We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanamera Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Sabie Road Portion 8 | Farm Vergenoeg Sabie Road (R536), Hazyview 1260, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tanamera Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    87
    7
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is between Sabie and Hazyview. The scenery is tranquil. Fantastic food. The rooms are stunning with a breathtaking view. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They will definitely see us again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view of the Sabie forest and river from the deck of the room is breathtaking. It draws you in and assertively persuades you to switch-off and slow down. The rooms are large with some very unique charms including: a cozy reading spot near the fireplace and windows overlooking the forest; a huge bath also with a view; candles scattered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lee C Thank you for your nice comments about Tanamera. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in summer when you will have a chance to spend time on the deck and enjoy the outside shower and pool Kind regards, Ian and Michelle Burger More 

Witbank, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the most awesome weekend at Tanamera. The food, the view, the hospitality was out of this world. I loved the bathroom and having my own private pool. Thank you Michelle for being a wonderful host. Looking forward to visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank you very much for your encouraging words about Tanamera. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you stay at Tanamera again in warmer weather so you can enjoy the outside shower and pool more. Kind regards, Ian and Michelle Burger More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

We were slightly nervous about our stay at Tanamera in light of the two bad reviews it had just received but we needn't have worried; it was the perfect start to our honeymoon. Our room was ready early, and was excellent. Large with beautiful bath and shower and stunning views over the valley and river. Too cold to use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jas46 Thank you very much for your great review of Tanamera Lodge. We really appreciate your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you at Tanamera again in the near future. Kind regards, Ian and Michelle Burger More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Such a stunning view but such a disappointment. Place is in need of alot of care. Feels like there is no money being put back into a place. Tables are broken, wood is crying for a paint. Things are falling to pieces. Simple things like serviettes need replacing. Fill the bath with hot water half way then water is cold.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

To Cherjenn Thank you very much for your comments. Only by comments like this do we know where we are falling short of expectations and what we need to do. I will be having a meeting with my directors and be bring the issues raised to their attention and working on an action plan to address the issues raised. Kind... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Despite its scenic siting, our stay turned out to be a little disappointing. Yes, the rooms were lovely but: *Pillows were not up to the standard of top establishments. *The fire place was left to the guest to not only light, but also lay. *Hot water bottles were left to the guest to fill. *Astonishingly, the previous evenings hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

To Terry Thank you very much for your review and comments. We apologize for any inconvenience and we appreciate your comments and have addressed them with the relevant staff and management. This is the only way that we will be able to improve ourselves. We do not always do sausages ever day with breakfast and change the options on a... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Booked in for a special night away - was an amazing break. The lodge overlooks the Sabie River and provides the excellent backdrop. We were in Chalet 2 - close enough to the dining room, but far enough for total privacy. Each room had a deck overlooking the valley and a plunge pool. However, it was too old to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jeets2804 Thank you very much for your great review. It is really great to see that we are on the right track with regards to guest expectations and experience. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Ian and Michelle Tanamera Lodge More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Our second visit to this beautiful lodge, with its wonderful rooms overlooking a waterfall. Well run by husband and wife Ian and Michelle - Ian's food is worth the trip alone... Great position as you are within a short drive of so many scenic and historic sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marion and Ian Thank you very much for the great review and fabulous comments. We hope your furry children were happy to see you despite them being spoilt while you were away. Hope to see you again soon for your third visit. Kind regards, Ian and Michelle More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

After an easy off road drive (in our car) down a red earth track we arrived at Tanamera. This is an unusual but outstanding location, at least for non South Africans. Our stand alone and very self contained room had a veranda that looked out over the White River. The room decor was all wood, stone, and white with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanamera L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JJN29 Thank you very much for your good review. We are really happy that you like our lodge and we hope to see you again. Kind regards Ian and Michelle More 

Canton of Schwyz, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Thanks for everything to Michelle and Ian. We had a great stay in the Tanamera Lodge. All was perfect, the hosts were very friendly and helpful, the food was great, nice and romantic rooms - just excellent! We definitely come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanamera L L, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Swiss909 Thank you very much for a great review. We definitely hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Ian and Michelle More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
10.4 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
12.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.6 mi away
Highgrove House
Highgrove House
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel Hazyview
#10 of 12 in Hazyview
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
11.4 mi away
Abangane Guest Lodge
Abangane Guest Lodge
#3 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
25.8 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#9 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay