We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umbhaba Lodge

Hotel website
R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Special Rate
From R795 pp sharing DBB
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Umbhaba Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was not up to standard: 1. beds not comfortable - need replacing, no pillow protectors, shower cubicle was dirty and not useable, 2. Breakfast was of poor quality and not well presented. The website raises one's expectation, and was shocked with the real experience....

Helpful?
Thank 7209
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge on Trip Advisor. Here at Umbhaba Lodge we always strive in providing our guest with a service well above the ordinary. However its seems that we did not succeed so with your stay here with us. Your comments will be taken into consideration and a investigation... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food at breakfasts were average. The housekeeping was not up to the standard of a 4 Star Lodge. The insides of the lodge and the rooms need to be updated/upgraded as it is a 4 Star Lodge. The matrasses needs upgrading or replacement.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cbouwer
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to rate your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge on Trip Advisor Here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive to give our guest a experience above the ordinary. We do appologise for the inconveniences you might have experienced during your stay here with us. Umbhaba Lodge is currently going through a stage of upgrades etc; therefor... More 

Swaziland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Had a lovely experience at the lodge. The area is so tranquil and refreshing. I was able to take a morning jog as well as evening walk right within the lodge. I really liked the staff, view and spacious rooms...oh and the chapel!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank noziphom302
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Umbhaba Lodge. It’s very much appreciated! Guest’s perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at our Lodge is the only true foundation we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I can therefore assure you that... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We arrived at the lodge by midday which is prior to check in time and had to wait just over an hour for our room to be ready. We booked a family room which was very spacious. My son was playing with his cars on the carpet in the room where he found broken pieces of glass, suddenly we noticed... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shahana2103
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with feedback concerning your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge, its only through your valuable feedback that we can assure a service above the ordinary for our guest. From Umbhaba side we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying here at Umbhaba Lodge We will definitely be... More 

.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Did not live up to my expectations. Bad experience definitely needs work done on the rooms and cleanliness. There is hardly any water coming out the showers. The rooms are to dark and not airy enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank minnimac2016
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for rating your stay here with us on Trip advisor, its only through our valued guest's feedback that we can live up to all guest expectations. However its unfortunate to see that we did not meet all your requirements. An investigation will be put in place to see what went wrong during your stay. Umbhaba Lodge is currently... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hazyview hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Fourways, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

No Wifi really in this day and age??? don't tell me about that ALWAYS ON please... , rooms are not cleaned properly, the only changed my sheet ones, those orange couches are DIRTY ...THE PLACE IS TERRIBLE

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zodwat2016
.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Sadly having Upgraded to a Luxury room - we were very Disappointed with a Double Bed - a bed side light I had to get out of Bed and Walk to turn off - a very Larger over night power cut and NO candles or Matches - Pitch Dark. No Soap for the Shower or Bath No Porter service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank X1192JBclairem
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Accommodation was utterly disgusting. Beds were lumpy and sunken. Room had a horrid stench. Air con leaking water onto bed and didn't work.Taps leaking. Toilet didn't flush well. Bath mouldy. Unacceptable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank megandree
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive in providing you as our valued guest with a service well above the ordinary. However its unfortunate that we did not succeed in doing so with you. We will definitely look at all the departments and the... More 

Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Lodge looks neglected at first glance Service from staff not up to scratch Aircon in room not working efficiently so its too hot and uncomfortable Beds are in very bad condition , the matrasses needed to be replaced long time ago Housekeeping not very good in general no wifi

Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda B
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive in providing you as our valued guest with a service well above the ordinary. However its unfortunate that we did not succeed in doing so with you. We will definitely look at all the departments and the... More 

United Kingdm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Had my nieces wedding here. Great location, lovely accommodation and setting. The service was average, but the amenities were poor and the electric kept cutting out, losing the air conditioning and lights throughout the day of the wedding. Room for improvement.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive in providing you as our valued guest with a service well above the ordinary. However its unfortunate that we did not meet all your requirements. From Umbhaba's side we would like to apologize for any inconveniences you might have experienced... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel Hazyview
#10 of 12 in Hazyview
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.8 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#4 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay