We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rissington Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rissington Inn
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    81
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
167
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Minnesota
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The last 10 days of our 5 week tour of South Africa was booked through Kensington Tours, and the Rissington Inn was their choice for lodging in Hazyview. And what a good choice it was! We booked the "Ebony" room in the garden suites, which actually turned out to be a detached cottage complete with deck. So, it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well what can I say! The experience of staying at Rissington Inn was incredible. We were there for six nights and could have stayed longer! The staff are marvellous; so wonderfully helpful. The views were splendid and the whole place is just so peaceful. The kitchen produced great meals and were so accommodating for our three grandchildren. Fussy eaters! If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointment with the Courtyard room as no door on the bathroom except a curtain and not really possible to keep the room interior out of sight when not there by use of yet another curtain inside the front entrance. Upon reflection we should have asked to change but we were just too tired after a day's journey. Having said that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. You did indeed leave the same feedback when you left - and as you say, what a shame you didn't say something BEFORE you left, or when you arrived, when we could have moved you. We have only two courtyard rooms and, as explained everywhere, they are for budget travellers. Those rooms are almost half the... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had one night we booked very last minute before driving to Johannesburg! We found this place on booking.com and was super impressed. The rooms are simple but the views are really beautiful! Breakfast was included in our stay but was a bit old fashioned! The buffet Could do with a refreshed looked. Staff were friendly and really accommodating! We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the happy review. What a shame you couldn't just leave it at "super impressed" and not grapple around for something to criticise. I will try to work out how on earth breakfast can be old-fashioned, then I will give up and do nothing. Breakfast is breakfast. It's eggs and bacon and sausages and tomatoes and mushrooms and onions... More 

Maud Uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights during a three week stay in South Africa. This is by far the most welcoming hotel we have stayed at whether in South Africa or elsewhere. We had a quiet and peaceful room with a gorgeous view of the grounds. The staff were stunning in the attention they gave us and the food was excellent. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

If you are looking for tranquility, privacy and quietness then this idyllic accommodation is just for you. Our room, named 'Kigelia' had a private verandah and the view was quite spectacular . The gardens are quite simply lovely with an array of different, beautiful trees that act as a 'canopy' from the heat. The Staff are friendly and attentive. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leighton Buzzard
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We were staying in a resort in Hazyview and decided to have a change of scenery, so dropped in at the Rissington to 'recce' the place. We were met on arrival by Dave, who treated us very well, so we arranged to return for dinner. We found the menu to be varied and reasonably priced, Cooking was really good, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your positive comments. I am really glad that you enjoyed yourselves. I should probably point out to other users that, strictly speaking, our dining room is not open to non-residents but we make a plan to accommodate them when we can - and when our rooms are not full. But you are certainly right - the food... More 

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

we stay only one day before going to the kruger park . very relax place , room very nice . private with our veranda. pool perfect. great view. service can be better , food like nice but not so good , even more than ordinary. wine excellent. we recommend it of the peaceful and luxious place but not for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this review

I refer you to the review below: "The food is first class". And the one below that: "Particularly excellent are the food and the staff". And the one below that: "The food was delicious". Thanks for your positive comments, though. We shall never forget our traumatic evening looking after you but we are glad, at least, that you enjoyed it.... More 

South East
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stayed at the Rissington for 2 nights and found it to be peaceful, luxurious and relaxing. Set in beautiful gardens, with great views looking across the green countryside, our spacious room opened out on to a totally private terrace where we could sit and watch the wildlife - mongoose and monkeys playing in the fields - undisturbed by anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Had a lovely stay in this hotel. The service was second to none. Would definitely go for air con the next time as room very hot. This did not spoil our stay though. Particularly excellent are the food and the staff. The owner makes such an effort to ensure that guests needs are met. Fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question