We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Bantry Bay B&Bs / inns

Villa Sunshine

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Rochester Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Villa Sunshine to your Saves list
Villa Sunshine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #5 of 6 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014
kanelani M Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
4
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I booked at Villa sunshine recently. The place is nicely located, close to all amenities around Sea Point, and very short drive to Camps Bay / VA waterfront.One can easily walk around and find decent spots for dinner/drink or link up with the various public transports across the main street. Rooms are decent,with big sized beds, a tv (no DSTV),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulandi C, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Kanelani, Thank you for you review and positive statements about our establishment. Just to let you know we have the full DSTV bouquet in our lounge and MNET in the rooms. We hope to see you again! More

Lahaina, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at this B&B for 3 nights. Staff and owner could not have been more friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. They went out of their way to call and set up an activity that we had planned but were unable to get a hold of our own. We had been travelling in South Africa a while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulandi C, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you ever so much for your GREAT review. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us! We hope to welcome you back in the future again!! :-) More

Callander, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at this B&B. Staff very friendly and courteous. Arranged a hire car and day trips for us. Great recommendations on where to go and what to do in the limited time we had available. Rooms clean and tidy. Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulandi C, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear Elke, Thank you for choosing to stay with at Villa Sunshine, it was a real pleasure to have you here. We are glad that you we happy with the establishment and the team; thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards The Sunshine Team More

Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice vibe, calming and peaceful. Left to relax by the pool but on hand should we need anything. Honesty bar was well stocked. Breakfast could have been a little better but only a short walk to restaurants & bars. We enjoyed our stay so much we extended and stayed an extra 2 nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulandi C, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

Dear M1ssChief, Thank you for taking the time out to comment on your stay with Villa Sunshine. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can accommodate you again in the future! Kind regards Ulandi and the Sunshine Team! More

West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Never left a less than positive review before, and I don't enjoy it. Pros: 1. Good location near the Atlantic seaboard, restaurants on Regents, and the Hop on/Hop off bus pickup. 2. Quiet at night so sleeping is not a problem. 3. Some rooms have balconies so you can get some nice views of sunset over the Atlantic. 4. Wi-fi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulandi C, Owner at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

Hi Casey, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service. From our side we did our best to adhere to your special requests such as packed breakfasts when you were unable to join us. We also went beyond the call of duty by waking you up at 5h20 am when... More

Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent choice. Would recommend it to anyone needing to be on the Atlantic Seaborad. Excellent value for money, great rooms (spacious, nicely furnished, en suite, clean) and far enough away from Regent Street to enjoy a peaceful night's rest but close enough to be near everything too. May need to increase TV bouquet option but it's Cape Town, so who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulandi C, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

Hi Kameel, Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you we so comfortable. It was really a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Hope all is going well in India. Ulandi & Henning More

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Rooms were quite large - I had one with a balcony which was great, but not all do. Everything was clean. Breakfast was substantial, fresh and efficient. Service as good - friendly and efficient. Wifi was fast. Position - close enough to shops and restaurants to walk.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ulandi C, Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

Hi Dave, Thank you for your review and the positive things you have mentioned. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were told this was a 4 star BandB our experience was nothing close to 4 star. We were put into a room next to the noisy kitchen, no hot water and no curtaines. When we complained and said we wanted to leave we weren't given our money back! This place left such a bad taste in my mouth and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulandi C, General Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

The above review is very unfortunate. The reservation was made by Angelika for her parents whom upon arrival requested to be moved into an upstairs room. We unfortunately did not have one available and could not move them right away. We offered to move them as soon as a room became available however they were not happy with this. After... More

South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The accommodation was satisfying, clean. The homely welcome and breakfast made it a very special stay. We stayed for 5 nights and found that Villa sunshine was centrally situated to all attractions and the beach was 5 min. walk away. The area is quiet although there is no parking and we had to park our rented car in the street.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulandi C, Manager at Villa Sunshine, responded to this review

Hi Kauthar, Thank you for a great review. It was lovely to have you with us. We hope you will be back again! More

Benoni, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very tranquil setting. Excellent base from where you can explore in any direction. Friendly staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Walking distance from the sea and main road with loads of dining options. Was disappointed that only SABC & ETV was available in the rooms. Also take into account that in virtually the entire Bantry Bay you have to park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Villa Sunshine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Villa Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sunshine

Address: 1 Rochester Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sunshine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Villa Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sunshine Bantry Bay, Cape Town

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Villa Sunshine is a perfect base from which to explore Cape Town. The city centre; Table Mountain, The V&A Waterfront and the International Convention Centre are all within a 5km radius. Beaches and Restaurants are within walking distance. Our 7 en-suite rooms are exquisitely furnished, equipped with all the necessary amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our rates also include a delicious continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer