We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Mafikeng

80 Nelson Mandela Drive, Mafikeng 2745, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel Mafikeng
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Mafikeng
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I needed a place for one night in the Mafikeng region. This hotel was recommended. I was so pleasantly surprised. Although it is in a fairly small town, the hotel is just beautiful. The rooms are as fine as I found anywhere. Beautifully appointed, they include air conditioning, hot showers, lie flat bath tub. The best part was the friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centurion
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Curteous and helpful staff. Great location near shopping centres. Sleep quality is good as there is not much noise around. Rooms are modern and spacious. Breakfast and dinner was great. My only dissapointment was the pool area which was full of leaves and no one bothered to clean it. Overall a great hotel to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benoni, South Africa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Stayed only one night on a business trip. I was quite surprised to find this hotel there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is new and has a charming reception and decor. I also enjoyed the food. If the Chef makes dumplings, have more than one, they are worth it. Everything was working and clean and neat.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Herman K, Thank you for your feedback in your review, we will be sure to convey to the STAFF your comments about the level of friendly and helpful service you have experienced. Our dumplings is a local favorite and we are happy that we could offer you a homely meal after a long day in the office ! We... More 

Cape Town
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Minus a seemingly large amount of guesthouses in the area, there are only two hotels in Mafikeng/ Mmabatho. Protea hotel is a business hotel in the main and Mmabatho Sun/ Palms, approximately 3-4km up the road, is a leisure/ family hotel. Protea hotel is the newest hotel of the two with a more contemporary interior. My room was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Daniel-CPT, Thank you for your feedback in your review. Our GUEST comments and critique is highly valued as that is the true yardstick that we use to improve and correct our service offering in the areas we fall short. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure that the service shortfalls in the areas you have mentioned have... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I conducted a workshop at this hotel in October and I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, friendly staff and good food. For a hotel in a small town it competed with some of the hotels in big cities. I enjoyed my walks in the afternoon on the paved walkways towards Mmabatho Palms. My only disappointment was the time it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Jane M, Thank you for your the kind words in your review, we will be sure to convey to the STAFF your comments about the level of friendly service and good food you have experienced. It is only with the valuable feedback from our GUESTS that we are able to improve on our service and I am happy to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Good accommodation for Mafikeng think it might be some of the best for a business trip to the region , staff helpful and friendly do think it is a bit costly compared to other Protea hotels for a very similar experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear DanielKruger, Thank you for your feedback in your review, we will be sure to convey to the STAFF your comments about the level of friendly and helpful service you have experienced. At Protea Hotels we are making use of dynamic pricing hence the rate you were quoted, if you would like to qualify for additional discounts, have you considered... More 

Pretoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

It was an average experience, stayed on night. Service at breakfast and dinner is nt up to scratch, check in was okay, not excellent jus okay. The rooms are really nice. The noise from other guest was a bit irritating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mishack P, Thank you for your feedback in your review. Our GUEST comments and critique is highly valued as that is the true yardstick that we use to improve and correct our service offering in the areas we fall short. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure that the level of service in the Food and Beverage... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Staying at this hotel was a good experience I couldn't complain about anything. I stayed here with my family and we all had a good experience. The people who work at this hotel were friendly and helpful, when you needed them. I shall definitely come back here if I am to be in Mafikeng again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Kogoshoko, Thank you for your staying with Protea Hotels during your travels and the kind words in your review. Our aim is to provide the best GUEST service and we are glad that we have met your expectations. We shall be sure to share your comments with the TEAM and we look for forward to welcome you back in... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Taps spray water all over, basin drains blocked. Bathroom door doesn't lock. Some serious maintenance work required to get thngs bak in order. Everything the same as it was when hotel was built,maintenance staff doing a poor job. Wear and tear getting the better part of them. Overall though a good over nighter. Will DEFINITELY recommend over Mmabatho Palms. Protea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed S Thank you for staying with Protea Hotels during your travels. Your loyal support and valuable feedback is welcomed. I am truly sorry that there were certain maintenance issues that did not make your stay as pleasant as hoped for. This is most certainly not the level of service that we are usually so proud to offer and... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night, after a very long drive. Friendly, efficient check-in.The first room I was given had a toilet that continued to run/ flush. I was immediately given a new room. Nice furnishings, comfortable bed. Free 500 MB WiFi. Negative incident: Unfortunately the outside caterer messed up and didn't deliver my halaal meal. The room service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed R Your feedback is welcomed by the TEAM and thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor. We understand the importance of creating a positive first impression and your commendation about the friendly STAFF at check-in is exactly what we aim for. I am also happy that you made use of the 500mb complimentary Wi-Fi per day. I am... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Mafikeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Mafikeng

Address: 80 Nelson Mandela Drive, Mafikeng 2745, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Mafikeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Mafikeng 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Mafikeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Protea Hotel Mafikeng