We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Mafikeng

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
80 Nelson Mandela Drive, Mafikeng 2745, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel Mafikeng
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Mafikeng
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Business in the North West and not wanting to drive to and from Gauteng in one day then here is the ideal place to stay. From check in to check out the hotel functioned well. Everything in its place and everything worked. It is so easy to let standards slide outside of the main city centres but here in Mafikeng... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I needed a place for one night in the Mafikeng region. This hotel was recommended. I was so pleasantly surprised. Although it is in a fairly small town, the hotel is just beautiful. The rooms are as fine as I found anywhere. Beautifully appointed, they include air conditioning, hot showers, lie flat bath tub. The best part was the friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Centurion
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Curteous and helpful staff. Great location near shopping centres. Sleep quality is good as there is not much noise around. Rooms are modern and spacious. Breakfast and dinner was great. My only dissapointment was the pool area which was full of leaves and no one bothered to clean it. Overall a great hotel to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Benoni, South Africa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Stayed only one night on a business trip. I was quite surprised to find this hotel there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is new and has a charming reception and decor. I also enjoyed the food. If the Chef makes dumplings, have more than one, they are worth it. Everything was working and clean and neat.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Herman K, Thank you for your feedback in your review, we will be sure to convey to the STAFF your comments about the level of friendly and helpful service you have experienced. Our dumplings is a local favorite and we are happy that we could offer you a homely meal after a long day in the office ! We... More 

Cape Town
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Minus a seemingly large amount of guesthouses in the area, there are only two hotels in Mafikeng/ Mmabatho. Protea hotel is a business hotel in the main and Mmabatho Sun/ Palms, approximately 3-4km up the road, is a leisure/ family hotel. Protea hotel is the newest hotel of the two with a more contemporary interior. My room was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Daniel-CPT, Thank you for your feedback in your review. Our GUEST comments and critique is highly valued as that is the true yardstick that we use to improve and correct our service offering in the areas we fall short. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure that the service shortfalls in the areas you have mentioned have... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I conducted a workshop at this hotel in October and I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, friendly staff and good food. For a hotel in a small town it competed with some of the hotels in big cities. I enjoyed my walks in the afternoon on the paved walkways towards Mmabatho Palms. My only disappointment was the time it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Jane M, Thank you for your the kind words in your review, we will be sure to convey to the STAFF your comments about the level of friendly service and good food you have experienced. It is only with the valuable feedback from our GUESTS that we are able to improve on our service and I am happy to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Good accommodation for Mafikeng think it might be some of the best for a business trip to the region , staff helpful and friendly do think it is a bit costly compared to other Protea hotels for a very similar experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear DanielKruger, Thank you for your feedback in your review, we will be sure to convey to the STAFF your comments about the level of friendly and helpful service you have experienced. At Protea Hotels we are making use of dynamic pricing hence the rate you were quoted, if you would like to qualify for additional discounts, have you considered... More 

Pretoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

It was an average experience, stayed on night. Service at breakfast and dinner is nt up to scratch, check in was okay, not excellent jus okay. The rooms are really nice. The noise from other guest was a bit irritating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mishack P, Thank you for your feedback in your review. Our GUEST comments and critique is highly valued as that is the true yardstick that we use to improve and correct our service offering in the areas we fall short. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure that the level of service in the Food and Beverage... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Staying at this hotel was a good experience I couldn't complain about anything. I stayed here with my family and we all had a good experience. The people who work at this hotel were friendly and helpful, when you needed them. I shall definitely come back here if I am to be in Mafikeng again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Kogoshoko, Thank you for your staying with Protea Hotels during your travels and the kind words in your review. Our aim is to provide the best GUEST service and we are glad that we have met your expectations. We shall be sure to share your comments with the TEAM and we look for forward to welcome you back in... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Taps spray water all over, basin drains blocked. Bathroom door doesn't lock. Some serious maintenance work required to get thngs bak in order. Everything the same as it was when hotel was built,maintenance staff doing a poor job. Wear and tear getting the better part of them. Overall though a good over nighter. Will DEFINITELY recommend over Mmabatho Palms. Protea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed S Thank you for staying with Protea Hotels during your travels. Your loyal support and valuable feedback is welcomed. I am truly sorry that there were certain maintenance issues that did not make your stay as pleasant as hoped for. This is most certainly not the level of service that we are usually so proud to offer and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question