We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rio Vista Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Stand 1062 | Monte Vista Estate, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rio Vista Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my second trip in consequtive years to the Rio Vista Lodge. The first time I stayed in one of the Rondavels, which are very African in design, but at the same time Luxurious.This time I booked one of the brand new challets,which allows total freedom for barbequing (Braaing as they say in SA) as and when, our own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
spain
Level Contributor
505 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were originally booked at the Belvedere next door but they informed us that the whole of Malelane was without power and they did not have a back up generator. This lodge was recommended by them as they did have a back up for power. The two rooms we had were good,the viewing deck and pool was good.breakfast was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank alexanderSpain
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

The view over the Kruger is lovely from the deck restaurant and the food served is hearty, no fuss fare. The air conditioning is a life saver and the rooms comfortable, clean and simple. The staff can't be nicer. It reflects exactly what the price suggests. The only negative was no door between the toilet and the room but maybe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johanet
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
620 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

This is a very beautiful place on the bank of Crocodile River where you get to see a lot of wildlife, especially at night. We spent only 2 nights there, but caught sight of several elephants, a rhino, a hippo, waterbucks, monkeys and plenty of birds. Sunset by the river was also very pleasant. We had a double room facing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny W
Mishmar HaYarden, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

We had a great time at this nice hotel, with his amazingly friendly staff that took care of all our needs and answered all of our many questions. The hotel has a very good restaurant with beautiful view to the kruger park, with affordable prices.

Helpful?
Thank shaharnaim
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you in the near future More 

Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Stayed during August as our favourite B&B was fully booked, but had absolutely no regrets. The room on the first floor had the most amazing view over the Crocodile River and we saw many animals from our veranda. It is also a birders paradise. Saw our first ever Trumpeter Hornbill. Our Room was beautiful and very comfortable. The food at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krugerholic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

We recently visited Rio Vista Lodge. Beautiful lodge. Just do not be booked in the rondavel. Not part of the main Lodge. Room was sub standard. Defnitely needs attention to detail. Air con not working properly. Fridge very noisy. Blinds in bathroom broken. We had to cover the window with a towel. After power failure we were offered to move... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tessa B
Anita B, Manager at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I must confess the rondavels need a good revamp of which it is scheduled for January, February next year. I am so glad you had the opportunity to stay in the main lodge and enjoyed the rest of your stay. I am sure in the near future when you return the Rondavels are of a... More 

Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Perfect place to stay outside the Kruger National Park. No matter what food you order "its delicious" and well served. Clean and well serviced rooms. Excellent views and a great place just to relax. We visited the Rio Vista for the last ten years and every year is an improvement.

Helpful?
Thank sastarfinder
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

Family run hotel with friendly efficient service. The deck restaurant and lawns are a great place for watching the elephants and hippos in the neighbouring Kruger Park come to the river to drink. The rooms are basic & clean, and the beds warm & comfortable. The only negative is that the internet connection is very weak, not normally a problem... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

4 star for the accommodation, 20 stars for the views, food and welcome! The Deck Restaurant is situated on the river so you will be viewing animals such as crocs, hippos, kudu, imapla, lots of birds and we were lucky enough to see elephants while eating. You will need to book a table to make sure you get the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
2.9 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 2 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
8.6 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#3 of 7 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khandizwe River Lodge
Khandizwe River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Malelane
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#5 of 11 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#3 of 11 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hhusha Hhusha
Hhusha Hhusha
#1 of 7 in Malelane
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay