We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Camps Bay B&Bs / inns

Al Villa Romantica

52 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Al Villa Romantica to your Saves list
Al Villa Romantica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
57%
Ranked #44 of 53 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012
Nickyp P Woking, United Kingdom
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband was working in Cape Town and wanted to surprise me by flying me down to join him for a romantic weekend. He found this place on line - and when he saw the online photos was sold. However when we arrived, we discovered that the room backed onto the office - and was minute with no space to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went on a romantic weekend away and I booked at Al Villa Romantica after having looked at the pictures and desriptions on this site and let me say that we were nothing short of disappointed when we arrived. The room looked nothing like the pictures although the view of the ocean was amazing. The entire establishment was dirty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Dear Donald, We at Villa Romantica appreciate your comments but I feel that your review has been a bit harsh. We do take care and ensure we clean all our rooms regularly and to the best of our ability. We apologise if we did not live up to your standards. When you wanted to leave earlier why did you not... More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Al Villa Romantica takes poetic licence. Whilst the place has potential and some redeeming factors (location, views, proximity to Camps Bay) etc I would not choose to stay here again. The two staff (Elvis and the chef) were extremely helpfui and attentive and Paul the owner asked the right questions but the basics were missing. Our room was a hodge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi Maureen, I really am taken aback about your review. I was present most of the time here and all you had to do is ask and we would have pleased your request. The furniture is our own design. some of it was made especially for us. our lodge was recently painted and upgraded . we afforded you one of... More

New Delhi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Got a brilliant price for a beautiful suite and I was left speechless with the amazing sea view but that's about it. Pathetic service, poorly managed and not maintained at all. If you are ready to comprise on service and want something close to Camps Bay its a good option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Dear guest please always use our place. We believe our guest house was not up to your standard. I am humbly sorry. We have taken account of your comments and have attended to these issues. the pity is , is that you should always make it aware to me as I am around to help improve our standards at all... More

Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was recommended this Hotel and on the whole I was not disappointed. The good points were that I had a lovely room - never tried a jacuzzi bath before! The large bed was very comfy and my glass doors opened directly onto the terrace and nice little pool. I had a couple of comfy sunbeds and a little table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I booked Villa Romantica as a surprised getaway for myself and my husband. I have asked a manager Sophia to make a room look a bit more special and romantic and was prepared to pay extra for that - but unfortunately the request was left unattended. We arrived on Sunday and the person who opened the door was nice, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marvel100, Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi, After you checked in Sophia apologised and told you that the stuff for making the room romantic was running late as the owner had errands to run. All the stuff was bought at our expense and when you returned the room had been done up. We apologise again for the items arriving late. We have recently done renovations and... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked Villa Romantica for a 2 night stay as part of our holiday. What a complete disappointment. The entrance hall is run down, pocky and stinks terribly. Our accommodation was on the basement level, where you need to negotiate an incredibly small and steep staircase. I had specifically phoned to check if they can accommodate children to which the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
marvel100, Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi Cindy When you phoned we told you that the guesthouse is child friendly as long as the door is closed. You were paying Daddy's Deal rates so you already got the room for quarter the price. The roof broke while your husband was showering and we wanted to fix it but you would not allow us to. We have... More

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed in the Al Villa Romantic for five nights and spent four of them in the Torino suite. I'd thoroughly recommend booking this apartment as it has fabulous views over Camps Bay and Table Mountain. The owner, Paul, is a great host and is extremely accommodating. His staff are very helpful, providing a good hearty breakfast and an excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Very Disappointing! I booked this hotels for the view. It was more expensive than some others in the area, but I thought it would be worth it. On arrival just before 6pm, we were unable to enter for several minutes as no one answered the doorbell or our knocking. We finally entered with the assistance of a returning guest (with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed for three nights, had a warm welcome by the owner (Paul). Really liked the room, very decent rate (especially for Camps Bay), breakfast was very good and plenty. Would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Al Villa Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Al Villa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Villa Romantica

Address: 52 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Al Villa Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Villa Romantica Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Camps Bay with
any amenities