We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umbhaba Lodge

Hotel website
R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Special Rate
From R1099 per couple B&B
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Umbhaba Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    17
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
9
44
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for a friends wedding which meant the venue was full and we could not move. We stayed in Room 31 which seems to border a very noisy inconsiderate neighbor There was not 10 minutes where we were not disturbed by them playing very loud music and continuing to party till 4 am. I am sure the other parts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What can we say about Umbhaba that can't be said by visiting the lodge!! We had our wedding there this weekend and it's was truly spectacular!! Taryn and her staff were so brilliant and that helped so much in making our day wonderful. The food received so many compliments from our guests so that in itself says a lot!! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Patterson: Thank You for posting such a lovely review of your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge on TripAdvisor. It was truelly wonderfull to be the host of your wedding, we certainly will look back in the future and think of all good things and great times that were shared on your wedding weekend here at Umbhaba... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked 2 family suits, one for my wife and I and one for my parents. Reason I chose this lodge was that on kulula's website it showed up as a 4 star.. Got to the place but no where did I see a sign with a rating showing the grade at reception which initially worried me . Reception was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge, here at Umbhaba we believe in providing all our guest with a wonderful stay above the ordinary. It is unfortunate to see that your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge was not one of the op-most comfort. Please take note that Umbhaba Lodge... More 

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Will definitely visit the place again, it is affordable luxury. The staff is well trained and ever willing to go beyond the call of duty. The place is clean, neat, has divine food, and great service..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba its our mission to provide you as our valued guest a awesome unforgettable experience. Its always a pleasure to see that we have succeeded in providing you with a wonderful time. Your comment will be shared with the rest of... More 

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We received Excellent service !! Beds we comfortable, rooms were absolutely spotless! Umbhaba Lodge Will definitely see us again on our next Kruger trip! Was so close to gates!! Highly recommend the stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Its only through our valued guest's feedback that we can ensure a service above the ordinary. We are so glad to see that your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge was a comfortable and happy one. Your comment will definitely be shared with... More 

Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is absolutely stunning, we were fortunate enough to have won a weekend away to this amazing place. Close to all tourist attractions and restaurants, The tribal rooms are out of this world, with its own fire place and deck... definitely will be visiting this place again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide all our valued guests with a unforgettable experience. Its always a pleasure to see that guest who stayed here at Umbhaba Lodge get to appreciate the beauty of the lodge and the lowveld area in... More 

Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Terrible experience. Beer cans next to patio in garden area. Missing tiles next to bed. A shower that I would not even use with shoes on. Just dirty in general and not recommended to anyone. We checked out within 30 minutes after arriving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time ro provide us with feedback of your experience here at Umbahba Lodge, it is only through our valued guest's feedback where we can ensure service of a phenominal standard. However its unfotunate that we did not meet any of your requirements. From Umbhaba's side we do appologise for the inconvenience, necessary percutions will be... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hazyview hotels

Hazyview
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

The lodge is beautiful and unique , situated in good area where shops n mall is nearby. The rooms are big enough and stylish. I suggest you consider having a play centre for kids . All in all our stay was wonderful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge, Its always great to see that our valued guest's enjoyed their stay here with us at Umbhaba Lodge. Please note that we do have a gaming area however its unfortunate that you did not find it, we will make sure that... More 

Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Service was good there is still room for improvement especially on the breakfast side try buffet if there's a lot of people who have booked in. The staff was really friend car wash was a bonus for us since we arrived with a dirty car. Saturday's breakfast was fantastic. Sunday almost ruined the great experience. Overall though the service was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Takalanih, thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor, its only through our valued guest's feedback that we can ensure an unforgettable experience here at Umbhaba Lodge. Its a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay and Saturdays breakfast here with us. Thank you for the suggestion, it will be taken up and looked... More 

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

This is a hidden gem! We spent a week here in June so basically had the place to ourselves. All of the staff, from the front desk to the servers in the restaurant were personable and made us feel like family. We had 2 side by side rooms that were large and well equipped (tv with cable, fridge, fan, etc).... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for your wonderful review here on tripadvisor, its only through our valued guest feedback that we can ensure service above all excellence. It was a pleasure being able to host your family here at Umbhaba Lodge and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here with us. We will certainly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel Hazyview
#10 of 12 in Hazyview
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#9 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
1.3 mi away
Abangane Guest Lodge
Abangane Guest Lodge
#3 of 42 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laughing Waters Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay