We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casterbridge Hollow

4.0 of 5 Cnr R40 & R538, White River 1240, South Africa
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casterbridge Hollow
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Casterbridge Hollow
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
45
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Badplaas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the hotel was nice, clean, big rooms, I felt that the reception and staff, although friendly, needed more training. The reception failed to take my card for payment even though I offered it. Then later when we were going out, they notified us that we had'nt paid yet in a not too friendly manner. This through no fault of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A well appointed and modern hotel/motel. Staff amazingly friendly and helpful. Comfortable, spacious and spotless rooms. We arrived 9pm after a flight delay. Staff rallied and fussed around us to make sure we could order and receive dinner and raced us through the check in process. Breakfast at the hotels partner restaurant was good but not outstanding - still very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a long journey from Swaziland taking in a wonderful cultural visit to see dancing and hear singing by the local Swazi people, after which we had dinner, we arrived at the Casterbridge Hollow Hotel. This proved to be a Motel in style, alongside a busy main road with a lot of shops and one bank with an ATM. Reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZandileT520, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Good day Traveladvisor, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. I have notice that you mentioned that the hotel does not have a dining room and that you had to use Magnolia Restauant for your meals. Although it is not attached to the hotel, Magnolia is our restaurant. I hope you enjoy the rest... More

White River, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I arranged for a group comprising 9 friends and family to attend the hotel to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday (70 may sound ancient but when you are there it does not, at least in our case feel so). The staff were friendly and helpful and could not have made us feel more welcome. The rooms were excellent and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZandileT520, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Terry, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Having had the opportunity to being part of making your wife birthday celebration such a memorable one, brings us great joy. We are delighted to know that all your expectations were met. It was a big pleasure to have you and your family at Casterbridge Hollow... More

Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed only 1 night en route to KMIA and Mozambique after a week in Kruger. We stayed in room 19 which was very spacious, had quiet aircon, plenty of light and quality fittings. Check in was fast and we were greeted outside with a cold drink and already prepared paperwork - very welcoming and efficient. Great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZandileT520, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Denhamania Thank you for your lovely comment. It puts big smiles on the Casterbridge Hollow Team when our guests are happy and well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful part of the world in the near future. More

Middelburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the CBHBH as a family of four (with two kids under 6yrs)... What a pleasant stay! The first highlight was the spaciousness of their family units. There's room for everyone & everything with a double/ queen size & two single beds. The bathroom is just as spacious with a separate toilet/ bath & shower. The staff was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZandileT520, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Tebogo, Hope you had a safe journey back home and a very big thank you for the good trip advisor review. We are happy to see that yiu and your whole family were looked after during the stay with us. Hope to see you agin in the near future. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Great Hotel. Rooms are very clean and well serviced. Staff are very helpfull and go out of their way to assist you. Food at the restuarant also great, enjoyed both the breakfast and dinner's. The Hotel is close to the City for any gift shopping as well as those necessarties you cannot do without. Also within close proximity of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZandileT520, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Sean, Thank you very much for taking your time to review us on trip advisor. It will be a pleasure to have you again at Casterbridge Hollow More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

It baffles my mind how amazing this hotel it. From the minute I entered reception to my last steps out the door, I found it amongst the hardest of tasks to find any fault or flaw with the first-class service or the stunning accommodation. It goes without saying that I take my hat off to Antenette and Prisca for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZandileT520, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ncasa, Thank you for your nice review. The Casterbridge Hollow Team believes in providing a personalized service, and we are happy to see that you have experienced that. Hope to see you soon. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This was the fourth stay for me at Casterbridge in White River. From arrival to departure I was treated like royalty. Very friendly staff that is more then willing to help and assist in any way, and made the stay unforgettable. I will definitely recommend this hotel. I am going back next week with 6 colleagues, see you next week.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZandileT520, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Ncasa, Thank you very much for giving us such a wonderfull feedback We appreciate your comment and highlights on your experience during your stay with us. Hope to see you soon. More

Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Thank you for the lovely two night stay. The staff are wonderful and do the little extras to make you feel special. Tranquil place with excellent facilities which are well maintained. Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Caryn, Trust this mail finds you well, first of all I would like to thank-you for taking the time and review Casterbridge Hollow on trip advisor. I’m happy to see that you felt special during your stay . Everything we do is driven by our guest needs. Hope to see you soon. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Address: Cnr R40 & R538, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casterbridge Hollow 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River
Casterbridge Hollow White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay