We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Camps Bay hotels

Camps Bay Retreat

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Camps Bay Retreat to your Saves list
Camps Bay Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
94%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Kaelasimi London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    33
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
164
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in Camps Bay end of January 2014, it was our second time. This time it was in SA summer time. It was wonderful. Thank you all Camps Bay for your help, lovely service and fantastic dining. My husband forgot in our previous hotel his blazer with mobile phone in the pocket. Manager Henry from Camps Bay Retreat very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a gorgeous room the size of an apartment that was beautifully cleaned and expertly styled each morning by the charming and diligent Diana. The food was fantastic and the dog Ben was the playmate our daughter rushed out to see each morning. The staff really make this place - to name two that stand out for me, Marco... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jenny M, We really enjoyed reading your review, we will make sure that all the relevant staff gets notified that they have been mentioned on Trip Advisor which will definitely motivate them. With regards to the TV remotes we will definitely look at having one universal one for each room. We are sure that Ben misses you and your... More

Oxted, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the first accomodation on a 11 day trip to South Africa - our first trip there - and what a great place to start at. Beautifully positioned, great staff, great room in the Deck House with its own great view and wonderful meals on the terrace too! We arrived just in time for dinner and were immediately accommodated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Brianahop, Thank you so much for the excellent review, we really appreciate the fact that you had som much positivety in the words you decribe our hotel. We hope that we have not set the standards to high for the rest of the trip. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your home away from... More

Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the beginning of our trip along the Garden Route and we were very pleased we were offered this hotel. The rooms were clean, with complimentary tea, coffee, water and wifi. We had turn down every evening, when they also turned on the underfloor heating (being from the uk, really not needed!) and bedside lights. Loved the jacuzzi bath!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear DevonBexter, Thank you so much for our nice review, we trust that we will see you in the near future. I hope that the year ahead will be filled with joy and happiness. Kind Regards The Camps Bay Retreat Team More

Stroud
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was recommended to us by friends and how wonderful it was to enjoy perfect solicitous service with stunning view of the sea. The public rooms are old colonial style, classy and comfortable. Food was up to the high standard we have come to expect and love in South Africa. We will be back next year. Couldn't remember the name... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear CoachhouseGL, We are overwhelmed with the great response and amazing comments that you have written about our lovely establishment. We as a Hotel strive to give all our guests the best service we can provide. Kind Regards The Camps Bay Retreat Team More

london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved staying here . The views are stunning. Really friendly and my 2 year old loved the dogs especially Ben . The reading room is a great touch and the dining is excellent . We will stay here whenever we are in capetown regardless of the season . Can't wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Paultoptooth, Thank you so much for the great response, the staff misses you and your family as they have grown to know exeptionally well. We can not wait to welcome you back to your home away from home. Kind Regards The Campsbay Retreat Management Team More

Redditch, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in January 14 at the end of our first visit to South Africa. We had a room in the deck house which was lovely, with a distant view of the sea. The weather was disappointing for the first few days with periods of torrential rain, storms and high winds which limited our sunbathing activities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Bevandmark2, We trust that you are well and that you have settled nicely back home. The weather by us is slowly moving towards winter. We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the constructive criticism, If we have known that this was the situation and that you were unsatisfied with some aspects of the Hotel we... More

new york, ny
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This property is in a gated location just a couple of minutes from Camps' Bay and Table Mountain. The rooms are spacious and really nicely done. We had our own private deck and sliver of a view of the ocean. The main house has a library with a computer and printer for guests to use. The hotel restaurant overlooks a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Alias, Thank you for the magnificent review, we really enjoyed your company. We trust that you will have a great year filled with laughter and fun. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Management More

irl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Beautiful little gem of peace and tranquility within an easy walk of all the action on the sea front strip and a short taxi ride to the many and various restaurants around Kloof St. The polite and charming staff just make for a very relaxed stay. There are magnificent views out over the ocean, leave your window open at night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Alias, Thank you so much for the Great review, we Value or your comments. We hope that you will visit us in the near future for yet another memorable stay. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Managers More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had Room 15 which is best descrived as a mini suite as it had large ditting area and a large deck with sun loungers. Bath rather oddly placed right in front of main door but also separate shower so it wasn't a problem. What did bother us was no wash-hand basin in toilet which meant walking to separate bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Alias, Thank you for the review, the information that you have given us is extremely helpful and will allow us to look at these issues when we will be doing routine maintenance. We are glad that you have enjoyed the stay and hopefully you will visit us in the near future. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Management More

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Camps Bay Retreat 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat comprises four acres with waterfalls, mountain streams and pools. The views are simply splendid across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles mountain range. This large estate is situated in the popular and glamorous seaside resort of Camps Bay, one of the most beautiful bays in the world. Tucked away in the crook of a glen that runs between Lions Head and Table Mountain. Stay at Camps Bay Retreat and you are certain to leave feeling restored and revitalized like never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camps Bay Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.