We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Bellville hotels

Protea Hotel Durbanville

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tygervalley, Bellville 7530, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Durbanville to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Durbanville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bellville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
John K
  • Reviews (68)
  • Photos (83)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
15
1
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were sent here on our honey moon and i have to say, it was one of the most professional and sort after places I could have hoped for. we were treated nicely and always greeted with a smile. Perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear John K On behalf of the Protea Hotel Durbanville STAFF members, we would like to congratulate you and your wife on your union. We are pleased to see that your stay with us was that much more special. We look forward to being part of your happy memories to come. Kind regards General Manager More

Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Friendly staff, very helpful. Arrived early - they put the bags in the room while we went off to the shops.Rooms modern - despite having a kitchenette including a microwave absolutely no crockery or cutlery apart from tea and coffee stuff. Didn't worry us though. Had dinner in the restaurant - was ok. Wine took a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Andrew Darwin Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and your experience in the restaurant. We have taken your concerns into consideration. We have implemented a training schedule, in order to ensure that all STAFF members are educated on our wine selection. We hope you will have a much better experience the next time you have dinner... More

Tanga
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

When walking into this hotel, can one see and feel that the three stars on thr door, are utterly wrong. This is not a normal average Protea Hotel. Nothing is average. The service is exceptional. The location and ambiance amazing. The view relaxing and the lounge perfect for a cold winter's evening

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear R S Tanga Warm greetings from all of the Protea Hotel Durbanville TEAM. Thank you so much for you kind words. We highly appreciate it! We hope to see you back with us in the not so distant future. Kind Regards General Manager More

Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed there with a friend from work, and everything imaginable went wrong. I had to go back there one week later, with a second person and then we got good service. The location is very nice. The apartments are nice, but the rooms in the building are just as nice. I really appreciated the effort they made after the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Lynn0416 Thank you for the recent post on Tripadvisor regarding our property and the service you have experienced. I am glad to see that after your initial not so good stay that you have experienced excellent service which we are striving for. We look forward in welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards General Manager More

Tzaneen, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I feel so bad for only writing this review now, as our stay at the Protea Hotel Durbanville was so nice and all of the staff treated us like royalty. We were on a family holiday in December and slept over at the Protea Hotel Durbanville for 2 nights. The rooms are very modern, neat and clean, the breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Louwrita Warm greetings from all of the Protea Hotel Durbanville TEAM. Thank you so much for the wonderful message received. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and will most certainly be distributed amongst the TEAM. We hope to see you back with us in the not so distant future. Kind Regards General Manager More

cape town
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Ten of us, eight visitors from the UK stayed in this hotel as it was close to the wedding venue. Rooms are large and very well appointed, although the aircons are out of the ark and very noisy. There is a nice pool area with a pizza oven and poolside bar. Breakfasts were great and all in all the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear gramench, Thank you for your amazing feedback! I would like to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job! More

Flushing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The suite we had was wonderful, the open areas were lovely, food was outstanding (esp. the breakfast). The only downside we had was the transport company who came and left without us twice, the second time on the way to the airport. As you might expect, anxiety was quite high, but to his credit, the general manager of the hotel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Terry S, Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! GUESTS feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Durbanville again soon. More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I am a prokard member that have been a regular (sleeping over & dining out) visitor to Durbanville Protea Hotel. I have always received good welcome and services. However, yesterday (16 Feb14) Kevin disappointed me. He didn’t allow us to dine there because he said he is expecting people who booked. I have been there several times, and when they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Nthomboxolo, We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Durbanville is viewed in a serious light. As you are a regular customer of ours and have visited our property before, you know that this is not the norm. We always strive to meet our GUESTS expectations and unfortunately we could not do... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We did an overnight at this hotel on our way back from the garden route. We had lived in durbanville before and wanted to stay in the area, and then I picked up a secret deal which made the decision a no brainer. What a lovely surprise this hotel was. We booked and checked into a 1 bedroom apartment. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear amigada, Thank you for your feedback, we rely on our GUESTS feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. We have taken measures to ensure that the windows of our apartments get cleaned more regularly. If you would like the option of a bath in your room, we also offer... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is at an end of a street, which makes it very quiet. The rooms are well decorated and have great finishes. The bed is big enough but the room is smaller but comfortable. Our room had a shower for two which is practical and time saving as two people can take a shower at the same time. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear SwaziQueen First of all I would love to tell you what a stunning status photo and also a well chosen profile name. Thank you so much for taking the time from your very tight schedule to share your views on Protea Hotel Durbanville. People are so driven to rather complain than to compliment. Your feedback is crucial for the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Durbanville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Durbanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Durbanville

Address: 99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tygervalley, Bellville 7530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Durbanville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Durbanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst the vineyards of the Durbanville Wine Route, Protea Hotel Durbanville is the ideal venue for business trips, conferences, training and team building, or simply a relaxed base from which to explore the region. The hotel boasts Standard and Deluxe rooms offering extra-length king size beds, en-suite bathroom with shower and bath, executive desk with multiple electrical points, air conditioning, tea/Coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV with USB port and mini bar fridges. You are spoilt for choice as Protea Hotel Durbanville also offers one or two-bedroom apartments ideal for families, long stays or sharing business people. The apartments offer a kitchenette, luxurious lounge and private en-suite bathroom with double shower. For your convenience, the hotel also offers 11-hour room service and a complimentary shuttle service to the main office parks and shopping centres in the area. Protea Hotel Durbanville’s conference facilities are custom built to provide you with a professional and seamless event experience, with a touch of the extraordinary. Complimentary Wi-Fi broadband internet access is available throughout the hotel and conference venues while the 24-hour business alcove includes PC access and printing facilities. Add into the mix a funky pool terrace area serving the best wood-fired pizzas around, a relaxed restaurant and a warm and vibey bar lounge, perfect for after work or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is surrounded by D’Aria Wine Estate’s award-winning vineyards and the Durbanville wine route offers an excellent choice of restaurants and wine tasting venues. Adjacent to the Magic Forest walking and mountain bike trail, the hotel is perfect for the energetic types. The area is a shopping Mecca boasting the renowned Tyger Valley and Willowbridge Shopping Centres close by. If it’s nightlife you are after, the buzzing Tyger Valley Waterfront and Edward Street will keep you entertained with cocktails and music. For those travelling with the family, there are many attractions to keep everyone busy. Protea Hotel Durbanville – Value Beyond Expectation ... more   less 
Number of rooms
93

See which rooms travelers prefer