We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Hazyview

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
R40 Rd 38km from White River, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Add Your Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
37
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Durban
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel group will be my choice of accommodation from now onwards... Its affordable and has the best of everything. The staff are all well mannered and pleasant. This hotel is very well situated as its in a secluded restful spot but not far from the main town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is a good one, the rooms are big and well furnished. However, our check-in was combined with a management mistake which led us to extra waiting time and confusion. Furthermore the hotel offers wireless which is very very slow. It takes long to access mails or even send a picture on WhatsApp. These could be improved in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that one would expect from a Protea Hotel. And motivate the team to exceed these expectations. With regards to the delay in check in as you may be aware we... More 

New Orleans
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a few nights as a part of a Gate One tour of South Africa and Swaziland. It's up a hill in a banana plantation, basically, and the grounds look very tropical...thatched roofs, open air hallways, wood, etc. There's a nice patio area outside between the restaurant and bar with restrooms for use when you're at either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Holly, Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel on Trip Advisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that we strive for and exceed the expectations that one would expect from a Protea Hotel. Really pleased that you had so many positive comments to say about us, and yes... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Stayed there a few days on holiday. Decent rooms, decent restaurant, decent service. It's in a very good area, away from the city and well placed into the Kruger National Park, scenic route over God's window and other good places

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Azwimmbavhi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to motivate the TEAM to maintain and where possible exceed the standards that one would expect at a Protea Hotel. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our TEAM'S efforts to take... More 

Hoedspruit
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We spend three days there as part of a corporate event. Over all it is clean, comfortable and given its location an excellent base from which to explore Kruger National Park and surrounds. Food was plentiful and of fair quality but service not too great. Also coming from a hospitality background I could notice that small maintenance issues are arising... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that we strive for, and that one would expect at a Protea Hotel. Really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularly appreciated our chef's... More 

Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

All in all a comfortable hotel, conveniently located near Kruger. Spacious clean rooms. However, no fridge in the room and wifi coverage was available only at the bar and it was rather slow. Garden was beautifully kept and breakfast on the outside lawn very pleasant. All in all good, but somehow more expensive and less good value compared to other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Allessandra, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, it's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that one would expect from a Protea Hotel. great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the spacious, clean 7 comfortable rooms and the close proximity to the world... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed one night at the Protea - it was a welcome relief to arrive at such a warm and cozy hotel after a hairy trip from Kruger across the South African pot-holed and lightless roads. We arrived to hot walk-in showers, a beautiful room which was pristine and I do love the Protea hotel toiletries. We ate a buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Islands, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, it's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that one would expect from a Protea hotel. Really good to see that you enjoyed your stay, hot showers and beautiful rooms, and that our team served you well. And yes... More 

Netanya, Central District, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights. Receieved 2 rooms that were already occupied so got upgraded. Very dirty rooms full of bugs. Hot water didnt work and has to wait an hour until housekeeping came to fix it. Dinner is disgusting. Breakfest is fine. Good location and thats it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear r Piri, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, it's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain the standards that one would expect at a Protea hotel. Really disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and the issues that you have raised have since been addressed.... More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

I am a prokard member and have been to many Protea Hotels, I was initially given room 26, which on arrival was changed to Room 74 ( which had bad maintenance, bathroom window not closing) i requested a complimentary upgrade which was done and was given room 14 that i enjoyed my stay for 2 days in. Staff Friendly, pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Maboku, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel Hazyview on Trip Advisor. It is through your most valued feedback that we are able to motivate our team and maintain the standards that one would expect at a Protea Hotel. As a fully serviced hotel with full dining, bar & rooms services we do not offer self... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed there for 3 nights...it has beautiful resort like feeling ...it has lots of rooms...and its very convenient for family. Family rooms are huge...i personally do not prefer thatch much...but otherwise its good place to have a relaxed holiday!! It has lovely pool,jungle gym.they put up jumping castle for kids...and lovely breakfast. friendly staff!!! It is very near by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon S, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Ashtasy, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel on Trip Advisor, it's through your most valued feedback that we are able to keep the team motivated and maintain the standards that one would expect at a Protea Hotel. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and whilst most of our Family suites are thatch... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question