We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umbhaba Lodge

Hotel website
R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Announcement
Safari season now open
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umbhaba Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Umbhaba Lodge
Umbhaba Lodge
Umbhaba Lodge
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
4
37
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Umbhaba Lodge is not worth the 4-star rating they claim to have. For the price we paid one would expect well maintained facilities and gardens. The Lodge was overpriced for what you get. We do not recommend staying at Umbhaba Lodge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family suite was ok, but don't expect to fit in the shower if you are taller than the average 12 yr old. Games room really left a lot to be desired - table tennis net was broken, used cans from the previous day and linen (?) lying around; would have been nice if there had been a braai (gas or... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review of Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide excellent service to our guest. However it is very unfortunate that we did no meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of revamping the Lodge and your shower will definitely be looked at to ensure future guest... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our excellent suite was enormous and in a super setting.Very impressive.The TV channel selection was poor and the lounge lighting not bright enough to read in, but we would definitely return.Breakfast was good but not hot enough, although I am sure it would have been warmed up if asked as all the staff were exceptionally helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with feedback concerning your stay at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide excellent service to our guest. Its a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you in the not too far distant future. It is only through your eyes as a... More 

Hoedspruit
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beautiful setting in wonderful garden, very close to the Kruger Park. Rooms are stunning and personnel is very friendly and efficient. The garden surrounding the buildings is lush green and kept in best condition. Due to location, there is no noise of traffic on public roads

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Herbert: Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive to provide excellent service to our guests. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us and will definitely share your review with the... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

What could have been a magical get away left us disappointed! The setting of the Lodge is awesome - the staff are friendly and helpful, but it is the little things that make a difference. The shower door of the unit was broken, the Aircon did not work, the mattress was uncomfortable due to springs poking through and to top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

A great family hotel that is clean and has very helpful and friendly staff. All the staff are always there to help and they do go that extra mile to assist. The only let down to an otherwise perfect hotel is the restaurant. If they had an al la carte menu or even served light easy food which after a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review of your stay at Umbhaba Lodge. At Umbhaba Lodge we strive to provide excellent hospitality service to all our customers. We are pleased to see that you had a lovely stay here with us and it was a pleasure having you as guest. We do apologise for not having... More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Our stay at Umbhaba Lodge for our Honeymoon was such a relaxing & tranquil one! The gardens are so picturesque surrounded by water. The food was delicious and very friendly staff members! The room offered great comfort and relaxation! Service is fast & efficient at Umbhaba Lodge and excellent management! Beautiful pool area too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

At Umbahaba Lodge we strive to create a unforgettable experience for our guest. It is a pleasure to know that we have met your expectations and that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. We hope to see you in the not too far distant future: Yours in Hospitality: Sto-an Coetzee Guest Relations More 

Centurion
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

On 16/01/2015, my colleague and I was on an official visit in the area and decided to stay over at Umbhaba Lodge which is close to the Kruger National Park. Reception helped us swift and we booked in for the night at two tribal rooms overlooking a pond. I had a special request wrt a freezer and without delay the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Being in the Bush creates a lovely setting for the nature lover, here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive to provide excellent service to our guest. We have recently installed flat screen TV's in our rooms and we assure you that your suggestion on security doors will be taken in consideration. We hope to see you in the not too far... More 

Johannesburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this lodge.Nice large bedroom .Shower and bath are separate from toilet and small hand wash basin which is good .Breakfast was cold although it was supposed to be a hot breakfast.I also thought how easy it was to break into the room no security lock.They have a nice hide on the river and we saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The facility didn't meet our expectations. They got the booking room, our room wasn't ready, the towels and bedding was dirty. No sight of management or customer training. The facility could do with an upgrade and more engaged management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced with respect to your stay at the lodge. At Umbhaba Lodge we take pride in ensuring our guests satisfaction. Unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations entirely. Thank you for pointing out the issues you experienced on arrival in you room and can assure you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hazyview hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay