We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Roca Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Roca Guest House
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added La Roca Guest House to your Saves list

At a glance

95%
Positive reviews?
KEY AMENITIES
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
See all

HOTEL PHOTOS

La Roca Guest House
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      152
      50
      3
      2
      5
    See reviews for
    41
    104
    10
    24
    Rating summary
    • Sleep Quality
      5 of 5 stars
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
    Date | Rating
    • Dutch first
    • English first
    • French first
    • German first
    • Italian first
    • Portuguese first
    • Swedish first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (212)
    • Mar-May only
      (64)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (44)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (50)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (54)
    All months
    Maputo, Mozambique
    Level Contributor
    8 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Very well located in quiet residential area of ​​Nelspruit, with a beautiful garden and a splendid terrace. The room was clean and well decorated. Delicious breakfast. Internet acess must be improved because is very slow and unstable. Nice staff. Everything else was excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Vienna, Austria
    Level Contributor
    18 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We stayed in a standard room, it was quite expensive we thought (1100) for a room that wasnt anything special, really. Room was super cold in june, but its the case everywhere in Nelspruit. On the upside, a very clean room and a very good breakfast. I believe the nice rooms are the 'luxury' ones with valley view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Sydney, Australia
    Level Contributor
    73 reviews
    28 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

    I stayed at La Roca for one night while on my way up to Kruger National Park. Unfortunately we got stuck in traffic (due to there being a crash on the highway) so I didn't get to the property until very late at night. Thankfully the property owners arranged for us to check into our room when we arrived with... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review

    G'day Jacqueline, Thanks a million for your super review, much appreciated! We are just sorry that your time here was so short. We take great delight in making sure each and every one of our guests is taken care of and made to feel special and at home :) Come back and visit for longer next time. Kind regards, The... More 

    Schiedam, The Netherlands
    Level Contributor
    8 reviews
    8 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

    We had initially planned to stay 2 nights at Berg-en-Dal Rest Camp in Kruger National Park to finish our trip to South Africa but the chalet we had at Berg-en-Dal was dirty, dark and not what we had expected after being at Lower Sabie, Satara & Shimuwini on the same trip. This was not the way we wanted to end... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review

    Hi Michael, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such an awesome review! We are so glad that you chose La Roca once again after all these years and that our standards are as you remember them from your past visit. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with you about your experiences and wonderful sightings in Kruger Park.... More 

    Level Contributor
    61 reviews
    14 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

    We stayed in March and were immediately given an upgraded room with a balcony and beautiful view over immaculate gardens. The pool and breakfast area are lovely and the breakfast was superb. Everything possible was done to ensure comfort including back up in the event of power cuts in the area (not needed) and mosquito and insect spray. I would... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review

    Dear Brent, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, your kind compliments are greatly appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that one day you will return. Take care. The La Roca Team More 

    Johannesburg, South Africa
    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

    On our way to the Kruger National Park, we spent 2 unforgettable nights at La Roca and this is why... Gracious hosts, attentive staff, mesmerising views and scrumptious breakfast - heaven on earth in a nutshell. Looking forward to our next stay. Thank you La Roca x

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review

    Hi Daisy, What an awesome review....thank you so much! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was super having you here, and lovely to have chats about our different experiences and love of Kruger Park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future :) Warm regards, The La Roca Team More 

    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 via mobile

    A small piece of heaven! The service of the staff is exceptional, willing to lend a helping hand at any time! The rooms are beautifully decorated, and has everything you need! The breakfast was amazing! And served with a smile! The managers were always seen and always willing to answer any questions. To round it all off, sun downers at... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review

    Dear Vicky, Thank you for choosing La Roca. It was a pleasure having you around. Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. It is much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us :) Take care! Kind Regards The La Roca Team! More 

    Grahamstown, South Africa
    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

    What a gem! Friendly staff, beautifully decorated and large well equipped rooms, fantastic views and awesome breakfast. We highly recommend this super guest house - a very professional outfit from booking to check out. Well done - we will certainly be back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review

    Dear Tommy, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Thanks for all the compliments. We appreciate it. It was a real pleasure having you around. We cannot wait to accommodate you again in the near future! Take care! Best Regards The La Roca Team More 

    1 review
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

    We made a booking on booking.com for 2 adults. The manager Liz informed us that the rate is wrong and it should be R1005 per person. However she was rude, sighed and would not give me the opportunity to speak. According to her the rate for 2 nights should have been R4020 however upon checking 3 times it should have... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    laroca007, Owner at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review

    Dear Sir/Madam, We are a very professionally run and ethical guest house – we have proof that in fact you cancelled your booking BEFORE you even spoke to our Manager, Liz; and therefore a same day cancellation does apply. This is normal practice in the industry. Liz has been with us for 3 years and her professionalism is evident in... More 

    Barberton, South Africa
    2 reviews
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

    On the internet it looked beautiful, but what a surprise when we booked in. The place is a little piece of heaven!! Spacious room, beautiful view and best service. Scrumptious breakfast. Will recommend La Roca anytime

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    laroca007, Manager at La Roca Guest House, responded to this review

    Hi Corene, Thank you for your super review! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you. We hope to see you again in the future, hopefully for a longer stay with us :) Kind regards, The La Roca Team More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    98 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (76)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (13)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (28)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (7)
    Viewed
    Dining (9)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (6)
    Viewed
    Family/play areas (1)
    Viewed
    Other (12)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (22)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (13)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (1)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (1)
    Viewed
    Other (7)
    Check In Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
    1.2 mi away
    Protea Hotel Nelspruit
    Protea Hotel Nelspruit
    #8 of 18 in Nelspruit
    3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
    2.3 mi away
    Mercure Nelspruit
    Mercure Nelspruit
    #7 of 18 in Nelspruit
    3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
    1.3 mi away
    Hotel Promenade
    Hotel Promenade
    #5 of 18 in Nelspruit
    4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    0.8 mi away
    Loerie's Call Guest House
    Loerie's Call Guest House
    #1 of 56 in Nelspruit
    4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
    0.6 mi away
    La Villa Vita Nelspruit
    La Villa Vita Nelspruit
    #1 of 18 in Nelspruit
    4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
    0.6 mi away
    Utopia in Africa
    Utopia in Africa
    #1 of 50 in Nelspruit
    5.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Price Your Stay