We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Certificate of Excellence
Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Corse-du-Sud, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

rooms with a 100 years old air co!!!!!! which is not even doing cold anymore and instead a lot of noise!!!! The room smells bad like an old smell....!!!!!! and the staff is very average like the guy at the restaurant told us three times that the kitchen close at 9 pm when we arrived only at 8 and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 282509
Cumberland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recommend Hippo Hollow Country Estate to any visitor travelling in this area. The warm reception when we arrived and the friendly and accommodating service received during our stay was outstanding. The meals and the restaurant ambiance were exquisite and we often spent an evening sitting outside on the restaurant patio enjoying the scenery and landscape sipping a glass a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patti2062
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Many of the rooms are small thatched cabins which, although a little gloomy and lacking in power points, are very quaint, with good patios to sit and watch the birds and other wildlife. The food is good, although the restaurant has a number of steps to negotiate if one wishes to eat outside. An added bonus is the hippos grazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo N
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would not recommend this place as the room are really outdated and over priced. Our room was small, musty and smelt of smoke, we then asked for a room change which we got. The second room was much better but still a bit outdated. The shower was not the cleanest and the drain was clogged. I had to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel-Jbird
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to Hippo hollow to enjoy a scenic helicopter flight, but unfortunately we were totally gutted when the pilot told us it was too misty. As we weren't actually staying there overnight, he suggested we wait for a couple of hours in case it cleared so we went to the restaurant to enjoy a snack. It was a beautiful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GMClooney
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really loved your hotel. It was our first night in SA and we enjoyed everything. We had a nice new year dinner accompanied by hippos - fantastic!! The pool area is quiet and beautiful. Thanks from all of us!! We will be back!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Katarina339
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is so special knowing that we were your first stop in South Africa, especially knowing that you had an enjoyable experience during your visit. Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to be a part of that beautiful memory. We hope you had an unforgettable journey further on... More 

Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

The location after a Kruger experience is good. The grounds are well maintained and quaint. I enjoyed the ambiance. I thought that the food served was excellent. I stayed in a thatched roof room and "little gifts" were left by the bugs and whatever was living there. It was a bit disconcerting and I was afraid droppings would land on... More 

Helpful?
Thank woman1954
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We regard ALL feedback as an opportunity to upkeep and improve on the products and services that we offer and would like to thank you for providing us with yours. By following a strict schedule of fumigation and deep cleaning, ALL our rooms are maintained to the best of our ability on a regular basis. It is unfortunately a matter... More 

Springs, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

room was clean and spacious , food was top / shelf every one made us feel very special and made our staying memorable especially the interaction experience at Elephant Whisper and Lebo that was so kind with my grandson . Keep up the great work Andre`, wish you all the success you deserve for your great effort. sincerely Carla Dogliani

Helpful?
1 Thank carladogliani
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for sharing it with us. We are extremely privileged to have a team who not only find their passion in what they do, but who commit themselves to ensuring that our guests are comfortable during their stay. We are... More 

Ririe, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

Rooms, grounds, and restaurant are actually quite lovely. We stayed in a cottage type room with thatched grass roof so some dust on the floor would be acceptable. But there was so much dirt, pet hair, etc. that I did not want to walk on the floor. By the time we realized it, it was late or we would have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank janet0508
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Our housekeepers dedicate themselves to ensuring clean and tidy rooms for our guests. They take great pride in our rooms and do their utter best to sign each room off with perfection. We do not allow pets on the property let alone in the rooms and please be... More 

Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

As the name promises, there are hippos on the property. It was fine as a basis to see the different water falls in the area, but I think the property has seen better days. The restaurant was good so you needn't be concerned about meals.

Helpful?
Thank thebearsofgermany
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you found the restaurant and all it has to offer to your satisfaction. Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (446)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (65)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (105)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (157)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
2.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel Hazyview
#9 of 12 in Hazyview
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#4 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
9.6 mi away
Highgrove House
Highgrove House
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay