We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Hazyview hotels

Hippo Hollow Country Estate

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hippo Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
75%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Coreen B Emalahleni, South Africa
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    128
    61
    28
    14
See reviews for
72
184
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emalahleni, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Pure bliss! For a peaceful and relaxing getaway, Hippo Hollow is definitely the answer. Professional friendly staff, and such a cozy atmosphere. What more could you ask for? A MUST DO when you're in the Hazyview area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ive never stayed anywhere like it - the rooms had a real african theme and were spacious with a huge double walk in shower. The restaurant food was amazing with good service from the staff. Lovely terrace area outside overlooking a river/lake inhabited by hippos and crocs. Able to watch the monkeys in the early morning but watch your belongings!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A stunning location as well as being very clean and welcoming. The rooms are charming and the food at the buffet was just unbelievable and absolutely amazing value for money. Very close to Krugar park as well as having its own wildlife on site, including hippos, crocodiles and monkeys. Lots of biting insects too so be sure to cover up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. It brings us great delight knowing that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Our focus is to bring a true African experience to all guests and we are privileged to have it topped off with the incredible nature that surrounds us. We wish to welcome you back... More

wiltshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour of South Africa. It is well located for Kruger park and has a pleasant river setting, although it is a shame that the noise from the main road was always audible from the terrace. We did not see hippos but we did see lots of birds and a large crocodile on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We strive to upkeep and improve on the products and services we offer at our establishment through guest feedback and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing us with yours. We are glad that our rooms met your expectations and that the bed provided you with a good nights rest. Please be assured that all matters... More

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at H H Country Estate. I made the booking via credit card. We stayed two nights and did not have hot water. Management could not rectify the problem and we were given the choice of piling into a vehicle with our toiletries and be shipped elsewhere for a shower or bath. I declined. I complained and mentioned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

oh I loved this hotel mainly - food cheap drink cheap and the market and shopping centre about 15 mins walk amazing my room was lovely B U T it overlooked the car park and the coaches revving up at 4am woke me up which I really was not pleased about so take care when rooms are allocated and do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We truly are privileged to be surrounded with such extraordinary nature and wildlife and are glad that you were able to experience it on our doorstep. We look forward... More

Macroom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello there, Having already reviewed this hotel once under the heading of (Our postcards never arrived), I would like to correct that. They finally arrived in the middle of January when we had given up hope of them doing so. I intended to write this review a lot sooner, and am now glad to have done so. So, all's well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Erwin, Taking the time to inform us that your memories & South African experience that you put in writing has finally reached your loved ones, certainly is commendable. Thank you for sharing it with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. More

Urtenen-Schoenbuehl, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent finish of our vacation at Hippo Hollow. Food was very good and the staff very friendly. When we had dinner we were joined by a hippo eating grass in the garden in front of us. Great attraction!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Knowing that we were part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The staff at Hippo Hollow would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We are privileged to be surrounded by such beautiful wild life creatures and we are glad you... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This lovely property is set by a river and we managed to see the resident hippo come out to graze. The only downside to the location is the busy road that you can hear from river facing rooms. Rooms are spacious and have all amenities you need. The staff are wonderful, vey friendly and accommodating. Lovely food and great bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Knowing you received such warm and welcoming service, is what motivates the staff here at Hippo Hollow. Thank you for you kind words. Our menu offers various African Cuisines and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back. More

Brighton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great situation - for the Kruger AND by a fast flowing river. Called Hippo Hollow for good reason - hippos promenade along the river bank and pose for photos under the lights most evenings! Didn't see any crocs though.................! The rooms that we saw were large and airey, clean and well situated around the main bar/restaurant block. The staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We strive to exceed the expectations of the guests we welcome to Hippo Hollow and are thankful that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are very lucky to have such a great team at Hippo Hollow and are in particular very privileged to be surrounded by such extraordinary wild life. The Hippo Hollow team would... More

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview
Hippo Hollow
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Hollow Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.