We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Durbanville

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tygervalley, Bellville 7530, South Africa
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Protea Hotels to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Durbanville
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok hotel with some management issues. Many issues with bookings, payments, over-booked breakfasts etc. However the staff who were customer facing were outstanding - they could not have been more obliging, From the guys at the security gate (always smiling), to the smiling front desk staff and the unforgettable older guy who acts as concierge/ bagman. Special mentions go out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick A
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you for your kind compliments with regards to the service, we are sure to pass it onto the TEAM. We have taking your constructive feedback very seriously and will action accordingly. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back through our doors in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my fourth stay at this hotel, centrally located next to a vineyard. Our stay is usually very nice and quiet, that is if you stay in one of the flats. But be aware to have a room close to the bar and pool area on the first floor, just up the staircase. The racket made by staff cleaning,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larawes
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Larawes, Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you on your 5th stay in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We as a family travel a lot and always stay in a Protea Hotel as part of their prokard rewards program. But to say we are disappointed in this hotel is an understatement! When we arrived the room was not ready, we had to wait nearly an hour. We booked bed & breakfast. The following morning when we wanted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Marais. As per my discussion with you on the 4th of January after your breakfast, our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused. I can assure you that this is not the service we pride ourselves in when serving our GUESTS. I take all the above mentioned remarks as extremely constructive and will ensure all shortcomings will... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

What a terrible experience, our room flooded from a geyser failure. We had to rush out of the room....the mezzanine floor also just didn't work out for our family. It's not very convenient. Although it's self catering but one cannot have a private Braai...

Helpful?
2 Thank luyanda x
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Mr Luyabda, Thank you for your valued feedback with regards to your stay in August. We do apologies for the unforeseen geyser burst, however we do believe that we immediately attended to your needs and moved your family to another room. Unfortunately we do not have a braai facility at the hotel and do not advertise that we have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

We checked in on the 30th November 2015, what an amazing place to be, great location, friendly and helpful staff, nice pool area with awesome pizzas. A place to be when you really wanna relax. Nice and spacious rooms with comfortable bed's and Huge showers

Helpful?
Thank Swithan M
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Swithan M, Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again, in the not so distant future. Kind regards Albert Smit More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

Checked in on Tuesday 24th November, to be told only have reservation for two nights and not three as i had booked. In morning wash hand basin was blocked and water would not drain. Carpet was absolutely disgusting and was covered with afro hair which i reported to management in housekeeping, nothing was done as same problem the following day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob5710
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for taking my phone call earlier, We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, you can feel assured that we will investigate the matter and act accordingly. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

The location of this hotel is ideal, very quite, surrounded by vineyards. Everything was spotless clean, but having to pass the bar area and being watched by the people going to my room made me uneasy. That door leading to the rooms is heavy and should open towards the inside instead of outside as it is now. The television channels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boo-ngane
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Boo-ngame, Thank you for your review and giving us the opportunity to improve on our Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back through our doors. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

We held a sales team meeting at this hotel. The conference facilities are excellent. The food is excellent. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff service is outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the team, they were friendly, polite and most accommodating. Ashley deserves special mention for his excellent customer service. Great hotel to stay at.

Helpful?
Thank GusBehn
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear GusBehn, Thank you for your feedback, We are sure to compliment the staff on their great performance and highlight Ashley's performance. Kindest Regards Albert Smit More 

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015 via mobile

I stayed over at this hotel for 3 day's whilst on business. Despite the challenge of waiting for my room on arrival, this is a wonderful hotel. The rooms were very good. Staff were very helpful. Parking is secure. Beautiful setting of the vineyards close by. Modern hotel. Breakfasts were brilliant. After hours meals were very good as well. Rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samuel H K
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Samuel, Thank you for your your fantastic review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit More 

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Lets start off with what is right. The reception staff is excellent. The rooms are are really good and the shower was powerful. The breakfast buffet is very good as well with nothing to complain about. The two problems I have experienced that made me drop my review are: White noise. There is a continuous drone in the main part... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronaldk18
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Ronald King, Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated. With regards to your wet carpet smell, we can advise that the problem has been resolved. We have also launched a full investigation by our maintenance TEAM, in order to resolve the white noise you indicated. Thank you for assisting us in the constant strive towards perfection. We look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (122)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellville
2.0 mi away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
Protea Hotel Tyger Valley
#1 of 1 in Welgemoed
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
14.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Protea Hotel Sea Point
#73 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments
11.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
18.4 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay