We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Al Villa Romantica

52 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Villa Romantica
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Al Villa Romantica
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Definitely not deserving of its stars: Apart from the 22h lock-up of the gate, the fake green and not really well-adjusted grass carpet on the wooden deck (which is then covered by it…), the TV not working, no breakfast offered, the strangely deserted establishment-not romantically quiet! just odd), not even a cup for our toothbrushes (when you start noticing those... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I'd love to say it was ok as the view of Camps Bay and 12 apostles was amazing and the room we had was great, but there was too many other issues to rate it higher than poor - Pool was actually more like a fishpond (no way would you swim in it!) - Nothing stocked (no coffee, milk sachets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warner Beach KZN South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Location great. Rooms, bedding and cleanliness great. Owner George is foreign so communication is poor. No keys given so we were locked out. His cellphone went to voicemail, and he was full of excuses. Property is run down, so does not look like the website - deck tables broken, astro turf on deck loose, and flaps all night. TV not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband was working in Cape Town and wanted to surprise me by flying me down to join him for a romantic weekend. He found this place on line - and when he saw the online photos was sold. However when we arrived, we discovered that the room backed onto the office - and was minute with no space to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went on a romantic weekend away and I booked at Al Villa Romantica after having looked at the pictures and desriptions on this site and let me say that we were nothing short of disappointed when we arrived. The room looked nothing like the pictures although the view of the ocean was amazing. The entire establishment was dirty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Dear Donald, We at Villa Romantica appreciate your comments but I feel that your review has been a bit harsh. We do take care and ensure we clean all our rooms regularly and to the best of our ability. We apologise if we did not live up to your standards. When you wanted to leave earlier why did you not... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Al Villa Romantica takes poetic licence. Whilst the place has potential and some redeeming factors (location, views, proximity to Camps Bay) etc I would not choose to stay here again. The two staff (Elvis and the chef) were extremely helpfui and attentive and Paul the owner asked the right questions but the basics were missing. Our room was a hodge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi Maureen, I really am taken aback about your review. I was present most of the time here and all you had to do is ask and we would have pleased your request. The furniture is our own design. some of it was made especially for us. our lodge was recently painted and upgraded . we afforded you one of... More 

New Delhi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Got a brilliant price for a beautiful suite and I was left speechless with the amazing sea view but that's about it. Pathetic service, poorly managed and not maintained at all. If you are ready to comprise on service and want something close to Camps Bay its a good option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Dear guest please always use our place. We believe our guest house was not up to your standard. I am humbly sorry. We have taken account of your comments and have attended to these issues. the pity is , is that you should always make it aware to me as I am around to help improve our standards at all... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was recommended this Hotel and on the whole I was not disappointed. The good points were that I had a lovely room - never tried a jacuzzi bath before! The large bed was very comfy and my glass doors opened directly onto the terrace and nice little pool. I had a couple of comfy sunbeds and a little table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I booked Villa Romantica as a surprised getaway for myself and my husband. I have asked a manager Sophia to make a room look a bit more special and romantic and was prepared to pay extra for that - but unfortunately the request was left unattended. We arrived on Sunday and the person who opened the door was nice, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
marvel100, Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi, After you checked in Sophia apologised and told you that the stuff for making the room romantic was running late as the owner had errands to run. All the stuff was bought at our expense and when you returned the room had been done up. We apologise again for the items arriving late. We have recently done renovations and... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked Villa Romantica for a 2 night stay as part of our holiday. What a complete disappointment. The entrance hall is run down, pocky and stinks terribly. Our accommodation was on the basement level, where you need to negotiate an incredibly small and steep staircase. I had specifically phoned to check if they can accommodate children to which the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
marvel100, Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi Cindy When you phoned we told you that the guesthouse is child friendly as long as the door is closed. You were paying Daddy's Deal rates so you already got the room for quarter the price. The roof broke while your husband was showering and we wanted to fix it but you would not allow us to. We have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Al Villa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Villa Romantica

Address: 52 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Al Villa Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Villa Romantica Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay