We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Mafikeng hotels

Protea Hotel Mafikeng

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Nelson Mandela Drive, Mafikeng 2745, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Protea Hotel Mafikeng
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Mafikeng to your Saves list
73%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mafikeng
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
DanielKruger Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good accommodation for Mafikeng think it might be some of the best for a business trip to the region , staff helpful and friendly do think it is a bit costly compared to other Protea hotels for a very similar experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear DanielKruger, Thank you for your feedback in your review, we will be sure to convey to the STAFF your comments about the level of friendly and helpful service you have experienced. At Protea Hotels we are making use of dynamic pricing hence the rate you were quoted, if you would like to qualify for additional discounts, have you considered... More

Pretoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was an average experience, stayed on night. Service at breakfast and dinner is nt up to scratch, check in was okay, not excellent jus okay. The rooms are really nice. The noise from other guest was a bit irritating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mishack P, Thank you for your feedback in your review. Our GUEST comments and critique is highly valued as that is the true yardstick that we use to improve and correct our service offering in the areas we fall short. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure that the level of service in the Food and Beverage... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Staying at this hotel was a good experience I couldn't complain about anything. I stayed here with my family and we all had a good experience. The people who work at this hotel were friendly and helpful, when you needed them. I shall definitely come back here if I am to be in Mafikeng again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Kogoshoko, Thank you for your staying with Protea Hotels during your travels and the kind words in your review. Our aim is to provide the best GUEST service and we are glad that we have met your expectations. We shall be sure to share your comments with the TEAM and we look for forward to welcome you back in... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Taps spray water all over, basin drains blocked. Bathroom door doesn't lock. Some serious maintenance work required to get thngs bak in order. Everything the same as it was when hotel was built,maintenance staff doing a poor job. Wear and tear getting the better part of them. Overall though a good over nighter. Will DEFINITELY recommend over Mmabatho Palms. Protea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pieter K, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed S Thank you for staying with Protea Hotels during your travels. Your loyal support and valuable feedback is welcomed. I am truly sorry that there were certain maintenance issues that did not make your stay as pleasant as hoped for. This is most certainly not the level of service that we are usually so proud to offer and... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night, after a very long drive. Friendly, efficient check-in.The first room I was given had a toilet that continued to run/ flush. I was immediately given a new room. Nice furnishings, comfortable bed. Free 500 MB WiFi. Negative incident: Unfortunately the outside caterer messed up and didn't deliver my halaal meal. The room service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Mohamed R Your feedback is welcomed by the TEAM and thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor. We understand the importance of creating a positive first impression and your commendation about the friendly STAFF at check-in is exactly what we aim for. I am also happy that you made use of the 500mb complimentary Wi-Fi per day. I am... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Checked into the Protea Hotel Mafikeng for 2 nights and really did not have anything bad to say about it except for 2 disastrous incidents. Upon approval, despite assurances from the travel agency my company uses, the hotel refused to check me in until I paid. So, not wanting to be stranded in Mafikeng in the middle of the night,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear SabeloN Thank you for staying with Protea Hotels during your travels. Your loyal support and valuable feedback is welcomed. I am truly sorry that there are one or two little things that turned your great stay into one that left a bad taste in your mouth. This is most certainly not the level of service that we are usually... More

Welkom, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stay over at this hotel almost on a weekly basis , when we visit Mahikeng on our business trips. The rooms are very neat with comfortable beds and a kettle with coffee and tea. The bathrooms are very modern and the additional personal products that are provided just gives it that little extra personality. We have had numerous different... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Klipkraal Thank you for your continued support of Protea Hotel Mafikeng and posting a review on TripAdvisor. In our aim to provide the best GUEST service we strive to add the personal touch at all times. I am extremely pleased to hear that we are achieving this goal and the STAFF will continue to strive for excellence. Congratulations will... More

Vryburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was booked at Protea Hotel Mafikeng by my company and I stayed there for a week and a couple of days. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean tidy, the food was nice especially the breakfast. I wouldn't book anywhere else when I'm in Mafikeng

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Kgothatso Your title embraces the experience that we aim to offer all our GUESTS. The interaction you had with our friendly STAFF helps create the ‘feel at home’ environment you mentioned. The chef and TEAM continue to search for dishes to delight ones senses and they will be motivated by your positive comments about the food. I really appreciate... More

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have come to the conclusion that booking a room on the internet for a hotel that is part of a large chain, is like booking a flight on the internet. The price you are offered has very little to do with market values and is invariable more expensive on the day you want to book in than it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear Erica First of all we would like to thank you for your kind words posted on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide our GUESTS with spectacular service and apart from the few mishaps you have mentioned, we are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your feedback plays a valuable role in measuring our performance. We have taken... More

Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay in when in Mafikeng, it offers clean modern rooms with all the amenities that you would expect from a 4 Star hotel. The barman offers great variety of drinks an the food is not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mafikeng, responded to this review

Dear DaveSet Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel Mafikeng as one of the few Protea Hotels you visited recently. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had time to relax with a delicious drink prepared by the barman. I will most definitely pass on your compliments to the bar STAFF. I hope you had a successful trip and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Mafikeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Mafikeng

Address: 80 Nelson Mandela Drive, Mafikeng 2745, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Mafikeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Mafikeng 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Mafikeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay