We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Hazyview

3.0 of 5 R40 Rd 38km from White River, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    46
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
34
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

All in all a comfortable hotel, conveniently located near Kruger. Spacious clean rooms. However, no fridge in the room and wifi coverage was available only at the bar and it was rather slow. Garden was beautifully kept and breakfast on the outside lawn very pleasant. All in all good, but somehow more expensive and less good value compared to other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Allessandra, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, it's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that one would expect from a Protea Hotel. great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the spacious, clean 7 comfortable rooms and the close proximity to the world... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed one night at the Protea - it was a welcome relief to arrive at such a warm and cozy hotel after a hairy trip from Kruger across the South African pot-holed and lightless roads. We arrived to hot walk-in showers, a beautiful room which was pristine and I do love the Protea hotel toiletries. We ate a buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Islands, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, it's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that one would expect from a Protea hotel. Really good to see that you enjoyed your stay, hot showers and beautiful rooms, and that our team served you well. And yes... More 

Netanya, Central District, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights. Receieved 2 rooms that were already occupied so got upgraded. Very dirty rooms full of bugs. Hot water didnt work and has to wait an hour until housekeeping came to fix it. Dinner is disgusting. Breakfest is fine. Good location and thats it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear r Piri, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, it's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that one would expect at a Protea hotel. Really disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and the issues that you have raised have since been addressed.... More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a prokard member and have been to many Protea Hotels, I was initially given room 26, which on arrival was changed to Room 74 ( which had bad maintenance, bathroom window not closing) i requested a complimentary upgrade which was done and was given room 14 that i enjoyed my stay for 2 days in. Staff Friendly, pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Maboku, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel Hazyview on Trip Advisor. It is through your most valued feedback that we are able to motivate our team and maintain the standards that one would expect at a Protea Hotel. As a fully serviced hotel with full dining, bar & rooms services we do not offer self... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for 3 nights...it has beautiful resort like feeling ...it has lots of rooms...and its very convenient for family. Family rooms are huge...i personally do not prefer thatch much...but otherwise its good place to have a relaxed holiday!! It has lovely pool,jungle gym.they put up jumping castle for kids...and lovely breakfast. friendly staff!!! It is very near by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Ashtasy, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel on Trip Advisor, it's through your most valued feedback that we are able to keep the team motivated and maintain the standards that one would expect at a Protea Hotel. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and whilst most of our Family suites are thatch... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay at this hotel was truly amazing, it is in a great location, tranquil environment, beautiful facility. The staff is helpful and very friendly and the food was sublime. awesome hotel however there is alot of room for improvement! Great service keep it up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Celeste, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel hazyview on Trip Advisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we can motivate our team and provide the standards that you would expect at a Protea Hotel. Great to see that your stay was amazing and you had an awesome time here And that you found our... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We stayed at Protea Hotel Hazyview on the first night of our trip. After that, we were supposed to stay at another hotel in the Kruger. On arrival, we were horrified at the state of our new accommodation, that we went back to Protea Hotel Hazyview that same day and extended our stay. Lovely hotel with a nice pool area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Marija, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip advisor. Your comments and feedback will go a long way to keeping the team motivated and to strive for the service that we are known for. Sadly there are no Protea Hotels within the Kruger Park itself, so sometimes not staying with your favourite brand might... More 

Bueno, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This hotel is reasonably conveniently located in order to get to Kruger National Park. It's grounds and setting are great, the monkeys are cheeky and entertaining but do not offer them entry to your room. The room is very spacious, clean and well appointed but there were a number of small negatives. Typically hotels seem to specialise in poor, low,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to motivate the TEAM to achieve the standards that we strive for. Great to see that you enjoyed the Kruger National Park and our proximity to this world famous attraction. Regarding the lighting, we are... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

The hotel is a real hidden gem. The setting is awesome, great rooms and staff is just awesome. Easy access to the Kruger Gates (Numbi and Phabeni), great facilities for kids as well. We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely go back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Legods, Thanks for the awesome review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Protea hotel Hazyview. Your comments on our STAFF go a long way to keeping them motivated and to consistently provide the excellent service that we strive for. looking forward to your next visit with us. More 

Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
92 hotel reviews
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful - park-like area half an hour away from Kruger Park. Rooms are large. WiFi is only available in the Bar, We were having severe Microsoft eMail problems - so spent way too much time in the bar. Dinner was good - very similar to all the Protea properties.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear MGM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Hazyview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Hazyview

Address: R40 Rd 38km from White River, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Hazyview 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Hazyview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hazyview South Africa - Mpumalanga

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay