We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Bantry Bay hotels

Ambassador Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Victoria Road | Bantry Bay, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
64%
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
A recent review
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    86
    47
    27
    13
See reviews for
28
102
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spending a week in Cape Town on business generally means staying in a suitable B&B, but this time around, we opted for The Ambassador Hotel, for several reasons - great rates, proximity to work event, but in truth, the view truly seals the deal. The pool deck is the perfect place to knock out a few emails and presentations, while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The big plus for this hotel is it's location right on the rocks above the sea. Superb views from the restaurant and from the sea view rooms. Unfortunately the hotel is missing just that little something and rooms are not quite up to the standard expected at this price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
210AmandaP258, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your valued feedback. We are indeed lucky enough to have one of the best views in Cape Town, which we are glad you got to enjoy as well. We are in the process of upgrading the softs on both the hotel and self catering apartment. We hope to welcome you back once the upgrades... More

Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for 6 nights. At the end of a long journey, we opted for the self catering apartments to have more room. Other than morning coffee and to keep our wine cold, we really didnt use the kitchen component. We did enjoy the extra space over the hotel room... although thte hotel rooms have an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
210AmandaP258, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the benefits of our spacious self catering apartments. Telkom has just installed a new line this week, which we are hoping to see results in a faster WIFI connection. Thank you for your compliments on our service and... More

Wolfratshausen
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay at the Ambassador. Maybe I'm getting fussier but things that obviously didn't bother me 4 years ago, did this time around. I had forgotten that the rooms were really quite small and the bathrooms, even smaller. Generally, the room could have used an update. The worst thing for me was the half-enclosure for the shower,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The rooms on the hotel side are indeed smaller in comparison to our much larger self catering apartments situated across the road from the main hotel. We are in the process of upgrading the softs on both the hotel and self catering apartment units. Some units have... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel did not offer value for money, service was poor, rooms small, barthrooms were tiny, we had a sea facing room overlooking the swimming pool but the windows are not tinted - making it impossible to enjoy the view & have privacy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
210AmandaP258, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Akona N, Thank you for taking the time out to review us during your recent stay. We are truly disappointed to know that your stay with us was a disappointing one. We sincerely apologize for our service being poor. We can assure you that this is not the standard of the hotel, as our customer service is our biggest... More

Travelers are raving about these Bantry Bay hotels

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and we enjoyed it very much, however there were some things we didn't like about this hotel. The view from the room was amazing, you can't get any closer to the ocean. We are not fans of valet parking but it worked ok. Breakfast was nice, no comments. You can get continental or hot (eggs your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
210AmandaP258, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MadaTata, Thank you for your recent review during your stay with us. We agree that the view from our rooms are amazing, and are glad that you got to experience the view from our sea facing rooms! We offer much more spacious rooms at our self catering apartments, which is situated across the road from the main hotel. These... More

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights with boyfriend, beautiful view of ocean, but generally in need of a bit if maintenance. Bathroom a bit mouldy, room in need of a bit of a scrub. Breakfast restaurant looked wonderful with amazing view, but service was very slow and rather reluctant. Check in staff, valet staff and concierge were excellent - very willing and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
210AmandaP258, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily M, Thank you for taking the time out to review us during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for your room not being within the standards of the hotel. We are busy with the start of our annual winter maintenance programme, to ensure all our rooms are in perfect condition. We are disappointed to hear that... More

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Magnificent Hotel and Staff. Reception and entrance staff especially. To arrive at the hotel and have all your needs taken care of is all that you need for a great holiday. Location Location Location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
210AmandaP258, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JustMyOpinion2014, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so pleased to note that you were well taken care off by our friendly staff, and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We definitely would love to welcome you back to The Ambassador Hotel soon! Best Wishes, Amanda Phillips More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Ambassador Hotel is in Bantry Bay, a 10 minute taxi ride from the V&A Waterfront. The hotel has rooms overlooking the sea and apartments across the road. Staying with family meant that we stayed in one of the spacious two bedroomed apartments across the road from the hotel. The apartments feature a kitchen and have views of the sea.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
210AmandaP258, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cat M, Thank you for your lovely review on The Ambassador Hotel. We are thrilled to know that you had a lovely stay with us, and enjoyed the benefits of our spacious Self Catering Apartments. We are definitely fortunate to have one of the best views in the city! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back... More

Shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed in one of the studio apartments recently for five nights and were very impressed. It was large and bright with a huge bed and had lots of storage/wardrobe space and a very well equipped kitchenette with everything you could possibly need. It also had a balcony with sea views. The staff were great - very helpful and friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
210AmandaP258, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear halcyonlover, Thank you for taking the time out to review us after your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for your compliments towards our staff and service. Personalized and friendly service is what we always strive to achieve. We certainly wish to welcome you back again on... More

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Also Known As:
Ambassador Cape Town
Ambassador Hotel Bantry Bay, Cape Town
Address: 34 Victoria Road | Bantry Bay, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no escaping the beauty of one of the world's favourite places... and the Ambassador Hotel, right on the rocks, is unique in this city of spectacular sights. Every day at the Ambassador Hotel brings a different magic of blue skies, balmy seas and cascading surf. Guests soak up the atmosphere of the ocean relaxing at the pool just metres away from the rocks, in the bar lounge overlooking the sea, or watching seagulls perched on bedroom window sills. The Ambassador Hotel is one of the most spectacular hotels in Cape Town. It is centrally located in Bantry Bay on the Atlantic coastline, surrounded by areas such as the Waterfront, Clifton and Camps Bay, and within close proximity to Cape Point and the botanical gardens of Kirstenbosch. The Ambassador is a luxury hotel with superb dining facilities, and is a perfect destination for vacation or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.