We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Hazyview accommodations

Sabie River Bush Lodge

3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1402, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sabie River Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (106)
  • Photos (126)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff themselves were fantastic . I think it was welsy who checked us in and looked after our needs at reception Lazarus around the lodge and life on our drives. Your service and hospitality were outstanding. Life was the best driver - he made sure we saw everything there was to see and we saw the big 5. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lodge has a nice deck overlooking Sabie river. You can sit there, enjoy your cocktail and look at the river and listen to the sounds of nature. However, it is SO NOISY. There is construction going on the whole afternoon, except Sunday, and the worse....there is a bar nearby that plays LOUD music till 2 in the morning. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Goilista Thank you for taking the time to review the Lodge and thank you for your business we all really appreciate it. In respect of your review, due to the growth of the Lodge and the demand for more accommodation we contracted a construction company to build the addition Log Cabins at the Lodge with a contract period of... More

galway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 14 during our Kruger Safari. Accommodation in a beautiful room with huge thatch roof. Had satellite tv and Wifi. The food and the service and friendliness of all the staff was first class. There were 2 choices for main course every night and everything we had was very tasty. There is even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed her only one night after spending 4 nights at lodges within Kruger Park. What a contrast to the rip off prices and poor food on offer at the various camps in the park I arrived just before dark and left the next morning at 10am so I couldnt enjoy the outside relaxation area. The.lodge is right on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely superb experience. Really top notch safari lodge at an excellent price. Location was great, right on the River Sabie about 10miles from Paul Kruger Gate. The lodge has an excellent decking area overlooking the river (with pool and bonfire area), great for sitting in the sun during the day or sitting by the fire at night. Staff lit a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Travelling John thank you for your business we at Sabie River Bush Lodge really appreciated it. We all would like to thank you for the time you have taken to review our lodge and as a top contributor it is satisfying that you have rated the with FIVE stars. I will definitely take up your concerns with the lodge.... More

Val d'Isere
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed there en famille with our baby and we had a good expereince overall except for a couple of things. The hotel in all inclusive, half board. The food was reasonnably good on the first night and not so good for the other two nights. The room was really good and big wuth everything on hand. We were looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pairfati firstly I would like to thank you for your business and taking the time to review our Lodge. I have taken up your concerns with the manager at the lodge and would just like to clear up your concerns. the entrance fees into the Kruger National Park on open game drive vehicles is determined by the park and... More

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Value for money, you can't beat this place. The service is outstanding and the setting superb. Hippo and elephant come down to the river in front of the deck to drink while you're treated with wonderful care by the warm staff. It's a 15 minute drive to the Kruger Park but with dinner and breakfast - both scrumptious - included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked the holiday through Themba tours where they gave us a choice of three lodges, we stayed at the Sabi River Bush Lodge, great choice! When we arrived we thought, ok, very basic but lets face it how much time will we spend here. Taking the place as a whole, couldn't have wished for better, amazing surroundings, most helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We booked this lovely plave through Themba Tours. Highly recommend it as a base for travelling into the national park that is just about twenty minutes away. The room was small but perfectly adequate given that we spent almost no time in it apart from sleeping. The shower was wonderful! Food was fine albeit with only a small choice of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked a package through Themba Tours and the lodge was booked for us. We could not have chosen better ourselves, it was the perfect place to stay. That was what made Kruger perfect for us. The rooms are basic but very clean and really, who needs 5* on safari? The staff is very attentive and would go out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sabie River Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sabie River Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabie River Bush Lodge

Address: R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1402, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabie River Bush Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sabie River Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabie River Bush Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the majestic Kruger National Park lies Sabie River Bush Lodge, a bush lodge where you can "recharge your soul" and experience the African Bush. Situated a mere 19kms from the world famous Paul Kruger Gate and 13kms from Phabeni Gate, this is the place you want to be! Sitting on our raised pool deck enjoying great, friendly service and a cocktail with an African twist, one can view the BIG 5 and some of our smaller, yet beautiful, wildlife. With an extensive bird watching opportunity, there is no better place to sit back, relax and take in the natural beauty of the African Bushveld while all your needs are taken care of by our staff! Join us on a guided safari in our open vehicle into the Kruger National Park for a chance to get closer to the amazing animals the Kruger National Park boasts home to. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;