We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Place on the Bay

Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Place on the Bay
Add Photo

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    77
    68
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
38
101
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first trip to South Africa and weren't sure what to expect, The hotel staff were very friendly and helped us find our way around, They explained to us the power problem in South Africa and gave us plenty of notice when the power would be out, this is not a hotel problem as some suggest it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear ColonelBMX I am so happy you stayed with us and had a good time!!!! If you want to enjoy your holiday, you can do it anywhere. Have a great day!!!! Marlie More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Camps Bay was a great place to spend three days at the end of our South African vacation. The Place on the Bay didn't disappoint in any way. The view from the room was amazing and the proximity to Table Mountain, the cape Town Waterfront and indeed all the restaurants on the main drag made it the ideal location. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear OrlanB So happy to hear you spend your last 3 days in Cape Town and in Place on the Bay. With the beach on your doorstep and Table Mountain in the back, you cannot go wrong. So many things to do or just relax on the beach!! Hope to see you one day again!!!! Marlie More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Although it has a brilliant location, I will never go back to Place on the Bay. Items were stolen from my room, food was literally just take from the fridge, and even the spare key we kept in the drawer disappeared (Which is a very frightening thought, to think someone could access the apartment at any point). When I emailed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear nisaas143 Thank you for you review but unfortunately I did not received any e-mail from you nor did I send you one. So sad you did not come to my office while you where here so we could took care of it. Kind Regards Marlie More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Beauty location, superb views, close to all restaurants, bars and beach. Friendly and accommodating staff. Room was clean and cleaned on a daily basis with all the amenities you will need for self catering purposes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Gazza750723 Happy to hear that the staff did a nice job because without them we cannot do it!! You right: great views, great beach, great restaurants, great everything!!!! Keep well. Marlie More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with our accomodation. It was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. There was a secure car park, safe in the room and free wi fi. Our terrace was side on sea view - but we sat further down and had a fantastic view of the sunset with a glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear SpainloverLiverpool The car park is really a big plus to the hotel because parking is always a problem in Camps Bay. It is safe and equipped with a lot of cameras and safety gate. The business forum with the police are working hard to get a solution in connection of the street beggars. Thank you for your positive feedback... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We review the mixed reviews for this hotel - and hmmm'ed and ahhhhh'ed for a while before just deciding to do it! It's good value for money - right in the heart of Camps Bay, a stone's throw from the beautiful beach - and literally metres from the main street's many restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfortable - ours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear smosmo23 I am so happy to hear that you took the faith jump and stayed with us and enjoyed it. (People can be something very hard.) If you a positive person, you can make anything works and leave the bad, otherwise you holiday will be a disaster. However I do not agree when something is bad, not to correct... More 

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Fantastic location on the bay, private terrace overlooking the sea ! Warm welcome. The room was excellent (with fully equipped kitchen for self caterers) Great to sit by the pool and watch the people on the beach and the most spectacular sunset.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sue H A big thank you for your feedback - much appreciated!!! Happy that you had a good stay and hope to see you again!!! Best regards Marlie More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I stayed in a Standard Studio room (305), for 10 nights at the Place on the Bay Hotel during the Easter Holidays. If you have a car, there is secure parking and you are issued a remote for the gate, which is very useful as the adjacent streets get busy at certain times of the day/week. The receptionists Marion, Leila... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear andyh67186334 A big thank you for your lengthy review - much appreciated. From November to March we get a lot more sun in the courtyard but with winter approaching it changes. Hope to see you one day again at Place on the Bay. Best regards Marlie More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks in room 304 was great value for the price great staff and very clean will return next year Would reccomend to people wanting clean rooms a pool and secure right in camps bay with helpful reception staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Chelwest1 Thank you for your positive feedback!!!! Much appreciated!!! So happy you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again in place on the Bay!!!. Best Regards Marlie More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Mixed feelings about our stay here really, but as other reviewers have said, the deluxe hotel rooms were recently updated decor wise, but clearly very old in terms of fittings. 3 star really for facilities eg bathrooms and kitchen. There is a dreadful reception area to greet new arrivals. But the thing that bothered me most was the fact that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear AStokesAuckland It is sad that you did not notice all the security cameras and beams on premises and big screen were someone looked at all the time (24 hours daily) to pick up anything wrong. Have a great day!! Marlie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay