We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 White River hotels

Casterbridge Hollow

4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Cnr R40 & R538, White River 1240, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Casterbridge Hollow to your Saves list
Casterbridge Hollow
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in White River
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
precious04 johannesburg
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
32
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel and we loved it.The staff is very friendly and help full especially Mpho who we met on arrival very nice girl. We will definitely come back to this hotel and tell our friends about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed just for one night, but I would have stayed forever! MAGNIFICENTLY appointed rooms, extremely comfy beds with top class linens and great food. The staff were friendly and efficient - just LOVED staying there! Can recommend it for anyone, anytime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlene M, Hotel Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Marion C We would like to thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Casterbridge Hollow Team More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We spent the weekend at The Casterbridge Hollow Hotel. It was just wonderful. The rooms were immaculate and very spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and accomodating and always had a smile. The food at the Magnolia Cafe was to die for! Would most definatly recommend this place for a great weekend in White River

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlene M, Hotel Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear TBarwell 15 It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very glad that we could make it a memrobale one. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Casterbridge Hollow Team More

Rustenburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I visited for the weekend in a large group as a breakaway from a two week audit at Witbank. The second half of the journey to the hotel from Gauteng is a lovely scenic drive that is well worth the effort in its owb right. (The first half is boring, but the road is very good). Out aim was to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlene M, Hotel Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear GwilymHowes We would like to thank you for your great review. We are very pleased that we made a lasting impression. We hope you have safe travels and that your travels might bring you back to our little gem. Kind Regards Casterbridge Hollow team More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

An overnight stay at this lovely boutique hotel was pleasant and the room certainly one of the most attractive hotel rooms around. Service and attention to detail was exceptional. However, the breakfast is most disappointing. I would stay at this hotel again, but certainly have breakfast elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear WWandrag Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the rooms were to your satisfaction. As to your breakfast that was disappointing, we do apologize. We are taking your comment to heart and will improve. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I will recommend staying at Casterbridge Hollow Hotel and or any of the Hollow Hotels in the world any day. I have been making use of their hotel's for years now and never had even the slightest let down. Every stay is an pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Hannes S Thank you for your delightful review on our hotel and company. We are very pleased to hear that you've been making use of our hotel over the years. We hope to be welcoming you for many more years to come. Safe travels. Casterbridge Hollow Team More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A great hotel, very close to Kruger (Numbi Gate). Great room and lovely pool to lounge by in the afternoon. Our hostess, Pretty was very friendly an welcoming. We enjoyed our stay! Breakfast at Magnolia Restaurant was included in our stay, best omlette ever!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Sliknikers Thank you for visiting our hotel. We are very happy that you had a enjoyable stay with us and that our staff looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm Regards, The Casterbridge Hollow Team More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Thank you to the friendly staff at Casterbridger Hollow esp Vusi and Thabo who made our stay very pleasant. Service was excellent, so refreshing to see the enthusiasm of the staff. Room was spacious and clean. I highly recommend this hotel. Awesome place, Great people and delicious food!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear SandyR We would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and also mentioning Magnolia Restaurant in your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the food and service form the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel when you plan your next time back to the... More

Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have visited this hotel a few times during my stay in South Africa. The hotel and pool areas are so relaxing, clean and beautiful. the food and service in the Magnolia Restaurant and Cafe are of such a high standard I was very impressed (being from the UK sometimes we expect a lot), not only were my expectations for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear GemmaW Thank you very much for your kind review, We are indeed proud of our staff and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel as well as the food and service at Magnolia. We hope that we can welcome you back to SA and our hotel in the future. Warm Regards, Casterbridge Hollow Team More

Kappel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Unfortunalely, our one night stay in November 2013 was far away from good. We arrived after a long drive and were looking for a nice sleep. The hotel itself as well as the rooms looked really nice, although the location was horrible (right next to a big roundabout and a main road with lots of traffic). Once we have settled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlene M, General Manager at Casterbridge Hollow, responded to this review

Dear Yasmin R We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We will be taking your review to heart and try and find a solution to the problem. may you have safe travels in the future and maybe just maybe we will see you again. Friendly Greetings Casterbridge Hollow Team More

Been to Casterbridge Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casterbridge Hollow

Also Known As:
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel White River
Casterbridge Hollow White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Address: Cnr R40 & R538, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in White River
#4 Family Hotel in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casterbridge Hollow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the sweet Mango trees of the original Casterbridge Farm...Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, is ideal for the business traveller and is a convenient base from which tourists can access Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route.Casterbridge Hollow, Mpumalanga’s first “green hotel”, is a concept that has evolved with great charm, using the simplest and most basic materials. Colours are reminiscent of romantic hillside villages in Provence and Tuscany. It’s contemporary style is enhanced by richly textured baskets, sleek furnishings and designer fabrics featuring proteas and ‘bokkies’ which give the hotel an original handprint and convey its South African roots. Accessories such as wire-work baskets, hand-crafted tiles and decorative light fittings were all made by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casterbridge Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casterbridge Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.