We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Simona

29 Theresa Ave | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Villa Simona
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    10
    3
    4
    33
See reviews for
7
22
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

This so happened to be the only accommodation available to book to celebrate my 35th Birthday and I did not check reviews which I should have done but considering that it was Camps Bay I was at peace. We arrived on an early flight and requested early check-in which was agreed to thank God, so we got there around 12:00.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Room was VERY small with two adjoining doors through which we could hear everything going on in adjoining rooms. Just to top this builders started breaking up huge boulders on the plot next door making the noise unbearable so we left two days earlier than booked. Place was clean and the owner and sraff friendly, other rooms seemed alot larger... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Camps Bay hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Mossel Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

What you get is - the rough owner who would be shouting at you on the phone if you not make it till 5pm to check in; -No parking area, be ready to park you car on the street next to that place if there will be any space available. But the owner Simone will tell you that she doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

Yes, I was late for my booking at 5pm owing to a delayed flight. When I got to the place, at 5:50 there was no one there! I called and was scolded by the proprietor for being late and then a huge deal was made about getting to me to open up. In fact, I was even asked if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Simona-Owner, Manager at Villa Simona, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry that you feel this way. However, we asked you for an ETA before hand as we do not offer 24hr service ie: we do not live on the premises. You told us 16h30. Needless to say, we planned around this arrival time. The fact that you did not inform us that your plane was delayed... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Due to a bad car-accident in Namibia we were not able to continue the second part of our vacation and explore Cape Town as planned. We stayed five nights in Villa Simona and really enjoyed our time there. The views over the bay are stunning and personnel was very attentive. Our room was nice and the breakfast we got served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simona-Owner, Manager at Villa Simona, responded to this review

Thank you so much Laurens! It was an absolute pleasure having you & Katharina here & hope you are feeling much much better :o} Wishing you both all the best for 2015! Best regards, The Villa Simona Team More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We arrived and were shown to the basement of the house. They call this the 'Springbok Apartment'. We were told it has 3 bedrooms, but they failed to mention that the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms are interleading, and separated by a cardboard wall. The 3rd bedroom has no window or natural light and therefore no ventilation. I would not put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Simona-Owner, Manager at Villa Simona, responded to this review

Right Catherine, let’s set this record straight: after speaking telephonically with Donovan & sending him a detailed quote with a number of different options, including our website address, he booked the (cheapest) said apartment – “after talking it over with his friends”. On arrival you were not happy with the room & you asked to see others. After 3hrs you... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

That's the shame of this industry and Cape Town! If you are interested in figuring out why it is, gotta go on reading this feedback, otherwise step you forward and take care! Here we are, let's go! Villa Simona is not by chance for anyone: it's the only spot with room available in Camps Bay, always. So ask yourself why.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Simona-Owner, Manager at Villa Simona, responded to this review

Good day, I am not too sure exactly who you are but yes, the Guesthouse is an old house which needs a little bit of work which we are currently attending to – we have never advertised that we are a 5-star hotel. What we DO advertise is the fact that we are “close to” ie: approx. 5 – 10... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Where to start? After the awesome pictures, an enquiry about the self catering option (so did a bit of homework) and it is CAMPS BAY after all... We booked. One and only good point- Simona mailed a "good offer" and was amicable to payment over the 4 months prior to our arrival. That's how the trouble started. Every month for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Views from this villa are spectacular. The room we had was small but adequate. The adventure started at breakfast. Seemingly our breakfast was not included, although my Booking.com confirmation clearly said so. Bit of an awkward situation. I thought the spoons would be ripped from out hands. In the end resolved with a breakfast. Packed up and left and wrote... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simona-Owner, Manager at Villa Simona, responded to this review

Hi MVH1951, I'm terribly sorry re: the confusion. I am not too sure at this point in time which room you had but just for the record, all our rooms are self-catering except for three, namely: Dolphin, Ostrich & Antelope. Should anybody in a self-catering unit want breakfast, we are more than happy to accommodate them at an additional charge... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in the Leopard room and we loved it. Fantastic views out over Camps Bay. The room was big and airy and perfectly clean and well equipped. There is a certain charm about the place - each room has its own theme so doesnt feel like you are in yet another standard hotel room. We found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simona-Owner, Manager at Villa Simona, responded to this review

Thank you so much Ken. We hope to see you again soon :-) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#6 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#13 of 59 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachside
Beachside
#33 of 59 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay