We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun The Ridge

Cnr President Avenue and N4 Highway, Witbank 1034, South Africa (Formerly Ridge Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Southern Sun The Ridge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Witbank
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
imraan e Durban, South Africa
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

family had booked about 12 rooms at this property. check in and check out was excellent, staff in general very helpful and friendly. however worst breakfast experience ever. hardly any staff to serve you, no one bothered to refill the juice, bread and bring more glasses when they were finished. we had to look for staff and ask for this... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Imraan We acknowledge receipt of your feedback following your experience at our Complex breakfast room. Upon investigation we gathered that the chef did make contact with you. We once again apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have updated your profile with your preferences so that you don`t have bad experience like your last visit when you give us return... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service and staff was most welcoming and friendly and always had a smile. The only problem we had was ordering room service and when it came it took an hour and the desert which was order was not totally done properly (pancakes) was still raw in the inside. They should also look at catering for the Halaal persons if... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Zain Some Remarks Thank you so much for your great feedback with regards to our staff friendliness. We have shared your comments with them and were grateful to learn that they contributed somehow to your stay with us. We note your comments concerning not being Halaal Friendly , delayed room service orders and poor quality of the dishes received.... More 

Witbank, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

For my side i see everything was very excellent i have no words to say becouse everything was very well clean,service,valeu,rooms and the sleeping was quality everything was perferent i enjoy each any every moment Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Themba The Place Is Very Good Thank you so much for your great feedback following your stay at our hotel Southern Sun The Ridge. We have few accommodation stay specials for the rest of the year. Our reservations team will always be waiting to hear from you. Warm regards Joseph More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Taking my husband out for his 57th birthday and it was a great idea to go to the Ridge. Reception was efficient, room was comfy, food was great. We even had a bottle of wine in the room as if they knew that we had an important milestone to celebrate. Enjoyed a free movie at the cinema, overall a great... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Jane A Nice Break Following your participation on Tripadvisor survey and your recent visit at our hotel, we would like to thank you for the great feedback. We are delighted to learn that the products and services we render met your expectations. Please do not be a stranger to our Complex. There is still Mother`s , Father`s & Women`s... More 

Mosselbay
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

'We have a good stay with friendly welcoming and up to standards. The lady at the casino desk to issue the rates for the hotel on our behalf was very friendly and supportive. The hotel reception was from excellent standard. Very friendly

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Magrietha Very Good Thank you very much for your great feedback following your stay at our hotel Southern Sun The Ridge. Your feedback was shared with all the staff members and were very happy tp hear that they contributed to your unforgettable memorable experience. Your support is so important to us. We hope to see you back soon. Warm... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Tsogo Sun offered a Valentine weekend special... Upon seeing the special I "grabbed" the opportunity immediately to book a romantic weekend away with a very special Lady that is in my Life. On our arrival we were made to feel welcome and given a complete itinerary for our stay. We had a fantastic time and my wife really got to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Clint Heart Warming Experience at SS The Ridge Witbank We are so delighted to learn that your Valentine`s Day experience at our Complex met your expectations. Thank you so much for your support and excellent feedback. Keep on watching our website for more events and Specials to come. Our reservations team will always be waiting to hear from you.... More 

Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

WiFi service an connectivity very poor. Rooms are clean and well set up. You can often hear casino noise or hallway noise. In room dining was good, but spicey clamari was inedible ..... so heavily spiced.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Colin Thank you for taking part on our Tripadvisor survey following your stay at Southern Sun The Ridge. We note your comments with regards to noise from the Casino as well as the spicy calamari. Please accept our apologies for any inconveneince caused during this visit. Your comments have been shared with the respective department heads to see how... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I receive a warm welcome on arrival at Southern Sun The Ridge. My room was clean all the time and exceeded my exectations. The Hotel employees were responsive to my needs. A special appreciattion to the following employees: Prudence, Nhlakanipho, Leroy and Pertunia. Well done and keep up the EXCELLENT SERVICE!!! Value for money and I will recommend Southern Sun... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph M, Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Simphiwe We are so delighted to learn that you had a great stay at our hotel Southern Sun The Ridge. We are even more proud to hear that our human element resource,staff members, were the ones that were the main contributors to your excellent stay. We are proud to have a team like the members you mentioned in your... More 

Burgersfort, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I with our 1year old slept over because we were attending a wedding in witbank. The rooms are clean and the hotel is situated very conveniently right next to the mall. The hairdryer in our room's cord was so short I could not lift it out of the drawer it was put in, it was as if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Rozanne Thank you for taking your time in giving us feedback following your stay at our Southern Sun The Ridge property. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused from poor check in to a short hair dryer. The points raised will be investigated and dealt with accordingly. We hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Excellent service. And very helpfull and friendly staff. The food was great. I enjoyed staying @ Tsogo Sun Ridge Hotel & Casino from the 16th December till 18th December. I will certainly visit again. And recommend it to other people as well. Definately a top 10 Hotel in South Africa

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joseph M, General Manager at Southern Sun The Ridge, responded to this review

Dear Jacques Highveld Vacation It is with great delight to learn that you had a superb stay at our hotel. Your excellent feedback has been conveyed to our staff and were so happy to hear that they had a positive contribution to your stay. We value your feedback and support and hope to hear from you soon. We wish you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question