grateful for your feedback, and I can assure we have used this information to improve both our quality of product and as well as our service standards. Thanks again for taking the time post a revue. More 

Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Perhaps the cheapest single in Cape Town. That is what you will get there. Rooms are clean though small as they are the compartments of the old train cars. On the other hand the common bathrooms were rather dirty. Conveniently located for walking around the town but I was told it was not safe around the hotel at night. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve312659, Director of Sales at African Train Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation in the carriages. We have used this feedback to ensure that we have good maintenance and cleaning programmes in place and our bathrooms are now much improved. With regards to safety, we have very good security at the Lodge, and in addition in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay