We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Malelane hotels

Pestana Kruger Lodge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pestana Kruger Lodge to your Saves list
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Malelane
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Drawbridge2014 Randburg, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (143)
  • Photos (92)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
57
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Pestana the first week of July with a family member from Australia. Our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable. Geronimo,ladies at the front desk and the rest of the staff members were always friendly! Rooms were clean,viewing deck lovely. I would suggest that you look at the food at the diiner buffet. We will return again. Marieke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Franschhoek
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stunning trees and beautifully maintained gardens.These are the only plus points at Pestana Kruger.The shoddy furniture everywhere needs a revamp; the staff certainly do not have the guest-relations training as in Kruger.And then the'food'.Oi.As a South African I was truly concerned about the impression the numerous foreign guests were gaining about South African cuisine.Very poor standards in this department- limp... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lillian Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us last week. I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding poor material and service standards at our property. My sincere apologies for this unsatisfactory experience, your observations have been noted and will be conveyed to our staff. More

East London, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The buildings and the site of this hotel are very nice, and the terrace overlooking the Crocodile River allows you to watch crocodiles and hippos as you have your breakfast. But the food at the evening buffet was poor and bland and expensive, the staff were disorganized, the rooms were poorly serviced and fittings often didn't work. You got the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMPKL, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Bally Thank you for your review of our property. Please accept my apologies that your experience was not to the standard you had expected. Having recently taken over management of this property I can assure you that Management have not given up; I will be addressing your concerns with all staff as a matter of priority and initiate... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were thoroughly underwhelmed. Showers were cold, plugs didn't work, food was really bland. The dinner staff were also really unhelpful. Very disappointing for something that calls itself four star. But the one definite plus is the scenery. There is a lovely view of the river from the dining hall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Louise B Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Pestana Kruger Lodge, I am very disappointed that standards were clearly not what you expected of a 4 star establishment. Please accept my sincere apologies for these service failures. I would be very grateful if you could contact myself at the Lodge (kruger.lodge@pestana.com) for further... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is ideal for a getaway to be away from it all. Perfect for couples or with a family . So close to kRUGER you can walk over the bridge to the entrance. Overlook the river and into Kruger. Very well kept gardens and safe to walk around. Staff all very friendly and wiling to help. Food excellence ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay with us, I will be sharing your comments with the staff who do appreciate positive feedback. Your observations regarding maintenance in the rooms has been noted; we will attend to these immediately. My apologies that no notice was taken of your Wedding Anniversary and Birthday whilst staying... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My 4th visit to this hotel which lost the wonderful manager Mary at the end of December. During our visit both managers were off duty - 'cats away - mice play"! First of all the 'good'. Rooms, grounds, cleaning. location , views, reception & bar staff Not so good. Food - Buffet style with nobody managing. Deserts being picked up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Brown, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Pestana Kruger Lodge. I am very pleased to hear your positive comments regarding the rooms, grounds, cleaning, location views, reception & bar staff. I am however very disappointed to hear that the Restaurant staff have let the side down in my absence. There can be no... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Wonderful views and a stone's throw from Malelane Gate make this a great place to stay. The accommodation is in need of an upgrade and the bedding should be replaced. However, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and abundant, so all-in-all, a good stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Linda Thank you for your review, your comments relating to the accommodation have been noted and will be addressed. I am grateful that the staff were attentive and friendly and that the food met your expectations. More

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We booked at late notice over Easter (two rooms for my parents from NZ, and my partner and I) and were disappointed. Our room had cold showers for almost the duration of the 3 day/ 2 night stay. On the second night the there was no water at all. The décor was tired and there was mould in the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Ed for your comments; my sincere apologies again for the hot water difficulties you experienced during your stay at our Lodge. We have subsequently rectified this problem and will also address your other concerns as a matter of importance. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over Easter. Location and close proximity to Kruger were fantastic as you were a couple of minutes away from the gate. Did not try breakfast while there but had dinner twice and there was a good variety to suit most tastes and plenty of food available. Room was needing upgrading and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jenny McIsaac Thank you for taking the time to highlight the probelms you encountered at Pestana Kruger Lodge. Whilst I am pleased that your dinner experiences were good and that the WiFi met your expectations I am very disappointed that maintenance and cleanliness standards were not what you expected. As you are aware I have recently taken over as... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for week together with our children and their families. We had a wonderfull stay. Extremely friendly staff. Very clean rooms but they could need some maintenance, We had some af the best rooms with view to the river. If possible do not save money not having this view! It was all worth it!! The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon R, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, I have forwarded this to the staff who will be delighted to learn that your stay with us was good. Your observations regarding maintenance in the rooms is valid, has been noted and will be attended to as part of an ongoing maintenance programme. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pestana Kruger Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Kruger Lodge

Address: R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Kruger Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Pestana Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Kruger Hotel Malelane

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Graded TGCSA 4-star, Pestana Kruger Lodge is situated 700 meters away from Malelane Gate, the most southern entrance to the Kruger National Park. The Lodge is surrounded by 22ha of indigenous gardens and bush with magnificent views of the Crocodile River, which forms the border with the Kruger National Park. Accommodation comprises 74 well-appointed rooms, all with modern facilities. The Lodge is a great choice for families wanting a relaxing holiday in the African bush. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
74

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer