We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The One 8 Hotel

4.0 of 5 18 Antrim Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The One 8 Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The One 8 Hotel
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
76
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
England, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our second visit and we love the place.The pool area is immaculate...real Home and Garden.The en-suite would benefit from a re-grout to bring it back to 5 star, and this is being picky. In all other respects the One8 is spot on. Great breakfasts and the most friendly and helpful staff you could wish for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were really looking forward to our stay, and when we arrived our rooms were not ready so we chilled at the pool area, the receptionist was very helpful. Unfortunately once we got our rooms, we realised how desperate the hotel was for a refurbishment, asking guests to pay the price when you first opened, where your rooms are looking... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your 1 night stay. We are sorry your expectations were not met, however you did arrive early in peak season before the standard check in time, the hotel was full but nevertheless you were checked in by the published time. This hotel opened 5 years ago and we pride ourselves on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely little boutique hotel. Great location, close to the Waterfront, 5 mins by taxi. Donald and the rest of the staff are warm and friendly and cant do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. The room was modern, spacious and very clean with a lovely, large bathroom and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and give positive feedback. This really means the world to everyone here and we're delighlighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope we do indeed welcome you again. More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are friendly,helpful,professional & give wonderful service. We felt like we were part of the family.I'm looking forward to returning soon. Thank you David,Tendai,Megan & all the others! Highly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you from all of here for the wonderful review you have given us. We try to provide a great service so it's lovely to hear such praise, all the staff will be really pleased. We do hope to see you again. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the One 8. The service was very good. The only problem w encountered was that the rooms were only cleaned very late. The breakfasts were lovely, service very friendly. The pool area was lovely and we enjoyed our swims in the slightly heated pool. The bar service was very expensive. make sure you book... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate the feedback. We were concerned about your comment of bar prices as we benchmark all the prices below the local hotel average but we will double check again as this is the first time this has ever been raised. Rooms are serviced between 11h00 and... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay at this boutique hotel, within walking distance to V&A Waterfront and close to public transport. Staff very helpful and pleasant.. Rooms very nice with adequate space and outdoor balcony. Back from the main road so nice and peaceful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to all the staff. More 

Dreieich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Very friendly staff, nice clean room, very silent, good breakfast. Unfortunately the location offers no views. Save parking is highly appreciated, but with a big car the entrance is a (manageable) challenge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Donald is a very friendly guy @the reception to assist. Close to waterfront and to clifton bay. Rooms have a high ceiling which is very nice and are pretty spacious. Breakfast was very good. Entire hotel is nicly decorated and you feel very welcome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed at The One 8 hotel for 3 nights and loved it. Comfy beds and excellent breakfast. The staff was very helpful. The pool was a nice option to cool off in after exploring Cape Town. I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Good parking lot, good sleep quality, few rooms so no noise from other guests. Good breakfast even if no so early in the morning. Minus: no lift. Must use car to go to restaurants but they are not far: 10 minutes drive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The One 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One 8 Hotel

Address: 18 Antrim Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The One 8 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The One 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The One 8 Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay