We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umbhaba Lodge

Hotel website
R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umbhaba Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Umbhaba Lodge
Umbhaba Lodge
Umbhaba Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    15
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
39
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a hidden gem! We spent a week here in June so basically had the place to ourselves. All of the staff, from the front desk to the servers in the restaurant were personable and made us feel like family. We had 2 side by side rooms that were large and well equipped (tv with cable, fridge, fan, etc).... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for your wonderful review here on tripadvisor, its only through our valued guest feedback that we can ensure service above all excellence. It was a pleasure being able to host your family here at Umbhaba Lodge and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here with us. We will certainly... More 

Phalaborwa, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Umbhaba lodge really appealed to us when we booked, arriving after a late drive, booking in was very smooth and Norman who seems to be a do all at the lodge took us to our room which must say really clean , spacious and up to date. TV reception in room not up to standard, did not bother us as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review on trip advisor concerning your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive to provide you with a stay above the ordinary. However it’s unfortunate that we did not meet all your requirements. Concerning your dinner; as a courtesy to our guest we provide certain themed... More 

Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

no clean water available sunday morning , we could not prepare a decent cup of coffee in the room, we could not flush the toilet, there was no pressure for water in shower and bath water was completely brown

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge, here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive on providing you as our valued guest a service above the ordanary. However its unfortunate that we did not meet all your requirements. We do appologise for the inconvienience concerning the water. As our municipality left the... More 

Barberton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really loved the place will definitely visit again, the service was excellent and the staff was welcoming, the rooms were clean neat and unique. we were greeted with a smile and the lady at the reception was very friendly and she assisted us in viewing the place, the place is unique has a beautiful garden the staff is welcoming... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review of your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide guest with a service above all expectations, and we are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Yes I do agree, seeing this beautiful area would surely make any nature... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Umbhaba Lodge is not worth the 4-star rating they claim to have. For the price we paid one would expect well maintained facilities and gardens. The Lodge was overpriced for what you get. We do not recommend staying at Umbhaba Lodge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for providing us with your experiences here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide guest with a stay above the ordinary, however its very unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations. Umbhaba Lodge is currently in the process of major upgrades and renovations. We do apologize for you as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hazyview hotels

Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Family suite was ok, but don't expect to fit in the shower if you are taller than the average 12 yr old. Games room really left a lot to be desired - table tennis net was broken, used cans from the previous day and linen (?) lying around; would have been nice if there had been a braai (gas or... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review of Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide excellent service to our guest. However it is very unfortunate that we did no meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of revamping the Lodge and your shower will definitely be looked at to ensure future guest... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Our excellent suite was enormous and in a super setting.Very impressive.The TV channel selection was poor and the lounge lighting not bright enough to read in, but we would definitely return.Breakfast was good but not hot enough, although I am sure it would have been warmed up if asked as all the staff were exceptionally helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with feedback concerning your stay at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide excellent service to our guest. Its a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you in the not too far distant future. It is only through your eyes as a... More 

Hoedspruit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Beautiful setting in wonderful garden, very close to the Kruger Park. Rooms are stunning and personnel is very friendly and efficient. The garden surrounding the buildings is lush green and kept in best condition. Due to location, there is no noise of traffic on public roads

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Herbert: Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive to provide excellent service to our guests. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us and will definitely share your review with the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

What could have been a magical get away left us disappointed! The setting of the Lodge is awesome - the staff are friendly and helpful, but it is the little things that make a difference. The shower door of the unit was broken, the Aircon did not work, the mattress was uncomfortable due to springs poking through and to top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

A great family hotel that is clean and has very helpful and friendly staff. All the staff are always there to help and they do go that extra mile to assist. The only let down to an otherwise perfect hotel is the restaurant. If they had an al la carte menu or even served light easy food which after a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review of your stay at Umbhaba Lodge. At Umbhaba Lodge we strive to provide excellent hospitality service to all our customers. We are pleased to see that you had a lovely stay here with us and it was a pleasure having you as guest. We do apologise for not having... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay