We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Place on the Bay

Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Place on the Bay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    78
    70
    24
    9
    11
See reviews for
39
102
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an excellent experience. Staff friendly and helpful and apartment perfectly clean and well equipped. Sea view amazing! Just a pity about lack of parking! Many restaurants and conveniences in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

I would only recommend this if you have a room with a sea view. It is just spectacular to watch the sunsets and the beach is just across the road. The location is perfect as it is central in camps bay and close to great restaurants and bars. The room is pretty but basic so don't expect fancy frills but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Unali A big thank you for your review! I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon. Kind regards Marlie More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

This was our first trip to South Africa and weren't sure what to expect, The hotel staff were very friendly and helped us find our way around, They explained to us the power problem in South Africa and gave us plenty of notice when the power would be out, this is not a hotel problem as some suggest it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear ColonelBMX I am so happy you stayed with us and had a good time!!!! If you want to enjoy your holiday, you can do it anywhere. Have a great day!!!! Marlie More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Camps Bay was a great place to spend three days at the end of our South African vacation. The Place on the Bay didn't disappoint in any way. The view from the room was amazing and the proximity to Table Mountain, the cape Town Waterfront and indeed all the restaurants on the main drag made it the ideal location. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear OrlanB So happy to hear you spend your last 3 days in Cape Town and in Place on the Bay. With the beach on your doorstep and Table Mountain in the back, you cannot go wrong. So many things to do or just relax on the beach!! Hope to see you one day again!!!! Marlie More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Although it has a brilliant location, I will never go back to Place on the Bay. Items were stolen from my room, food was literally just take from the fridge, and even the spare key we kept in the drawer disappeared (Which is a very frightening thought, to think someone could access the apartment at any point). When I emailed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear nisaas143 Thank you for you review but unfortunately I did not received any e-mail from you nor did I send you one. So sad you did not come to my office while you where here so we could took care of it. Kind Regards Marlie More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Beauty location, superb views, close to all restaurants, bars and beach. Friendly and accommodating staff. Room was clean and cleaned on a daily basis with all the amenities you will need for self catering purposes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Gazza750723 Happy to hear that the staff did a nice job because without them we cannot do it!! You right: great views, great beach, great restaurants, great everything!!!! Keep well. Marlie More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with our accomodation. It was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. There was a secure car park, safe in the room and free wi fi. Our terrace was side on sea view - but we sat further down and had a fantastic view of the sunset with a glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear SpainloverLiverpool The car park is really a big plus to the hotel because parking is always a problem in Camps Bay. It is safe and equipped with a lot of cameras and safety gate. The business forum with the police are working hard to get a solution in connection of the street beggars. Thank you for your positive feedback... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We review the mixed reviews for this hotel - and hmmm'ed and ahhhhh'ed for a while before just deciding to do it! It's good value for money - right in the heart of Camps Bay, a stone's throw from the beautiful beach - and literally metres from the main street's many restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfortable - ours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear smosmo23 I am so happy to hear that you took the faith jump and stayed with us and enjoyed it. (People can be something very hard.) If you a positive person, you can make anything works and leave the bad, otherwise you holiday will be a disaster. However I do not agree when something is bad, not to correct... More 

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Fantastic location on the bay, private terrace overlooking the sea ! Warm welcome. The room was excellent (with fully equipped kitchen for self caterers) Great to sit by the pool and watch the people on the beach and the most spectacular sunset.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sue H A big thank you for your feedback - much appreciated!!! Happy that you had a good stay and hope to see you again!!! Best regards Marlie More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I stayed in a Standard Studio room (305), for 10 nights at the Place on the Bay Hotel during the Easter Holidays. If you have a car, there is secure parking and you are issued a remote for the gate, which is very useful as the adjacent streets get busy at certain times of the day/week. The receptionists Marion, Leila... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear andyh67186334 A big thank you for your lengthy review - much appreciated. From November to March we get a lot more sun in the courtyard but with winter approaching it changes. Hope to see you one day again at Place on the Bay. Best regards Marlie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Primi Seacastle Guest House
#10 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Primi-Royal
Primi-Royal
#8 of 13 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 13 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay