We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umbhaba Lodge

4.0 of 5 R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Umbhaba Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Umbhaba Lodge
Umbhaba Lodge
Umbhaba Lodge
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
2
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Johannesburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this lodge.Nice large bedroom .Shower and bath are separate from toilet and small hand wash basin which is good .Breakfast was cold although it was supposed to be a hot breakfast.I also thought how easy it was to break into the room no security lock.They have a nice hide on the river and we saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The facility didn't meet our expectations. They got the booking room, our room wasn't ready, the towels and bedding was dirty. No sight of management or customer training. The facility could do with an upgrade and more engaged management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced with respect to your stay at the lodge. At Umbhaba Lodge we take pride in ensuring our guests satisfaction. Unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations entirely. Thank you for pointing out the issues you experienced on arrival in you room and can assure you... More 

Montgomery, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I checked in on the evening of May 5th, 2014. Upon arriving, my husband attempted to secure our passports, two wallets containing two credit cards, and cash in RANDS and USD in the safe located in the bedroom. My husband had a bit of trouble locking the safe and we asked for assistance. As we waited for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Etienneumbh, General Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced with respect to your stay at the lodge. At Umbhaba Lodge we take pride in ensuring our guests satisfaction. Unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations entirely. We deeply value your relationship with Umbhaba and are committed to providing you with the highest level of... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed over in the honeymoon suite at Umbhaba Lodge and I can truly say I feel sorry for the couple that would be staying over in that room the next evening. We arrived late on Thursday evening and thought to try a different room in the lodge as we regularly stay there but in a tribal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Etienneumbh, Public Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced with respect to your stay at the lodge. At Umbhaba Lodge we take pride in ensuring our guests satisfaction. Unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations entirely. We deeply value your relationship with Umbhaba and are committed to providing you with the highest level of... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago. We were perfectly happy with the room, service and food. We booked it again for March this year and read some of the reviews about the crime that is taking place, including allegations that staff are involved. I emailed the GM with my concerns asking for a response to my questions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Etienneumbh, General Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

My most sincere apologies for not getting back to you in regard to the e-mail about the crime, I have registered with Tripadvisor but because I had my previous company that I worked at listed it took quite some time to get the registration through.We have managed to solve to solve the crime that was happening at the lodge as... More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay and excellent service. The hotel and restaurant staff were very accommodating. Great food and excellent room. It was rather cool to watch the wildebeest wander through the grounds while having dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, and hope to see you soon! Kind regards Taryn Knight Guest Services & Conference/Wedding Coordinator Umbhaba Lodge More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have stayed at this lodge once before and was most impressed, so much so, my wife and I went back. Sadly, the lodge has become a crime hot spot. We experienced a break-in to our room while attempting to sleep at night. Bottom line is this. The night manager apologised and was understanding, he did however advise that this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Etienneumbh, General Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time complete the survey on trip advisor, sincere apologies for not replying earlier but have only been able to register recently on tripadvisor, subsequently we conducted a full investigation and have dismissed 3 staff members as well as a manager at the property. Regards Etienne Soiné Genera Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way into the Kruger but we were more than satisfied with our choice. The room we had was huge, a bit sparce and dark in some places but had everything that we needed with a nice small verandah looking over the small dam. The staff were great although our waiter battled a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, and hope to see you soon! Kind regards Taryn Knight Guest Services & Conference/Wedding Coordinator Umbhaba Lodge More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This Lodge has a great location for exploring the Kruger National Park - about 10 minutes away, and many of the areas attractions. It has a great atmosphere and fantastic staff and service. However, in one corner there was clearly a space and they added on two smaller rooms. We got one of those. For a four star facility, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Etienneumbh, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced with respect to your stay at the lodge. At Umbhaba Lodge we take pride in ensuring our guests satisfaction. Unfortunately we did not meet your or our own expectations entirely. Thank you for pointing out the issues you experianced on arrival in you room and can assure you... More 

Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I Travelled all over the Lowveld area and when I got to the Lodge, I was suprized with a very large room, wooden deck overlooking a dam, little setting area and it was very nice to take a good break from the Roads. This room is very private and I had a good nights rest after a very nice Buffet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Umbhaba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbhaba Lodge

Address: R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Umbhaba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Umbhaba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbhaba Lodge And Restaurant
Umbhaba Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Hazyview
Umbhaba Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay