We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Sun City hotels

Cabanas, Sun City

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cabanas, Sun City to your Saves list
Cabanas, Sun City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
46%
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Sun City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014
Alexander K Preston, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (266)
  • Photos (115)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (55)
  • More
true
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    91
    73
    45
    30
See reviews for
125
53
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never been there. Arrived on 30th from the Pilansberg game reserve side, and we're told by a security guard that that he is doing us a favour by letting us in the gate. So not a good start. From there on it was confusion as the resort clearly is not geared sign wise for entry from that side. The reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest It is with regret to hear that your stay was not what you expected. We really apologise for the inconvenience these have caused you during your stay. We will be embarking on a refurb on the Cabanas rooms in the New Year and your comments will help us in addressing all issues. We sincerely apologise. Kind regards Ntebi... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have been going to a Sun City regularly over the last 30 years, and often stayed at the Cabanas. We stayed there again at the end of July, and I am afraid it was the last time. The rooms are old, bathrooms in a bad condition, we did not even have hot water. Breakfast was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest We are very sorry about your experience at Cabanas during your recent stay. This is not how we want you to experience your holiday. We definitely respond and apologise to each and every survey we receive. We will be working on all rooms in the New Near and that is a sign that we listen to your comments... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was no air conditioning or central heating, the floors are tiled with no carpeting which means it was painfully cold to get up in the mornings. The shower head was broken and each time someone else in my area pulled the toilet chain it sounded like the waterworks were about to explode. Soundproofing was also bad as people would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest We would like to thank you for taking time in letting us know about your experience at our Hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your comments are very important to us as it makes us grow as a Hotel. We apologise and for the inconvenience and will address the issues you have raised with... More

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had trouble booking the hotel. Upon arrival my huband was harrased by security because we were carrying non alcoholic champagne. She was rude and arrogant and treated my husband like a criminal. When we arrived to the room a nice little surprise a bottle of bubbly and fruit it was down hill from there. We went for lunch service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for the review on your recent stay, we really apologise for this inconvenience. We are sorry that this happened to you during your stay. These are not the standards we are known for and we are definitely not racists at our Resort. We will address this issue seriously. Thank you once again and sincere apologies Kind... More

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I, with our two kids stayed at the Cabanas from 13-17 July 2014. This was not our first visit to Sun City and have stayed at all of the hotels, except the Palace. The service at the Cabanas are shocking and definitely not up to standard. One gets the impression that the personnel there, as well as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the time you took to give us this review about your recent stay. We regret that your expectations were not met during your stay. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and hope this will not stop you from visiting the Resort again Regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently took our kids for a mid week break to the cabanas. The cabanas is the cheapest of the 4 hotels at sun city , however the pricing for this 3 star is not at all cheap so i expected a bit more. The hotel staff. Most of the ones i dealt with were simply not interested in helping.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much on your feedback about your recent stay. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. We apologise for the inconvenience and all issues raised will addressed. Sincere apologies Kind regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel Manager More

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice central clean had a good stay enjoyed it will visit again good if you are on a budget and want to have a decent hotel don't recommend the hotel restaurant though Nice central clean had a good stay enjoyed it will visit again good if you are on a budget and want to have a decent hotel don't recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest We would like to thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay. We hope to see you soon. We appreciate your feedback Kind regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel Manager More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spend some time at the Cabanas over the weekend with family and friends. Pleasant enough experience with the family. Kids enjoyed the Valley of Waves, adults the general atmosphere and nice breakfast spread on offer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for the feedback we received on your recent stay. We hope you took lots of picture to have memories about your stay. We hope to see you again Kind regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel Manager Cabanas More

Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We recently had some complaints surrounding service delivery (during the strike last week) which regretfully impacted on the usually good standards at The Cabanas. The incredible 'post stay' service from the GM, Ms Ntebi Mathope is truly commendable - what an asset she is to Sun International. Thank you Ms Mothope - that's what we call service. Prompt, efficient and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for the feedback. I am pleased that after your experience we managed to make you happy. We strive to make our guests happy at all times. We hope to see you soon. Regards Ntebi Mathope Hotel manager More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Was at the cabanas with colleagues in may last year and I must say it's perfect for guys weekend out, we partied and had drinks all night with no reason to worry about anything what so ever, during the day we went to valley of the waves to try and detox and yes we just enjoyed ourselves. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ntebi M, Manager at Cabanas, Sun City, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself all over Sun City including at the Valley Of Waves. We also hope that you took loads of menories home that will make you come back for more. Kind regards Ntebi Mathope More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cabanas, Sun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cabanas, Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas, Sun City

Address: Sun City Resort, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas, Sun City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cabanas, Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas, Sun City Hotel Sun City
Sun City Cabanas
Cabanas Hotel Sun City

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Near Cabanas, Sun City

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The refreshing, laid back ambiance of the Cabanas hotel in South Africa is the immediate impression one receives upon welcome. The most relaxed of all the Sun City hotels, the Cabanas offer informal yet comfortable accommodation close to Johannesburg. All rooms offer modern decor and a retro design. Guests can choose between standard and luxury rooms, all are air-conditioned and equipped with flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, electronic safes and telephones. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
380

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cabanas, Sun City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer