We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Hazyview hotels

Hippo Hollow Country Estate

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hippo Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
75%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Mhimbi Johannesburg
  • Overview
  • Reviews (433)
  • Photos (384)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (74)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    148
    67
    33
    15
See reviews for
88
204
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff were very friendly and well prepared for our visit; slight changes to rooms were immediately and professionally dealt with; the rooms are exceptionally appointed and clean with everything working; the showers are the ultimate! The food tended to be fairly average, though, and I would have liked to see more variety. The hotel is a mere 15minutes from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our travel agent booked us a one night layover here on our way to Sabi Sand. This place was a lot better than what I expected. Service was great! This guy CIPHO who helped us during our stay, was very friendly and helpful. Dinner was great too. Wish we had stayed an extra day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the only wart on an otherwise fantastic trip to South Africa. We came during the wet season so no Hippos around. The rooms by the river are beautiful but no TV's and no air conditioning. I could live without AC, but the windows lacked screens - net we were not very comfortable. We were here for New Year's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We do regard any feedback as the opportunity to improve on the products and services that we offer at our establishment, however we found your feedback to be very disappointing and rather misleading. All our chalets are equipped with a ceiling fan but since your visit, we have undergone some refurbishment. With regards to the restaurant, the manager on duty... More

Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights in early August and were a bit disappointed. Overall, the staff seemed unorganized and flustered. Upper management issues? The internet was down, food was average, we had to request towels three times before they were brought to our room, and the river chalets were not what we expected considered the $$$ we paid. Would not recommend. Perhaps,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We strive to upkeep and improve on the products and services that we offer. We do this through guest feedback and would like to thank you for providing us with yours. Our staff dedicate themselves to ensure an extraordinary experience for our guests and assure you this certainly was an isolated matter. However we do apologies for the unfortunate experience... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Welcomed with a soft drink, staff informative and helpful. Food good and plentiful, the hippos walking past while we dined was a bonus and at breakfast we saw the crocodiles letting under the trees in the sun Cottage style rooms with rustic balcony were good needed slight attention with maintenance but overall added to our enjoyment

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Knowing that the staff provided you with the help you needed brings us great joy. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We are very glad that you found the restaurant and all it has to offer to your satisfaction.... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked to stay three days as part of a 15 night south Africa tour but due to an bad accident at the previous hotel ended staying the whole holiday here. Our disappointment at the accident was balanced by the fantastic experience at hippo hollow. The staff were great and the location fantastic - looking from our balcony onto... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to making your trip such a memorable one brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are glad to know that you ended up having an unforgettable South African experience despite the unfortunate incident and are extremely proud to know that you were taken care of by the staff... More

cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great experience! We originally booked for 5 nights but loved it so much that we extended our stay by two nights. The accommodation here is in a lovely, quiet location. We had a free upgrade to a "hut" alongside the river. Lovely big bed, no a/c but was sheltered by trees so didn't need it. Saw hippos grazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It brings us absolute joy knowing that you found the staff and everything we had to offer suitable to your needs. We are very lucky to have such a committed team and exceeding customer expectations is what motivates us. Thank you for your kind words. We look... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't know where to start as we had such a memorable stay at Hippo Hollow. We stayed for 5 nights in July-Aug as part of our honeymoon, and stayed in the River Chalets. They were fantastic accommodation, very rustic and beautifully presented.......and what a great view from the large balcony. We were lucky enough to see Hippos every night we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part of celebrating such a beautiful occasion with you, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We have an extraordinary team here at Hippo Hollow who takes great pride in their work. We are very lucky to have each and every one of them as part... More

Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a 5 day safari and spent 4 nights at Hippo Hollow. We could not have been happier with our stay, the location was conveniently close to Kruger National Park. The staff greeted us with smiles, a cool drink, and nice rooms. We had two rooms which were clean, well appointed, quiet, and located next to the pool. All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

It brings us great joy knowing that we were able to be a part of your trip. Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Knowing that the products and services that we offer at our establishment exceeded your expectations, is what motivates us to upkeep and improve on providing a well deserved South African experience to our guests. Thank... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want to go into Kruger Park early through Pabheni gate or late after a good breakfast this is the place to stop. It is also good for the Central park as it is much more fun driving up from the South than braving the potholes to Orpen. It will be the place we will revisit every year as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are very privileged to be a stone throw away from not only the Kruger Park, but many other tourist attractions as well. Knowing that our staff offered you all the assistance that you required, makes us very proud. They would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hippo Hollow Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

384 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (294)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hazyview with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
91

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hippo Hollow Country Estate and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hippo Hollow Country Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer