We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camps Bay Retreat

Certificate of Excellence
7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Camps Bay Retreat
Share an Experience

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    37
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
193
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (267)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a fabulous location just a few minutes walk from the beach. The room was amazing. the staff were lovely, but there were a few niggles. such as ordering a newspaper that didn't arrive, breakfast - taking 20 mins to make poached eggs even though we were the only ones in the restaurant, the manager hurrying us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear CharlotteILondon, Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat. Our apologies for the slip ups in the service experienced on the mentioned accounts, we will most certainly smooth over the areas. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay overall and that you found it to be relaxing as it should be. We hope that... More 

glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just a stunning location overlooking the beautiful resort of camps bay the retreat is a classic old world manor house with absolutely gorgeous deck rooms and suites in the grounds accessed by a rope bridge. Quite unique. The main rooms in the manor house and the outside dining area are beautifully appointed in a manor house style, and the breakfasts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear golfer24, Thank you for your wonderful review of Camps Bay Retreat. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the unique aspects of the property and certainly hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Camps Bay Retreat Team More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restuarant is open for visitors to join the guests at the hotel for any meal. The only condition is that you have to book to ensure they have space! A Wednesday and Saturday they have a fixed menu, where Saturday is the braai until mid-April. Every aspect of the experience was amazing - from placing a telephonical booking, where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear 99RyanM99, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Camps Bay Retreat braai evening. We are so glad that you enjoyed every aspect from the booking, to the setting, our new "Singing Chef" and the buffet and rest of the braai. We hope that you will become a regular face and that we will see you soon again! Regards... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The worst hotel management ı've ever seen.They downgrade us without asking.When we came from outside to our room a guest opened our door and welcomed us and we've learned that our stuff even our valuables in safe box transfered to another room!!! Never informed,never asked us before doing this.And their excuse is ;they changed it to the pre-paid room!and full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Aysebuket, Our apologies for your experience and the miscommunication with the language barrier. I would like to notify you that there was no downgrade, we informed you that we upgraded you for the first night as we could not accommodate you in 1 room for your entire stay due to you having a child with you. We would then... More 

Oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful few days staying at a The a Camps Bay Retreat recently. The hotel was delightful and the staff were excellent. If you are there on a Wednesday or Saturday you must enjoy the Braai. The steak is exceptional. That said, all the meals were wonderful as was the room, location etc, etc, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear brown_nicholas, Thank you for your great review of Camps Bay Retreat. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay, especially the braai and the amazing Chalmar beef fillet! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Team More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I saw another review which mentioned problems with the reservation system and thought I would share my experience. I stayed at the Retreat 8 years ago, had a wonderful time and have vowed to return again. A couple of weeks ago I checked availability online for a 10 night stay in April 2015 and the online system showed availability for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Annie K, Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat. Your experience is unfortunate as you noted that there was availability and there may very well have been, but we got a group that booked out the entire hotel for 2 days in April and thus none of the categories were available for those 2 dates... More 

Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Camps Bay is a really nice property. The photos in their website show the property to be a little more polished than it is currently. One of the co-owners lives upstairs with his dogs so he certainly is put on notice, but there are certain finishes that needs to be addressed. The trimming of trees, the weeding of the gardens,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear MarkClark97, Thank you for your detailed review of Camps Bay Retreat. We appreciate your comments and are glad to let you know that we have worked very hard to manicure our gardens over the last two months. We are so glad that you enjoyed the restaurant and the rooms and hope that we will be able to welcome you... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The hotel is well spread and elevated which provide a beautiful view on the ocean. Very nice room with a terrace and a long mirror which is useful. They provide l'Occitane amenities and bath salts. The towel and floor heating is more than necessary in winter. The tried their sister hotel the Bay Hotel for dinner and it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Felicidad3102, Thank you for your review of Camps Bay Retreat. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all the different aspects of our hotel and hope that you would return to us in the future. Regards Camps Bay Retreat Team More 

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Stayed here for 4 days in January had a wonderful experience. The team here led by Kirsty and Carmen are the best, just felt at home from the start. Attentive classy and just what one would expect from a 5 star Food here was superb and the braai was one of the highlights in terms of food. Breakfeasts were cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jay037, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Camps Bay Retreat. We are so happy that you enjoyed the rooms, breakfasts and most of all our signature Braai evenings! We hope that you will be able to return soon to a sunny South Africa. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Dealing with the reservations service was a trial, but once we got there, well worth it. The hotel only has 16 rooms set in acres of property with spectacular views everywhere. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated in a high luxury low-key fashion. So restful. The staff are very helpful -- we requested DVDs of Band of Brothers which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Susan10013, thank you for your review of Camps Bay Retreat. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay after your difficulties with the reservation process and that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope that you will be able to join us at Camps Bay Retreat again in the future. Kind Regards Camps Bay Retreat Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

232 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (183)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (67)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question