We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Hazyview hotels

Hippo Hollow Country Estate

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hippo Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
SLindt_12 Bologna, Italy
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    173
    75
    35
    16
See reviews for
99
230
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (496)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful, comfortable and sizable rooms with an African feel; stunning grounds with hippos and birds and koi; and a friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant food was OK - I'm not a food person, so as long as it's edible that's good enough for me. Internet worked great. They had books to trade and a little gift shop. More than anything, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hippo Hollow was just such an amazing experience. The setting is just stunning with the added luxury of a mother hippo and her baby bathing in the river each night. The accommodation is authentic and was an extremely high standard. Also ate at the restaurant and drank at the bar, both 5 star. I would like to thank the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Riviera tour. The accommodation in the blocks around the pool is adequate -- comfortable and clean but a bit tired. Our upstairs room had a small balcony that overlooked the pool area, so no hippos to be seen there (the large, pink creatures wallowing in the pool were our fellow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Segundo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hippo Hallow was an amazing experience. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff were extremely kind, respectful and generous. I'd like to thank Sena and Ephraim for their outstanding hospitality! Aubrey for taking care of us on our first day and the professionalism of Mr. Cerryn. I highly recommend Hippo Hollow for a great Safari experience. See you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are extremely grateful to have a team who are passionate about what they do. They take great pride in the products and services that are offered at our establishment. We are in particular very lucky to have Sena, Ephraim, Aubrey and Cerryn as part of the... More 

Bomoseen, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Hippo Hollow Estates on the suggestion of our travel agent and we were very happy with our choice. We selected a chalet by the river that had a loft with twin beds, nice functioning kitchen and huge bathroom. The chalet was decorated beautifully, the beds very comfortable. Although we did not see any hippos, we had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for sharing it with us. We are truly privileged to be located in a area with such beautiful surroundings and even more so to have a team who maintain it to be as luscious as is. Our staff takes... More 

Maputo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at Hippo Hollow and it was a great experience. The hotel is in a good location although close to the main road but it did not affect our stay or sleep. The place is very well maintened and the staff very friendly and helpful. We found breakfast very good and dinner at the main restaurant was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are glad that you found our facility and all the restaurant has to offer to your satisfaction. It’s what motivates the team to upkeep and influence guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the place was expensive for what you get. Definitely not value for money for me. I read many reviews about the food, and although I only had breakfast I found it to be pretty average. The setting is great and thats where it ended for me unfortunately. It is situated right next to the Hazyview main road which you don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We strive to upkeep and improve on the products and services that we offer at our establishment through guest feedback and would like to thank you for providing us with yours. Your review struck me with great disappointment as our philosophy at Hippo Hollow is to ensure that we exceed our guest’s expectations. We ensure direct guest contact with our... More 

Bicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First the positives = location for touring the area is excellent and close to a few good restaurants.The staff were friendly and pleasant . We were lucky to see a great show from the Hippos in the river What could improve = the room had charm but could do with a revamp all very old and tired The pool area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are glad that you were able to experience the sighting of the Hippos. We are very privileged to be surrounded by such extraordinary creatures and beautiful surroundings. We strive to upkeep and improve on the products and services that we offer at our establishment, through guest feedback. I assure... More 

Lydenburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

By comparison, I found the Estate to be expensive for what you get. Definitely not value for money for me. I read many reviews about the food, and although I only had breakfast I found it to be pretty average. The setting is stunning and thats where it ended for me unfortunately. It is situated right next to the Hazyview... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are lucky to be located in an area where we are surrounded by true nature. We are in particular very lucky to have a team who maintain it for us. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very presentable hotel with good staff, very good food and a lovely location in Hazyview with the added bonus of Hippos coming out of the river onto the lawns whilst you are having dinner! Rooms are clean and good beds. Bathrooms were more than adequate (in our case) but could do with a makeover. Recommended and vey close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Having had the opportunity to being part in making your trip a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We are glad that you found the room and everything the restaurant has to offer to your satisfaction. It’s what motivates us. We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

447 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (356)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (91)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay