We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Mafikeng hotels

Protea Hotel Mafikeng

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Nelson Mandela Drive, Mafikeng 2745, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Mafikeng to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Mafikeng
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
76%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mafikeng
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kogoshoko
  • Overview
  • Reviews (13)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying at this hotel was a good experience I couldn't complain about anything. I stayed here with my family and we all had a good experience. The people who work at this hotel were friendly and helpful, when you needed them. I shall definitely come back here if I am to be in Mafikeng again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Taps spray water all over, basin drains blocked. Bathroom door doesn't lock. Some serious maintenance work required to get thngs bak in order. Everything the same as it was when hotel was built,maintenance staff doing a poor job. Wear and tear getting the better part of them. Overall though a good over nighter. Will DEFINITELY recommend over Mmabatho Palms. Protea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed S Thank you for staying with Protea Hotels during your travels. Your loyal support and valuable feedback is welcomed. I am truly sorry that there were certain maintenance issues that did not make your stay as pleasant as hoped for. This is most certainly not the level of service that we are usually so proud to offer and... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night, after a very long drive. Friendly, efficient check-in.The first room I was given had a toilet that continued to run/ flush. I was immediately given a new room. Nice furnishings, comfortable bed. Free 500 MB WiFi. Negative incident: Unfortunately the outside caterer messed up and didn't deliver my halaal meal. The room service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed R Your feedback is welcomed by the TEAM and thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor. We understand the importance of creating a positive first impression and your commendation about the friendly STAFF at check-in is exactly what we aim for. I am also happy that you made use of the 500mb complimentary Wi-Fi per day. I am... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Checked into the Protea Hotel Mafikeng for 2 nights and really did not have anything bad to say about it except for 2 disastrous incidents. Upon approval, despite assurances from the travel agency my company uses, the hotel refused to check me in until I paid. So, not wanting to be stranded in Mafikeng in the middle of the night,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear SabeloN Thank you for staying with Protea Hotels during your travels. Your loyal support and valuable feedback is welcomed. I am truly sorry that there are one or two little things that turned your great stay into one that left a bad taste in your mouth. This is most certainly not the level of service that we are usually... More

Welkom, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stay over at this hotel almost on a weekly basis , when we visit Mahikeng on our business trips. The rooms are very neat with comfortable beds and a kettle with coffee and tea. The bathrooms are very modern and the additional personal products that are provided just gives it that little extra personality. We have had numerous different... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Klipkraal Thank you for your continued support of Protea Hotel Mafikeng and posting a review on TripAdvisor. In our aim to provide the best GUEST service we strive to add the personal touch at all times. I am extremely pleased to hear that we are achieving this goal and the STAFF will continue to strive for excellence. Congratulations will... More

Vryburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was booked at Protea Hotel Mafikeng by my company and I stayed there for a week and a couple of days. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean tidy, the food was nice especially the breakfast. I wouldn't book anywhere else when I'm in Mafikeng

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Kgothatso Your title embraces the experience that we aim to offer all our GUESTS. The interaction you had with our friendly STAFF helps create the ‘feel at home’ environment you mentioned. The chef and TEAM continue to search for dishes to delight ones senses and they will be motivated by your positive comments about the food. I really appreciate... More

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have come to the conclusion that booking a room on the internet for a hotel that is part of a large chain, is like booking a flight on the internet. The price you are offered has very little to do with market values and is invariable more expensive on the day you want to book in than it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Erica First of all we would like to thank you for your kind words posted on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide our GUESTS with spectacular service and apart from the few mishaps you have mentioned, we are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your feedback plays a valuable role in measuring our performance. We have taken... More

Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay in when in Mafikeng, it offers clean modern rooms with all the amenities that you would expect from a 4 Star hotel. The barman offers great variety of drinks an the food is not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear DaveSet Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel Mafikeng as one of the few Protea Hotels you visited recently. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had time to relax with a delicious drink prepared by the barman. I will most definitely pass on your compliments to the bar STAFF. I hope you had a successful trip and... More

Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 hotel reviews
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is a new property on the outskirts of Mafikeng. Reception - Polite, warm people. Large airy space, well decorated, welcoming and modern. Room - about 150 feet plus a full bathroom. Well decorated in a clean modern style, with a desk. The windows open. Clean. Bed - very comfortable full double, good linens. Bathroom - large, full bath/shower combo.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stay at the Protea Hotel for about 20/30 nights every year for business, I am yet to find anything negative to say. The manager runs a tight ship and always goes the extra mile, the staff are friendly, well trained and very efficient, (they even remember patrons names!) The rooms are clean and it is always a pleasure to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Mafikeng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Mafikeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Mafikeng

Address: 80 Nelson Mandela Drive, Mafikeng 2745, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Mafikeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Mafikeng 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Mafikeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Mafikeng - The most modern hotel in Mafikeng. Mafikeng, the cultural jewel of the North-West Province, is ideally located in an area rich in culture, history and wildlife. Protea Hotel Mafikeng offers guests air-conditioned and en-suite rooms in an amazing location. Visit the local museum to have the town’s sites brought to life. There is even a living museum where you can experience a traditional African Village. If that’s not enough, be spoilt for choice with leisure facilities in the area including game reserves, golf, tennis, squash, off-road motor sport facilities and a casino nearby. Our 70-seater restaurant awaits your return to be wined and dined. Feel free to pop over to the Coffee and Cocktail Bar for a nightcap. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Mafikeng staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer