We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Malelane hotels

Pestana Kruger Lodge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pestana Kruger Lodge to your Saves list
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
67%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Malelane
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
LollyH86
  • Overview
  • Reviews (152)
  • Photos (105)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
39
61
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently spent the weekend at Pestana Kruger Lodge. We went for the delux room which had lovely views of the river. The weekend away was in celebration of our one year wedding anniversary, which I mentioned when I booked. On arrival, no mention was made of our anniversary and no special efforts were made the entire weekend. This lack... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having spent a week travelling between camps within the Kruger National Park we decided to end our holiday with a touch of home comforts and were not disappointed. This 4 star hotel is just half a mile from Malelane Gate out of the national park. We opted for a deluxe room overlooking Crocodile River - complete with balcony view of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Lodge, I am delighted that you were happy with your stay with us. I will relay your comments about the food to our Food & Beverage team who will appreciate the positive feedback. The deluxe rooms are our most popular rooms since they directly overlook the Crocodile River and one can... More

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While on our trip to Africa we were booked through a travel agency at the Pestana Kruger Lodge in South Africa. It is located at the southern most access to Kruger; the deck overlooks Crocodile River. We were there 2 nights and the first night the water did not work at all in our room. We came back that night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracy D Thank you for your constructive feedback; my sincere apologies for the mess left by the Bats, unfortunately they are a nuisance in this part of the world and despite our cleaning of the rooms they do often come in under the thatch at dusk and leave a mess. Similarly we do have "bugs" and mosquitos due our... More

Estoril, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here many times while I lived in Mozambique, between 1997 and 2001. It has since been purchased by the great Pestana Hotels & Resorts group and it has been greatly improved. The rooms are great and have a scent I'll never forget. Strongly recommend if you're bound to visit the Kruger Park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear FredericoR Thank you for your wonderful comments about our Lodge, I will pass on your feedback to our staff who do appreciate such positive comments. Please do return and make sure you ask for a Deluxe room again overlooking the Crocodile river - it is a beautiful experience! More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed in room #279 for 2 nights in July. Our room faced the swimming pool, shaded under the trees. The room was clean, and spacious with a glass sliding door. The bathroom had a rain shower - no bath to soak in (ugh). Tip: Watch out for the naughty monkeys who sneaks into the room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jolanie G Many thanks for your positive review of our Lodge; I'm sorry you did not have a bath to soak in, our Deluxe and Family rooms all have baths as well as showers. There should have been complimentary bottled mineral water in the mini bar fridge of your room, I will address this with our Housekeeping staff. Your... More

Fredrikstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family of four (two adults, children of 13 and 15) stayed at Pestana Kruger Lodge one week in July. Unfortunately, the first three nights vere unusual cold (-1 oC), so the rooms were a bit uncomfortable this period. However, I asked for extra blankets and they were delivered to our rooms promptly. The dining room was always warm and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback from your stay with us. I am very pleased that our service and the food and beverages met the standards you expected. I will pass on your comments to the kitchen staff who are in the process of preparing a new menu for the lodge and will take... More

Randburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Pestana the first week of July with a family member from Australia. Our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable. Geronimo,ladies at the front desk and the rest of the staff members were always friendly! Rooms were clean,viewing deck lovely. I would suggest that you look at the food at the diiner buffet. We will return again. Marieke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marieke Drawbridge Thank you for your very positive comments, I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable. Your feedback has been given to the staff and particularly Jeronimo. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. More

Franschhoek
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stunning trees and beautifully maintained gardens.These are the only plus points at Pestana Kruger.The shoddy furniture everywhere needs a revamp; the staff certainly do not have the guest-relations training as in Kruger.And then the'food'.Oi.As a South African I was truly concerned about the impression the numerous foreign guests were gaining about South African cuisine.Very poor standards in this department- limp... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lillian Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us last week. I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding poor material and service standards at our property. My sincere apologies for this unsatisfactory experience, your observations have been noted and will be conveyed to our staff. More

East London, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The buildings and the site of this hotel are very nice, and the terrace overlooking the Crocodile River allows you to watch crocodiles and hippos as you have your breakfast. But the food at the evening buffet was poor and bland and expensive, the staff were disorganized, the rooms were poorly serviced and fittings often didn't work. You got the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bally Thank you for your review of our property. Please accept my apologies that your experience was not to the standard you had expected. Having recently taken over management of this property I can assure you that Management have not given up; I will be addressing your concerns with all staff as a matter of priority and initiate... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were thoroughly underwhelmed. Showers were cold, plugs didn't work, food was really bland. The dinner staff were also really unhelpful. Very disappointing for something that calls itself four star. But the one definite plus is the scenery. There is a lovely view of the river from the dining hall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Louise B Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Pestana Kruger Lodge, I am very disappointed that standards were clearly not what you expected of a 4 star establishment. Please accept my sincere apologies for these service failures. I would be very grateful if you could contact myself at the Lodge (kruger.lodge@pestana.com) for further... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pestana Kruger Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Kruger Lodge

Address: R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Kruger Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Pestana Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Kruger Hotel Malelane

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Malelane with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Graded TGCSA 4-star, Pestana Kruger Lodge is situated 700 meters away from Malelane Gate, the most southern entrance to the Kruger National Park. The Lodge is surrounded by 22ha of indigenous gardens and bush with magnificent views of the Crocodile River, which forms the border with the Kruger National Park. Accommodation comprises 74 well-appointed rooms, all with modern facilities. The Lodge is a great choice for families wanting a relaxing holiday in the African bush. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
74

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Kruger Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer