We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel The Winkler

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    49
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
23
32
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are proud to say "we love staying at The Winkler". My wife and I visited the Winkler again, I think for the seventh time and we stayed for four nights. We love the hotel for a couple of reasons but the most are that the staff is friendly, the hotel is situated in a quiet area where you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there as part of a Grand Circle tour of Krueger National Park. The breakfasts were good, but the dinners featured slow service in a very crowded venue. Noise level for meals was very high. We were scheduled to have a presentation with a computer projector. Our guide has done this at this hotel on previous tours, but staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Charley44, Thank you for constructive criticism of the service team both of Front Office and restaurant staff, the points you have put down during your staff in November of 2014 have subsequently been addressed through the team going through much needed service training both through in-house service training and juiced” training which focuses on the staff meeting and superseding... More 

Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Stayed here Easter weekend 2015 as part of smarTours' Cape Town & Safari Express trip. This is smarTours' hotel choice for the area - which means the hotel should be prepared for the number of guests who come on regular basis since this is a popular tour. What is good? The hotel grounds is pretty with their landscaping and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Ligaya2, Thank you Sir for your thorough and constructive criticism of the hotel during your stay at the hotel over the Easter Weekend. We were indeed prepared and ready for the weekend and ran a successful kids entertainment program over the period which was well received. Thank you for the positive feedback about the grounds, which our guests really... More 

Pretoria
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Insufficient staff unable to cope in the restaurant at breakfast.. Only one serving area for cooked food i.e. the making of omelettes, eggs, etc. Depleted jams, juice and milk not replenished. Checkout a shambles. Incorrect billing and deposit deductions. Incorrect tariff used as well. Took 30 min to rectify resulting in a late arrival for an appointment. Overall impression is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Sandy S Thank you for bringing across your constructive criticism in terms of the poor clientèle service and attention to detail you experienced at the hands of both our service staff in the restaurant and the front office.I would like to take this time to personally apologise for making you late for your important appointment. Rest assured that the... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I liked the interlinking rooms, they are very spacious and allow for privacy. The food was amazing. I was also very impressed by how clean the rooms were. The outside space is great and my girls just loved it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear TheNjis, Thank you for taking the time and forwarding positive feedback on both the hotel and the food, positive feedback like this goes a long way in motivating both myself and my team. I have to agree with you about the outside space or the grounds it is a little slice of “heaven “and it is our place families... More 

Gauteng
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Wow what a magical place to spend a night. We had dinner under African skies, had tribe and samp on the menu. A stir fry evening with live band. Sangoma's that did entertainment. We were eating under a big tree next to the boma and the experience is truly magnificent. Well done guys it was a pleasure being there will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Ferren508, I am glad you enjoyed the evening that the banqueting and F&B team put together. I also thoroughly enjoyed myself at the event too. I have shared your positive feedback about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff with the team here at The Winkler as well. Thank you for taking the time to post this positive comment... More 

Pretoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I hate giving a bad review. Can't really complain about the service at The Winkler.... Cause there wasn't any! Most things were an effort or just not done at all. Ordered room service, a toasted sandwich which just never arrived. Phoned a few times but then gave up. The burger patties had pieces of bone and cartilage in them, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Tarryn_mcg Thank you for taking the time and forwarding through your constructive negative feedback on your stay with us at The Winkler. After looking into your complaint we found that staff service has resulted in your frustration. The staff has been reprimanded to ensure that issues like this will not happen again. We have also held s service workshop... More 

Travelers are raving about these White River hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and we even wanted to extend our stay, that is how pleasant, relaxing and comfortable it was. We stayed in a suite. This suite was very spacious, beautiful, clean and well decorated. The suite has a very huge balcony and is well situated with very beautiful scenery. The food was delicious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Nollen K Thank you for taking the time to write this positive feedback about both our rooms and the food, I have shared it with the respective teams. I love the hotel grounds personally myself and as you have mentioned with us being out of time one tends to feel refreshed and rejuvenated after staying here. As you have... More 

Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The Hotel was Lovely, staff was lovely. The food not so much. It was Ok but no way great. The location was great for Kruger National Park, only 20 minutes away. Make sure you have a big 3 pronged converter for this area of South Africa. The Hotel only had a few to lend out. You don't want to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear andrea870 Thank you for your positive and constructive review of our hotel. I glad my team were able to ensure your friends and yourself had an enjoyable staff here with us in The Winkler Hotel. I have shared your concerns with the F&B Manager and the Executive chef, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We often stay at the Winkler due to its proximity to the Kruger Park. Always a very comfortable and enjoyable stay with the kids - rooms are clean, the staff are always very friendly and the food is always tasty! The kids enjoy the large grounds to run and play. Well done again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Tim and family, We thoroughly enjoyed hosted you and your family and it is good to see positive feedback for the hotel and staff alike. Positive feedback always goes a long way to motivate our staff to constantly improve and meet the necessary service levels. Thank you for taking the time to express your views which will be shared... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay