We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Camps Bay hotels

Primi-Royal

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
♫ -50% Winter Special ♫
Save Saved
You added Primi-Royal to your Saves list
Primi-Royal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
88%
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
tartpeach Atlanta, Georgia
  • Reviews (206)
  • Photos (116)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (52)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    66
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
18
139
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Primi-Royal, especially the lovely view of the bay. We booked the Superior Room with Seaview and it was totally worth it. The view from our room included gorgeous sunsets, and we enjoyed the spacious room and comfy tub. The staff members were friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were very tasty. The only negative... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an amazing hotel, the homely feeling it gives off, the beautiful views && rooms - but most importantly: the customer service I recieved. From the first phone call with Liberty to the Arrival meeting with Zane. I will definitely be returning. Thank uu Primi Royal. 😆

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon our arrival we were upgraded to the luxury rooms, free of charge. The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was amazing! Overall I can say that it had great value fot money and I would definitely go again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We totally enjoyed our stay at Primi Royal, a small boutique hotel - loved the location and our room with a view of the bay. Convenient to beach, shops, restaurants & public transport into Cape Town. Staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful; breakfasts were ample & prepared to order. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever, & would heartily recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review

Dearest Helga Thank you for your very kind review. Very much appreciated! Please do come back if ever you have the chance. We'd love to see you again. Our very best regards THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-) More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

When we arrived the room we booked was unavailable. They up graded us, for 2 nights, we had to be moved 3rd night. Got in late, to find that the room they had moved us to, stank of smoke, wasn't what we had booked. After 10 at night we were moved to their sister hotel....not very nice, that's why we... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review

Hi Mrs Tomaselli, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were not happy and I'd like to comment on a few things to clarify to both you and our readers. 1) TWIN BED OPTION: When you made your online booking for one of our Standard rooms, you neglected to tick the box indicating that you needed separate Twin Beds.... More

Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here in January and were so bitterly disappointed that we moved out the next day even though we weren't sure of getting our money back, To be fair the owner did after 2 days refund us in full but he was full of excuses. The curtains were torn, the furniture broken and the drains smelled bad. He told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

really enjoyed our stay - good location - nice room - really helpful staff - gave us good advice on trips and weather predictations which helped with days out and car hire - special thanks to Primrose? and Liberty

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review

Hello Rosemary, Thank you for your kind review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. :-) Will convey your thanks to the staff who will be pleased with the acknowledgement. Kindest regards THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-) More

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The views from this room were amazing with wonderful sun sets. The hotel was very handy to the city sightseeing hop on hop off bus and very easy walking distance to wonderful restaurants and great atmosphere of Camps Bay. Having the balcony of this room we were able to see Table Mountain as well as enjoy amazing sunsets! Would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review

Hi there. So thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves. Cape Town is world renown for its stunning sunsets. And we're blessed to have South Africa's No.1, prime blue-flag beach literally 100 metres away, to enjoy and have fun on. Did you by any chance notice how many people line the beach shore to watch the sunsets? Even in the depths of... More

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Primi Royale this past June and loved it. We got room 7 which has a STUNNING view of the sea and lions head. The things that stood out most about this hotel: 1. incredible views, 2. great location just two blocks from the camps bay beachfront, 3. value - great price for location and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review

Hi Christina Thank you for your fabulous review! Very much appreciated. The view from Room 7 is just amazing isn't it? We do hope you'll make it back to our shores sometime soon. So much more to share with you! Just a small note for future travelers: Our room furnishings are deliberately chosen solid wood Classic / Contemporary pieces and... More

Turin, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Room was small and humid. There was no remote for the TV and the manager couldn't help so it meant getting up to change channels which really was a nuisance. Parking was tight and far from secure being open to the street. My credit charge was charged with the bill for someone else's room which, though corrected, was pretty irritating.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi-Royal, responded to this review

Hi Andrew and thank you for your review - albeit rather harsh. 1) I have to admit I'm a little unhappy that you chose the subject heading you did - as without your explanation - it is definitely Not an accurate description on what happened. My concern is that some potential guests do not read more than the headings...... so... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Primi-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Primi-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi-Royal

Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi-Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Primi-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi-Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Camps Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay #6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay #7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay #8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're a small 10 bedroom Boutique Hotel just 100m up from the Beach, Restaurants, Bars & Miami-Beach Style Nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange Half-Day & Full-Day Tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine,Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best Vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, Museums, Table Mountain, Day Trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, Whale Watching, Shark Cage Diving, Helicopter Trips, Tandem Paragliding & other Extreme Sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE"! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Primi-Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer