We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bay Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Hotel amenities
The Bay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
PriceyBoyReading Bramley, United Kingdom
Add Photo

645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    371
    150
    68
    30
    26
See reviews for
57
371
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (645)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (141)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (244)
All months
Bramley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in the Bay Hotel for three nights in September 2014. This was out of season and the hotel was relatively quiet. We ate in the Biatro each evening and we're always made welcome. The wine selection was particularly impressive and we got good advice on what we shoul try. Room was first class, clean and great views. It'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 4 nights and highly recommend this hotel. I had read previous reviews and was a little nervous about what to expect. Our room had a view of the ocean but a large portion was blocked by a tree. Asked the front desk if we could be moved... No problem and our next room was outstanding. Bathrooms clean and partially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean0721, Thank you for the lovely review and for the high recommendation.I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you also enjoyed the food here at our Bistro @ The Bay. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very enjoyable stay due to excellent room, service and staff attitude. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, neat and well maintained. The staff go out of their way to make the stay pleasant and comfortable. Well done!! Will definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, It thrills me to hear such wonderful reviews on our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write it and to share your views with others. I will definitely encourage my staff to keep up the great work and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards, Sean Geyser More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family is staying here and I came here to visit them. I live in Cape Town. I have never seen such kind service in this hotel.i love it so much. I rate it 5/5. I am definitely telling my family to come back to this hotel. I am definitely coming back!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jamie123234, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your family had a wonderful time and that you got to experience a bit as well. We look forward to welcoming them back soon and perhaps yourself to spend a night. Warm regards, Sean Geyser More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was staying on business- wonderful room with my own veranda onto the pool. Great coffee maker in the room. Bed very comfortable, excellent food & service. My only issue was the wifi, which I had to pay for and then didnt work. I tried it many times throughout my seat but never for it to work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear niamhiepoos, Thank you for the great review and for taking the time to write it. Thank you for advising that there were Wi-Fi issues during your stay, we have taken the problem up with our IT department and we are working to improve it for future guests. I am glad that you had a lovely stay with us and... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our sixth visit in six holidays to SA. Stayed four days at the end of April. The welcome we received, the ongoing service from friendly, helpful staff and the general ambiance of the Bay was as good as we have ever experienced. I just cannot understand the numerous negative reports that seem to be being posted onto Trip' We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ROKNottingham, Thank you so much from all the staff and management for taking the time to write such a great review on our hotel. It brings me great joy to know that we have once again, exceeded your expectation and therefore I thank you again. We will defiantly pass on the good words to the staff and encourage everyone... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for my 21st birthday for 5 nights with my family. The location is great as it is right on the sea front with many restaurants in close walking distance. The staff were amazing and very helpful with everything we needed help with like restaurant suggestions and things to spend the day doing. Even though they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luc3h, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent visit with us. It was such an honor to host you and your family for one of the most special days in your life and we thank you for being part of it. I will pass the great message onto Shawn and the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Moseley clean and tidy. All showers had black mould. Houses keeping always forgot to restock something and beds were very uncomfortable really hard. Staff were friendly. Hidden costs for car parking ect. Overall ok but will not go back for the money. Staying next trip at place on the bay up the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is highly over rated. The room decor is old and out dated. Over a two night stay I found two cockroaches on separate days. The management response was very poor and lacked interest . The overall service left me dissapointed. The only beautiful part of the hotel is its location. It has amazing Seaview. Would not stay there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Godalming, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A stunning location for this lovely and very friendly hotel, on the outskirts of Cape town. Loved that Camps Bay is small and easy get around, very good for browsing, or just sitting and looking at the amazing waves crashing on the beach. Walking to Clifton and Bantry Bay a joy, as the scenery the whole way is stunning. City... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SeanGeyser, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarajane B, Thank you for the lovely review and for taking the time to write it. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and felt safe here. We are very proud of our friendly staff and will continue to encourage them so that other guests experience what you did. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

279 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (231)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay