We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Certificate of Excellence
Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Herve A Grenoble, France
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    234
    209
    79
    36
    16
See reviews for
116
263
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (574)
  • Mar-May only
    (156)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you want to have a chance to see hippos safely as close as a few meters away, you should stay at the Hippo Hollow Country Estate and wait until 10:30pmish on the terrasse of the restaurant... The hotel is good, with independant lodges and geat view on the river. Beware of crocodiles and hippos if you go on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was part of a group tour and this was a one night stop over between game reserves. The grounds were beautiful with monkeys being part of the landscape. The room was very nice and clean. The wifi hot spot was iffy, but I wasn't on vacation to stay on the internet. The breakfast and evening buffet were excellent. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Province of Prato, Italy
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just come back from my honey moon in south africa. This lodge is the best I have ever been. We had a beautiful view from our terrace, we saw the elefants from our room. The rooms are very cleaned and the kitchen is very very good. The staff is really kindly and always available. If you have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was just a quick overnight stay for us. We needed a place to overnight so we could get into our next camp. The property is gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and attentive. As I said, we arrived late in the day and did not participate in any game activities. We did enjoy a wonderful dinner at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Knowing that you found the hotel, the restaurant and all it has to offer to your satisfaction, brings us great joy. We are extremely privileged to have such a passionate team. Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were very nice, as well as the entire resort. There was a show before dinner representing traditional South African dancing and it was so much fun! The food was delicious. We had a great time hanging out at the bar because the bartender was awesome! Very friendly and nice to chat with. Wifi only works in the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for sharing it with us. Our Shangaan River Club offers a great variety of traditional cuisines and the dancing certainly creates the perfect African ambience. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the experience to your fullest. Our... More 

Burntwood
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Hippo Hollows for one night after going on the Panoramic route tour throughout the day. The room itself was lovely, we had a garden hut, however we were a little disappointed with the bathroom....it completely ruins the feel of the rest of the hut. We were welcomed with a smile and had help with our bags and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that you were treated with friendliness and that you were taken care of. Best way to enjoy a holiday is to feel relaxed and comfortable with your surroundings and we are proud that you found that with us during your visit. Our chalets... More 

Ermelo, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It’s a very peaceful and pleasant place to stay. The nature has a calm effect on you, especially when are sitting down to have breakfast in the morning and you look at the different bird species near the water. The breakfast was excellent and the services also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We truly are privileged to be located in an area that is surrounded by absolute nature and extraordinary creatures and birdlife. Even more so with a team who dedicate themselves to maintaining these gardens and surrounding area. Knowing that you found the breakfast and the service to your... More 

Constanta, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was the most beautiful and charmful location I have ever visited. Besides the meals we paid for, we had a bonus from the hotel and this impressed us a lot: the brunch. In the restaurant we ate traditional food( dry meat and sauce) and the waiters were extremely friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your experience an unforgettable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for sharing it with us. It’s great knowing that the staff took such good care of you and that you found the food and the snack we offer to be of great quality. We wish to welcome you back to... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was pleasant. As a bonus there were hippos on the lawn (apparently there's crocodiles too). The hotel is just 15 minutes from the Numbi Gate of Kruger too, which was pretty useful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted to know that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly, a true motivation to us all. We certainly are privileged to have hippos and yes, crocodiles too, wondering around. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hazyview is about 4.5 hours from Johannesburg (easy drive, motorway for much of the way) and is located on the edge of Kruger National Park. We stopped for 2 nights prior to heading to a safari lodge. As there are 4 of us I opted for a river chalet. I booked online through a travel website (not the hotel site)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. Our philosophy is to ensure that our guests are taken care of and that they build up irreplaceable memories that they can take back home with them to cherish for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

491 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (400)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (103)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel Hazyview
#9 of 12 in Hazyview
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
9.6 mi away
Highgrove House
Highgrove House
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#4 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
22.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay