We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel The Winkler

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    25
    6
    8
See reviews for
23
31
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here Easter weekend 2015 as part of smarTours' Cape Town & Safari Express trip. This is smarTours' hotel choice for the area - which means the hotel should be prepared for the number of guests who come on regular basis since this is a popular tour. What is good? The hotel grounds is pretty with their landscaping and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Insufficient staff unable to cope in the restaurant at breakfast.. Only one serving area for cooked food i.e. the making of omelettes, eggs, etc. Depleted jams, juice and milk not replenished. Checkout a shambles. Incorrect billing and deposit deductions. Incorrect tariff used as well. Took 30 min to rectify resulting in a late arrival for an appointment. Overall impression is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked the interlinking rooms, they are very spacious and allow for privacy. The food was amazing. I was also very impressed by how clean the rooms were. The outside space is great and my girls just loved it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear TheNjis, Thank you for taking the time and forwarding positive feedback on both the hotel and the food, positive feedback like this goes a long way in motivating both myself and my team. I have to agree with you about the outside space or the grounds it is a little slice of “heaven “and it is our place families... More 

Gauteng
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow what a magical place to spend a night. We had dinner under African skies, had tribe and samp on the menu. A stir fry evening with live band. Sangoma's that did entertainment. We were eating under a big tree next to the boma and the experience is truly magnificent. Well done guys it was a pleasure being there will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Ferren508, I am glad you enjoyed the evening that the banqueting and F&B team put together. I also thoroughly enjoyed myself at the event too. I have shared your positive feedback about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff with the team here at The Winkler as well. Thank you for taking the time to post this positive comment... More 

Pretoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I hate giving a bad review. Can't really complain about the service at The Winkler.... Cause there wasn't any! Most things were an effort or just not done at all. Ordered room service, a toasted sandwich which just never arrived. Phoned a few times but then gave up. The burger patties had pieces of bone and cartilage in them, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Tarryn_mcg Thank you for taking the time and forwarding through your constructive negative feedback on your stay with us at The Winkler. After looking into your complaint we found that staff service has resulted in your frustration. The staff has been reprimanded to ensure that issues like this will not happen again. We have also held s service workshop... More 

Travelers are raving about these White River hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and we even wanted to extend our stay, that is how pleasant, relaxing and comfortable it was. We stayed in a suite. This suite was very spacious, beautiful, clean and well decorated. The suite has a very huge balcony and is well situated with very beautiful scenery. The food was delicious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Nollen K Thank you for taking the time to write this positive feedback about both our rooms and the food, I have shared it with the respective teams. I love the hotel grounds personally myself and as you have mentioned with us being out of time one tends to feel refreshed and rejuvenated after staying here. As you have... More 

Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The Hotel was Lovely, staff was lovely. The food not so much. It was Ok but no way great. The location was great for Kruger National Park, only 20 minutes away. Make sure you have a big 3 pronged converter for this area of South Africa. The Hotel only had a few to lend out. You don't want to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear andrea870 Thank you for your positive and constructive review of our hotel. I glad my team were able to ensure your friends and yourself had an enjoyable staff here with us in The Winkler Hotel. I have shared your concerns with the F&B Manager and the Executive chef, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We often stay at the Winkler due to its proximity to the Kruger Park. Always a very comfortable and enjoyable stay with the kids - rooms are clean, the staff are always very friendly and the food is always tasty! The kids enjoy the large grounds to run and play. Well done again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Tim and family, We thoroughly enjoyed hosted you and your family and it is good to see positive feedback for the hotel and staff alike. Positive feedback always goes a long way to motivate our staff to constantly improve and meet the necessary service levels. Thank you for taking the time to express your views which will be shared... More 

Piet Retief
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

i was booked at white river and thought it was in nelspruit damn , but in nelspruit they managed to direct me and call in white river to confirm as it was booked by my company and unfortunately all places in nelspruit was fully booked . in white river i enjoyed every moment except the shops and banks where a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear ZikZak, Thank you for this positive feedback of the hotel and my team. It is proof in the pudding that the team is doing well when we get a good review from our clients, and the feedback we get goes a long way in motivating the team to supersede our clientele’s expectations. I happy to see you were directed... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

We often stay at the hotel on our way back from Johannesberg, and always get a friendly welcome bacK! Rooms are clean and really nicely furnished. Staff are helpful. We have done breakfast a few times which is at an extra, they have a big variety of food which caters for everyone. A tip- check the walk in rate before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Chantelle M, What a nice recommendation and positive review thank you for the good feedback on my staff, rooms and food at our lovely property. It is always motivating for my team in the various departments that their efforts are not going unnoticed. I have shared the feedback with my heads of department in reception, food and beverage as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay