We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Sun City hotels

The Sun City Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P. O. Box 2, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Sun City Hotel to your Saves list
The Sun City Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
56%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Sun City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014
Reywoeke4u
  • Reviews (144)
  • Photos (109)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    39
    33
    20
    12
See reviews for
49
41
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can almost echo a lot of the previous posters. Check in is slow Staff unfriendly but some are friendly. The Casino staff is really unfriendly and most people that stay at the Main Hotel Stay there to be close to the Casino. Overall not worth the drive. I normally stay here once a month but I have decided to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JacoRSA, We would like to thank you for giving a brief write-up on The Sun City Hotel. We apologise that we did not live up to your expectations ths time around. We constantly try to deliver the highest standards in the hospitality field. I would like to personally assure the issue of unfriendly staff will be looked into and... More

Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When you make your reservations you do it with a central reservation in Johannesburg. When I phoned I spoke to a woman that was not clued up and helpful at all. She gave me wrong information and that upset us on our arrival. I booked a double bed, no smoking room with a view. She said she can only book... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vosters, We would like to thank you for the time you took to give us this elaborate feedback. This will assist in bringing our service levels to the highest hospitality standards. From your review, there is a huge need to improve our communication processes within the company in order to inform our guests effectively. Please be assured that this... More

Travelers are raving about these Sun City hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was the most horrible experience to go to suncity. the staff in the hotel has terrible attitude. its like they dont care. the concierge lacks lot of info which kills your planning. the people at reception never picks up phone. the entertainment center where they are suppose to be polite with kids gets irritated if kids take time to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shairul2014, We would like to thank for taking the time to write a review about our property. This will greatly assist in addressing all the issues that you have brought to our attention. It is very disheartening to learn of your very unpleasant stay with us and would like to believe it an isolated occassion that should never happen... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have stayed at many local and international hotels. My worst experience was at the Main Hotel of SunCity. This is my story: I was unceremoniously awoken at 2.45am by a man banging on my room door. I looked through the peephole and there was a dubious looking man with a backpack. He kept calling Tshepo/Lerato. I informed him that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KNaidoo, We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed review of your stay with us. It is very disappointing to learn of your unpleasant stay with us. This is not the kind of memory that we would like any of our valued guests to take away with them. We apologise that security... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I got a midweek online for the vacation club, on arrival our room wasn't ready and the staff was eating lunch at the reception desk, after about 15 min standing I lost My temper the manager was called and the phone rang she just then left after 25min we were checked in. A very friendly gentlemen then offered to help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reywoeke4u, I would like to thank you for giving us this review about your stay on the resort. On behalf of the Vacation Club, i would like to assure you that the issues your raised will be given the utmost attention. I have taken the liberty of escalating your feedback to the Vacation Club management; who will duly give... More

Bordeaux Saint Clair, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was here actualy in 2001 and I was with a group of Rotary Exchange Students friends and we had a lovely day! We stayed and enjoyed the pools because it was very hot and at night we went to the casino. We didn't spend the night because it seemed very expensive. Anway, the confort is there and I keep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yohana_Stupar, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a brief review of the resort. We are humbled to learn that you enjoyed yourself the first time such that you decided to visit us again. We shall endeavour to continually exceed your expectations. Kind regards, Julius Ramotse Hotel Manager The Sun City Hotel &... More

New Delhi, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We traveled in June 2012 as a couple. Firstly entering sun city itself makes you feel super nice! We checked in the hotel and this was the only disappointment that we had with this hotel was the location of the room. It was wayyy off from the hotel lobby and going to the room more than twice a day could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MMittal 1987, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and giving us this feedback. We are very pleased to learn that we managed to thrill you with the "grande breakfast" that you mentioned. We will endeavour to continually improve this. We however apologise for the loction of the room,... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Paid 1600$ for a weekend for 2 rooms and at breakfast we are still charged for a cappuccino. Best to stay away unless u coming to gamble. Looking at the service levels one can see this hotel has fallen away from its original ways which made it famous. Also looking at the up keeping one can see that it's all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Test T, Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. I would like to assure you that all the issues you have highlighted will be looked into with greater scrutiny and will be addressed accordingly. We would like to sincere apologise for not living up to your expectations this time around but would like to believe... More

Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Was hoping to have a great experience here, as the last stop on a long trip. Rooms and Sun City overall were much better than expected. And looks like recent renovations. Architects, designers deserve credit. Entertainment center and variety of hotels also very nice. Pools, maze, games, cinema, restaurants in the hotel - all good. The problem is the management.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Z1136 Serviettes Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your visit to Sun City and your stay at Sun City hotel. I apologize about the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. I am sorry that the processes that we use appeared to be too extreme for you; we will look in to them and review... More

preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We visited Sun City at the wrong time of year, We did not realise our summer was the coldest time to go.... But the Hotel was fab we had been on Safari and chilled out here for the second week. The afternoon teas are to die for I would go again but research the season properly next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julius R, Manager at The Sun City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kaz133, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a great review about the Sun City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to exceed our guests' expectations. We hope that your next visit during our summer will be equally enjoyable. Kind regards, Julius Ramotse Hotel Manager The Sun City Hotel & Casino More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Sun City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Sun City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun City Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 2, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sun City Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Sun City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Sun City

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the bushveld, overlooking valleys and surrounded by mountains, lies South Africa’s Sun City Hotel. With spacious rooms and exotic cuisine in any of the themed restaurants, this hotel embodies perfect luxury. Try a Big 5 safari, let the Sun City Casino dazzle you with its exciting slot machines and tables, take a ride with spectacular shows in The Sun City Theatre or travel the short distance to Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
340

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer