We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 White River hotels

Protea Hotel The Winkler

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Protea Hotel The Winkler
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel The Winkler to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in White River
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Terry H Letchworth Garden City
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
25
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Letchworth Garden City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In an emergency we had to find an hotel around this area and remembered we once, many years ago, stayed at The Winkler. The hotel is still very good and very close to the Kruger National Park. Buffet breakfast was sparce because the coach parties got in before us and we had to chase up for top ups, hence the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WJStone, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us some insightful feedback on your stay with us. I am really happy you enjoyed the pool facilities while staying with us and you felt both the bar inviting and our front office staff helpful. I have past your compliments onto the respective departments. I do however apologies that... More 

Wellington, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We decided on the protea hotel because they are part of a suppose to be reputable group. The staff are totally clueless and lack basic hospitality training. We experience poor service from checking to awful food at the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charmaine K, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Mr Hatting. Thank you again for taking my call yesterday. Your feedback has allowed me to investigate the matters that you have highlighted and I really do appreciate this, as we always welcome any feedback to ensure that our product is of the highest quality. My TEAM and I have gone back to the drawing board with regards to... More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Enjoyed watching the eastern views around sunset. Having a lovely view as I am penning this down, or rather keying it down. Have been here with someone and now here by myself. The service and the smiles are just as great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charmaine K, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your valuable feedback, It makes me extremely proud of the TEAM when I receive feedback like yours. I have conveyed your experience to the TEAM. These comments motivates the reasoning beyond the drive to meet and exceed GUEST expectation. Have a lovely day! More 

South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Wide open spaces and a very laid back and relaxed atmosphere. We went in winter, so we couldn't makeuse of the swimming pool, but I can just imagine it being perfect for the hot Lowveld summer days. The rooms are neat and all walk out onto grass as far as the eye can see. Our two kids jumped out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charmaine K, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Cilliers Family. Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your valuable feedback, As a proud General Manager it really makes my day when I receive such lovely feedback! I will be sure to convey your compliments to my TEAM. We strive for a truly unique guest experience and we are so happy that yours was memorable.... More 

New York City
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

About one half hour outside of Kruger National park, this lovely hotel has rooms with 'lanai'/park like setting as your backyard. While the rooms are modest, they are clean, up-to-date and offer most amenities. The complex more Caribbean than African with a central dining room/reception area. Breakfast buffets are well presented (as are the ones from dinner) and staff helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I have stayed here several times and the service remains exceptional. They deal exceptionally well with any challenges that may arise. Their location close to the Kruger National Park makes it a fantastic venue for a stopover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Hotel Staff: Very helpful, friendly, accommodating and professional. In particular, I would like to thank Danny, one of the hotel managers, for improving the quality of my stay. My room had a few issues and he made certain that everything was addressed within a reasonable period of time. Location: Good for activities in Kruger National Park; also within easy access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's unusual design of the reception area has long since intrigued us and eventually prompted us to check in overnight. Even though we hadn't booked, we were welcomed and given a superb room. A year late we overnighted again on the spur if the moment. This time our room was not as good, but still clean and comfortable. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charmaine K, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear valued traveller. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit to Protea Hotel The Winkler. The architectural design of the hotel is of German origin and the roof structure represents a hat traditionally worn by the Pedi people who settled in the late 15th to early 16th centuries in the area between the Vaal... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel and staff were excellent. Struggled to find my room and was pleasantly surprised by the room and how nice it was. The food was not ok at all, not a wide variety for dinner, and the one afternoon after our meeting lunch was served and the cauliflower was off. The hotel stay was however enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charmaine K, General Manager at Protea Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear valued traveller. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit to Protea Hotel The Winkler. What a wonderful review. It is always very pleasing to hear when GUESTS departed our hotel hotel with fond memories. It makes me extremely proud of the TEAM when I receive feedback like yours. I have conveyed your experience... More 

West Bay, Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here on a Grand Circle Tour, and although the grounds were lovely, the rooms definitely needed updating and better lighting. My refrigerator was missing, and the safe didn't work when I checked in, but both problems were remedied right away. The food was good, and there was plenty of it on the buffet. Packed breakfasts for early morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel The Winkler

Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel The Winkler White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in White River

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Protea Hotel The Winkler

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby