We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umbhaba Lodge

Hotel website
R40 Road | R40 Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Umbhaba Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Umbhaba Lodge
Umbhaba Lodge
Umbhaba Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    17
    9
    6
    10
See reviews for
7
41
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Centurion, South Africa
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place is absolutely stunning, we were fortunate enough to have won a weekend away to this amazing place. Close to all tourist attractions and restaurants, The tribal rooms are out of this world, with its own fire place and deck... definitely will be visiting this place again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible experience. Beer cans next to patio in garden area. Missing tiles next to bed. A shower that I would not even use with shoes on. Just dirty in general and not recommended to anyone. We checked out within 30 minutes after arriving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time ro provide us with feedback of your experience here at Umbahba Lodge, it is only through our valued guest's feedback where we can ensure service of a phenominal standard. However its unfotunate that we did not meet any of your requirements. From Umbhaba's side we do appologise for the inconvenience, necessary percutions will be... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hazyview hotels

Hazyview
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lodge is beautiful and unique , situated in good area where shops n mall is nearby. The rooms are big enough and stylish. I suggest you consider having a play centre for kids . All in all our stay was wonderful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge, Its always great to see that our valued guest's enjoyed their stay here with us at Umbhaba Lodge. Please note that we do have a gaming area however its unfortunate that you did not find it, we will make sure that... More 

Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was good there is still room for improvement especially on the breakfast side try buffet if there's a lot of people who have booked in. The staff was really friend car wash was a bonus for us since we arrived with a dirty car. Saturday's breakfast was fantastic. Sunday almost ruined the great experience. Overall though the service was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Takalanih, thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor, its only through our valued guest's feedback that we can ensure an unforgettable experience here at Umbhaba Lodge. Its a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay and Saturdays breakfast here with us. Thank you for the suggestion, it will be taken up and looked... More 

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a hidden gem! We spent a week here in June so basically had the place to ourselves. All of the staff, from the front desk to the servers in the restaurant were personable and made us feel like family. We had 2 side by side rooms that were large and well equipped (tv with cable, fridge, fan, etc).... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for your wonderful review here on tripadvisor, its only through our valued guest feedback that we can ensure service above all excellence. It was a pleasure being able to host your family here at Umbhaba Lodge and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here with us. We will certainly... More 

Phalaborwa, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Umbhaba lodge really appealed to us when we booked, arriving after a late drive, booking in was very smooth and Norman who seems to be a do all at the lodge took us to our room which must say really clean , spacious and up to date. TV reception in room not up to standard, did not bother us as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review on trip advisor concerning your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive to provide you with a stay above the ordinary. However it’s unfortunate that we did not meet all your requirements. Concerning your dinner; as a courtesy to our guest we provide certain themed... More 

Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

no clean water available sunday morning , we could not prepare a decent cup of coffee in the room, we could not flush the toilet, there was no pressure for water in shower and bath water was completely brown

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge, here at Umbhaba Lodge we strive on providing you as our valued guest a service above the ordanary. However its unfortunate that we did not meet all your requirements. We do appologise for the inconvienience concerning the water. As our municipality left the... More 

Barberton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

I really loved the place will definitely visit again, the service was excellent and the staff was welcoming, the rooms were clean neat and unique. we were greeted with a smile and the lady at the reception was very friendly and she assisted us in viewing the place, the place is unique has a beautiful garden the staff is welcoming... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review of your stay here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide guest with a service above all expectations, and we are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Yes I do agree, seeing this beautiful area would surely make any nature... More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Umbhaba Lodge is not worth the 4-star rating they claim to have. For the price we paid one would expect well maintained facilities and gardens. The Lodge was overpriced for what you get. We do not recommend staying at Umbhaba Lodge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for providing us with your experiences here at Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide guest with a stay above the ordinary, however its very unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations. Umbhaba Lodge is currently in the process of major upgrades and renovations. We do apologize for you as... More 

Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Family suite was ok, but don't expect to fit in the shower if you are taller than the average 12 yr old. Games room really left a lot to be desired - table tennis net was broken, used cans from the previous day and linen (?) lying around; would have been nice if there had been a braai (gas or... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StoanC123, Guest Relations Manager at Umbhaba Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting a review of Umbhaba Lodge. Here at Umbhaba we strive to provide excellent service to our guest. However it is very unfortunate that we did no meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of revamping the Lodge and your shower will definitely be looked at to ensure future guest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel Hazyview
#9 of 12 in Hazyview
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#4 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laughing Waters Guest House
2.3 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 16 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay