We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Hazyview hotels

Hippo Hollow Country Estate

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hippo Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
npayne555 San Francisco, California
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    129
    62
    29
    14
See reviews for
72
186
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were booked to stay here on a South African tour with Thompson's Africa. We were in Unit 50 which had a thatched roof. When we entered the room had a dreadful smell of damp. I notified reception who came over and agreed, said the smell was from the thatch as it had been wet and put some solution on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We only got to stay here one night between leaving Kruger and heading back to Jo-Burg but it was a lovely night. Upon arrival we were greeted at the car and brought tea to enjoy during check in. The grounds are beautiful and we loved that you can see Hippos and Crocs on the property. The bar was very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We regard guest feedback as very valuable to us and consider each review as an opportunity to upkeep and improve on our products and services that we offer at our establishment. Thank you for providing us with yours. Please be assured that your concern will be attended to with great urgency. We do wish that you would return to Hippo... More

Emalahleni, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pure bliss! For a peaceful and relaxing getaway, Hippo Hollow is definitely the answer. Professional friendly staff, and such a cozy atmosphere. What more could you ask for? A MUST DO when you're in the Hazyview area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to be part of making your trip such a memorable one brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Knowing that your stay with us has met all your expectations is what keeps us motivated. The staff at Hippo Hollow would like to thank you for your kind words. We... More

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ive never stayed anywhere like it - the rooms had a real african theme and were spacious with a huge double walk in shower. The restaurant food was amazing with good service from the staff. Lovely terrace area outside overlooking a river/lake inhabited by hippos and crocs. Able to watch the monkeys in the early morning but watch your belongings!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Knowing that we were part in making your trip a true African experience brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and the staff would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We wish... More

Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A stunning location as well as being very clean and welcoming. The rooms are charming and the food at the buffet was just unbelievable and absolutely amazing value for money. Very close to Krugar park as well as having its own wildlife on site, including hippos, crocodiles and monkeys. Lots of biting insects too so be sure to cover up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. It brings us great delight knowing that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Our focus is to bring a true African experience to all guests and we are privileged to have it topped off with the incredible nature that surrounds us. We wish to welcome you back... More

wiltshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour of South Africa. It is well located for Kruger park and has a pleasant river setting, although it is a shame that the noise from the main road was always audible from the terrace. We did not see hippos but we did see lots of birds and a large crocodile on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We strive to upkeep and improve on the products and services we offer at our establishment through guest feedback and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing us with yours. We are glad that our rooms met your expectations and that the bed provided you with a good nights rest. Please be assured that all matters... More

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at H H Country Estate. I made the booking via credit card. We stayed two nights and did not have hot water. Management could not rectify the problem and we were given the choice of piling into a vehicle with our toiletries and be shipped elsewhere for a shower or bath. I declined. I complained and mentioned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

oh I loved this hotel mainly - food cheap drink cheap and the market and shopping centre about 15 mins walk amazing my room was lovely B U T it overlooked the car park and the coaches revving up at 4am woke me up which I really was not pleased about so take care when rooms are allocated and do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We truly are privileged to be surrounded with such extraordinary nature and wildlife and are glad that you were able to experience it on our doorstep. We look forward... More

Macroom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello there, Having already reviewed this hotel once under the heading of (Our postcards never arrived), I would like to correct that. They finally arrived in the middle of January when we had given up hope of them doing so. I intended to write this review a lot sooner, and am now glad to have done so. So, all's well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Dear Erwin, Taking the time to inform us that your memories & South African experience that you put in writing has finally reached your loved ones, certainly is commendable. Thank you for sharing it with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. More

Urtenen-Schoenbuehl, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent finish of our vacation at Hippo Hollow. Food was very good and the staff very friendly. When we had dinner we were joined by a hippo eating grass in the garden in front of us. Great attraction!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Knowing that we were part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The staff at Hippo Hollow would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We are privileged to be surrounded by such beautiful wild life creatures and we are glad you... More

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview
Hippo Hollow
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Hollow Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.